We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sloppy Joe's Diner

Sloppy Joe's Diner
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Eureka
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
290 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Eureka is a very, very small town. Not many places to eat. We pulled into town and stopped here for lunch. Not much for ambiance, but food was very good, service was good and waitress was pleasant and very nice to talk to. I had a huge, deliciously messy chilli dog with fries. My husband had a grilled chicken sandwich with fries which he also said was very good. It was cold outside, so we both had coffee. I am trying to get adjusted to drinking my coffee black and this was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our football and volleyball team played against Eureka last night. Services are limited at night in this small rural community. Although they could have declined, when called to ask if they would stay open late and serve our student athletes before putting them on the bus home, they gladly accepted. Thank you so much for staying open way past your operating hours. Kids were fed a tasty meal before the 6 hour bus ride home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Netti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hearty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stopped in for lunch while on the road. I was pleasantly surprised with my Patti melt (the onions were caramelized just right). This is a burger joint (with a take out window as well) so don't expect fine dining but it was a nice treat to find such a good deal in this small Nevada town. My daughter had chicken strips and the portions were sizeable. Another nice touch was that rather than fries you could get a side salad (fresh and not just iceberg but a real salad). They also served the dressing on the side (rather than making it a ranch dressing soup like many places :-).

Good food, good prices and nice staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stopped here for lunch during a road trip. The food was surprisingly good, portions were sizable, and service was friendly and fast. Not a fine dining experience, or anything, but for a diner, it was pleasant, and exceeded expectations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FancySloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
271 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wait until Austin or Ely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is the only place that we've tried in Eureka and it was disappointing. We usually stop at the Toiyabe Cafe in Austin (good place) but we were running late today. The gas station attendant warned us that service would not be quick. It wasn't. The small staff seemed confused about who was doing what tasks. Once our order was taken, the wait was too long. The food was pretty good, but not great. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. Prices were just a little north of reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sloppy Joe's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sloppy Joe's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing