We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent”
Review of Historian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historian Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Coloma, California
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful although a little unsure of themselves. The two ladies running the reception both said they are new to the hotel and Gardnerville. They will be alright given a little time on the job.

Room clean and nicely furnished. Stains on the nice carpeting just as you come in the room should be looked after. Bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows and nice bed linen. The complimentary bathrobes were a nice touch. The bathtowels were Hugh and looked new.

The take away breakfast has been discontinued.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoavalon, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear nsgw,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Historian Inn. As you can appreciate, it takes time to train top-notch staff, and we think we have just that! We are replacing the carpet, a few rooms at a time, and yes, there are a few stubborn spots… but you can rest assured, they are clean! And we are glad that you found the linens exceptionally nice. Please visit us again and enjoy a 5% discount for repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    4
    8
    14
See reviews for
22
32
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merishausen
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

After Hotel was closed for a longer period we exp. a hearty welcome to a clean and comfortable stay again. We would only suggest that the breakfast offer would be amended to a conservative, normal, breakfast instead fo the offered assortment of goodies in a paper-bag..to takee along. Good "addition": have dinner at the J.T.Dining Room, across the street. Wonderful place to eat "basque", However only go there when You are ready for a real meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank searingoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoavalon, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear SearingOak,

Thank you for being one of our loyal repeat guests at the Historian Inn. We appreciate your feedback on our “Grab and Go” breakfast, and will take this into account while striving to always improve. We hope when you visit again (and we hope you do) that you’ll stop by our Market Café – there are lots of great choices for any meal – from pastries to our daily specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada Hills, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This by far was the best Hotel my husband and myself have ever stayed in. It was so very clean.
A fantastic King Bed with 6 pillows not your normal 2 small ones. All the employees were very nice. Right after we left I notice I lost an earing(probably in all the pillows). And guess what? I never called them, but they called and asked if I lost an earing and that they would mail it to me.
We will appsolutely be staying there every time we go up that way. Thanks again Historian Inn for making our stay special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoavalon, Owner at Historian Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Dear Donna C,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your favorable comments. We take great pride in providing the best in cozy comfort with elegant touches for our guests. Our housekeepers always keep an eye out for personal belongings that may have been left behind. We happy to hear you got your lost earring back. We look forward to hosting you on your next getaway up the mountain. We look forward to hosting you on your next getaway up the mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We loved this place! We were worried because we've driven past it before and of course, it's old. I had knee surgery in Carson City, and we wanted to stay here because it's across the street from a great basque restuarant.

Originally we were going to take one of our dogs, so I booked a dog friendly room. They only charge $20.00 extra for the total stay! Not per day! Great price. In the room they had put a basket with extra towels and sheets to put on the bed or floor for the dog, poop bags and a ball.
We ended up not bringing the dog, but we were certainly impressed with the room, the attitude of the staff (regarding dogs) and the grass area for the dog.

The rooms have been updated and are very, very nice. Nice bathroom vanity and shower. The bedding and bed were comfortable. It seems like we had plenty of room to move around.

The staff are all very nice and helpful. They had the idea to put us on the ground floor, which I didn't think of. They also arranged to have our room cleaned early the day of surgery so that when we got back it was ready.

We would for sure go back, in fact we are looking forward to it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoavalon, Manager at Historian Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Sandee K,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Historian Inn. I was happy to hear that our staff anticipated your needs, as we like to get to know our guests as much as possible. We hope you are recovering nicely from your knee surgery. Please come back and visit us again soon -- and bring your dog this time. Don’t forget to take advantage of our 5% repeat-guest discount too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

If you are going to or through this area, this is the place to stay! We came through on the first night of a cross country road trip, and we received a warm welcome after a long day of driving through the cold. We had read it had recently been renovated; it basically feels like a brand new establishment. The rooms are huge for a standard room, beautiful furnished (no floral comforters here!), and very cozy and relaxing. It was clean and had a nice spacious bathroom area. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and the lobby is just as nice as the rooms. I hope to stay here again one day!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
infoavalon, Manager at Historian Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
We are so happy you decided to take your layover with us at The Historian Inn. Our recent renovation was meant to provide each guest with a “Perfect Stay” and we’re pleased it has done its job. We pride ourselves in being unique and not like every other hotel, thus we’ve created comfortable and warm décor in each room. Our staff is trained to provide you with everything you may need. Thank you for the lovely review and please visit us again when you’re passing through. And remember that as a repeat guest you can take advantage of our 5% discount when booking with us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, CA
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This hotel was recently renovated and was very comfortable, clean and warm. The bed and bedding were very nice and comfortable and my husband and I slept well. We had a large room in the front of the hotel on the second floor. We could hear a little bit of traffic noise but it wasn't annoying or disruptive. The staff were all very gracious and hospitable - made us feel very welcome. They offered a nice and healthy take away breakfast of yogurt, raisins, muffin, string cheese, an apple, orange juice and freshly brewed coffee. It was fine for us, we ate what we wanted and saved the rest for a mid-day snack later on. The hotel also had a lovely cafe (where you picked up your breakfast and coffee), offering wine and cheese tasting and lots of beautiful art and locally crafted pieces for sale. It was a terrific place to enjoy a glass of wine and have a nice little browse. The only negative for me was the lack of ample lighting in the room - only had the two table lamps on the nightstands. I really needed another lamp over the sofa - the room was very dim, especially with the CFL lightbulbs in the two lamps. Other than that, it was a comfortable stay and I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Historian is located right in downtown Gardnerville, on the same block as a couple of good restaurants. The price was modest, and the room was recently updated. There was a stain on the carpet which would have been easy to remove. Had that not been there, we would have given the hotel a higher mark. They gave us a nice, "sacked breakfast," made of yogurt, muffin, apple, raisins and string cheese.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardnerville
1.5 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
236 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
19.9 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
71 reviews
20.1 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
5.3 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historian Inn

Property: Historian Inn
Address: 1427 Highway 395 N, Gardnerville, NV 89410-5228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Gardnerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gardnerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historian Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated rooms and great service in the heart of the Carson Valley! Pillow top beds, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, movies on demand, complimentary wireless and pet friendly. Just steps to shopping, dining (JTs is just across the street!), world class recreation. Call for Pet Availability Corporate and group rates available, ask about packages and discounts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Historian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing