We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable Beds”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night on 9/19/13 and then again on 9/21/13. Both times we were on the first floor and with a two queen beds/non-smoking/no pets room. The rooms had updated linens on the beds, and the beds were quite comfortable. They each had a large flat screen television, which was surprising for us. Our room the first night had a safe in it, which the other room did not. The first room had a power strip outlet next to the nightstand, which made it convenient to plug in cell phone charger. The second room did not have that. Both rooms were clean, except the second stay room which had hair behind the bathroom door.

The lobby decor was charming. Had partial tin ceiling and the expected old west style decorations. Check-in was easy and the staff members were friendly. On our second check-in though, we were asked for our "VIP Room Club" card. We did not have one, nor know what they were talking about. She got one out and stamped it for our visit that night and explained that over so many separate visits, you'd receive a free night. When I asked about stamping it for our first night stayed two days earlier she replied that they couldn't do that. Well, if we hadn't been told about it the first night, shouldn't they take care of that just for good customer service, and righting what the first employee didn't do?

Had breakfast one morning in their cafe. My husband had an omelet and I a waffle; nothing great. Average.

Overall, a good hotel and we will stay again next time we're in Ely.

Room Tip: If you aren't traveling with pets, ask for a non-pet room. Also, they do not have an elevator, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourspiritwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    143
    30
    6
    7
See reviews for
97
193
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

THE hotel was clean but needs updating. On arriving we were given a drink voucher and $3 slip play in their casino. The casino was nice until the smokers set in. *gag* they can complimentary bottle water in the room which was a nice touch. The restaurant need updating bad, the food was average

Room Tip: if your a non smoker ask for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habibisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. Unfortunately I waited too long to write a review and some of the details are fuzzy. Long trip! I booked online and was surprised when I checked in to receive a coupon for two free Margaritas! Also a $3.00 gambling coupon. The room had little touches that I appreciated such as quality products from Tommy Bahama. Nice soap. Bed was very cozy, and the bathroom even included a expanding mirror for close ups or behind your head views. I ordered a omelet for dinner that was fantastic. I appreciated that they have breakfast options in the evening. I ate in the bar so I could order my free drinks. It was done in red lights. Odd. The waitress bar tender was incredibly slow which was surprising as I was the only customer.

There was a small casino. I stayed here as they would allow me to bring my cat. I will stay here every time i pass through Ely.

The town was on my way from Las Vegas to Boise and was the only town on that trip that was interesting. High in the mountains with an old gold town feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IzzyRocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We were on our way home from Vegas and stayed one night. The front desk staff were great. The bed was very comfortable, not too soft. The restaurant on site was Very good also. The price was right also.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAS VEGAS
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel was warm, friendly, convenient and clean. We enjoyed all the surrounding area activities of which there were many. Close to Great Basin National Park and Lehman Caves. Also the Historical Railway.

Room Tip: We chose a room close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sealou711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingtyon Beach, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely hotel - large and comfortable rooms - beds were wonderful. Restaurant service was a little slow but food was good. Indoor pool was nice. There was plenty of parking available and the only down side was that you were allowed to smoke in the bar and casino, so we did not go into either. Staff was friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epmmrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were in Ely for the White Pine County Fair horse races and stayed here 3 days. Very friendly and helpful staff. CLEAN!! Large rooms, pet friendly, wish we would have brought our dogs! Good food in the restaurant and drinks in the lounge. Would absolutly stay here again!

Room Tip: If you don't have pets with you ask for a room that's not in the pet wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesDurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#4 of 15 in Ely
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#5 of 15 in Ely
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.9 mi away
Bristlecone Motel
Bristlecone Motel
#3 of 15 in Ely
276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#6 of 15 in Ely
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall

Property: Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Address: 1501 E Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prospector Hotel & Gambling Hall is a beautifully appointed Hotel and Casino including an onsite Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge. The property is newly remolded with 5 Star Amenities throughout, therefore, we are positive you will enjoy your stay with us. The Hotel is Pet Friendly so we love all pets and YES, we Love You too! In addition, being less than a mile away, we are the closest Hotel to the famous Train Station, Airport & Hospital. Safe Travels and See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Ely
Prospector Hotel And Gambling Hall Ely, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing