We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel We Have Ever Stayed At!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were extremely impressed with this hotel and casino!!! The food was amazing, bar immaculate, rooms clean, staff very professional and we even WON in the casino!!! If you are looking for a one stop shop in Ely, NV, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our second time staying here and it was even better than the first. We were on the top floor as requested. Very nice and clean and good beds and it seemed the rooms had been recently updated and were like new. Great air conditioner. Only minor issue was that the door does not go down to the floor and there is a rather large gap there for noise to come in. We stuffed the extra pillow there and thus no noise in the halls. Pool was great and the price is a real bargain for this quality of a Hotel

Room Tip: Request the second floor as on our first visit they put us on first floor and it was noisy overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jephm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was looking for a good place to stay in Ely for a night, not a "chain," and had my Daughter, Wife and Dog with me. The Prospector seemed to fit the bill.

Since one of the things I came to Ely for was the Train Museum, I was happy to see that the Prospector Hotel also was a long walk from there too.

When We arrived, the first nice touch was a nice gift bag for the dog. The next fun feature was a hallway totally devoted to pets. Pet pictures on the walls, a pet mural, and "man's best friend" posters on every door. When we got to the room, the flooring was dog friendly too with mostly easy to clean tile everywhere. Not warm maybe, but great for pets.

The rest of the hotel was fine, the staff was friendly, the food in the on site cafe was about what you would expect. Not great but hit the spot. I did enjoy a free margarita so maybe that impacted my view of the food.

If you have a pet, stay here!

Room Tip: Very pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripplej93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very unique in the way it was decorated, the rooms were cute. The service was very good. The food was adequate for the price. It was the best place in town. We arrived at approximately 2:00 pm and got our rooms immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team1mpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our room was very nice, reasonably priced. The casino was clean but very strong smell of smoke. The restaurant was quaint but did not enjoy the food, but I did a review on that. We would probably stay there again. Just eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sydette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stopped in with no reservation on our way to Sturgis. 5 men that had ridden 600 miles were tired hungry looking for place to rest for the night. They were booked. We pled our case to the very nice lady at the front desk. She called the owner who is motorcycle friendly and explained our situation. All the other decent hotels in town were booked also because of 3 local events occurring at the same time. The next town was 2 hours away. Did I say we had ridden 600 miles already? They were able to come up with 2 rooms for us. When I asked where we could park our motorcycles she said right outside the main entrance. NICE. Food in the restaurant was very good. Surf and turf for $22. Special for the night. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The small casino was a fun little spot I managed to leave $400 up. Very friendly staff. If you find yourself in Ely Nevada this is the only place you should stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mds100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a group on 20 from our Corvette Club for a two night stay. All were pleased with the hotel. Clean rooms. nice toiletries, comfortable beds, plenty of electric outlets in the room for chargers and computer (free wi-fi) etc. Comfortable cocktail lounge. Front desk friendly and very helpful with info and directions. The restraunt was very effecient taking care of our large group, dinner and breakfast. All staff was great, especially Adriana that took care of our reservations.
Thanks to all....

Room Tip: First floor is good as there is no elevator to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ely
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nevada
Hotel Nevada
#5 of 15 in Ely
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Ely
Ramada Ely
#4 of 15 in Ely
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Park Vue
0.9 mi away
Bristlecone Motel
Bristlecone Motel
#3 of 15 in Ely
299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rustic Inn Motel
Rustic Inn Motel
#6 of 15 in Ely
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall

Address: 1501 E Aultman St, Ely, NV 89301-2599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: £88 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prospector Hotel & Gambling Hall is a beautifully appointed Hotel and Casino including an onsite Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge. The property is newly remolded with 5 Star Amenities throughout, therefore, we are positive you will enjoy your stay with us. The Hotel is Pet Friendly so we love all pets and YES, we Love You too! In addition, being less than a mile away, we are the closest Hotel to the famous Train Station, Airport & Hospital. Safe Travels and See You Soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Prospector Hotel and Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prospector Hotel Ely
Prospector Hotel And Gambling Hall Ely, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing