We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We just returned from a weekend at David Walley's in Genoa. I had read many of the comments and some of them weren't good at all. I will admit this did concern me but I decided to keep an open mind and hope for the best. Everything was fantastic! David Walley's is under new management and they are doing a wonderful job at getting the resort to a high class level. We were always greeted by friendly staff, our 2 bedroom/2 bath condo was so nice and really large, and even the timeshare presentation went smoothly. It wasn't a hard sale and we were done in 75 minutes which is almost a record! We went with another couple and their 5 year old son and we have a four year old son. We were very happy to see this resort really caters to families. Everybody had a wonderful time! Our room was perfect with a large kitchen, dining room, living room and both bedrooms were big with king size beds. Our kitchen didn't have granite like the model we saw with the timeshare presentation, but it was still really nice. We were on the 3rd floor and had a huge balcony with comfy chairs to enjoy the view. The decorations were beautiful and the master bathroom had a HUGE sunk-in jetted tub! The only thing that was a bummer was the beds were pretty firm. We like softer beds so it took us a while to get comfortable. I could see how a family could easily stay here for an extended weekend or a week and be completely comfortable. The nice thing about Genoa is you can stay at David Walley's and be centralized to other areas. This resort can be your jumping off point to Reno, Carson City, Lake Tahoe and even Eldorado County wineries. Genoa is such a beautiful area with lush green fields, trees, and beautiful mountains.

We ate at the on site restaurant for dinner as we had a $50 coupon for food. We did have to wait a really long time to be seated which was rough on our little ones. We made reservations for 8:30 p.m. as that was their very last reservation time slot available. When we arrived we were told it was going to be another 20 minutes but it ended up being 80 minutes before we sat down. So that put us at 9:40 p.m. before we even sat down. I guess that night all the guests were really chatty and didn't want to give up their tables. The restaurant bent over backwards for us and even comped a lot of our meal because we had to wait so long. We had a fantastic waiter who took great care of us. And of course the food was amazing! We actually had rattle snake, python and wild bore. That was quite the experience. There are high priced items on the menu but you can also get by pretty reasonably if you watch what you are ordering. All in all it was a fantastic experience even if we didn't eat until 10:30 p.m. and our kids fell asleep before their dinners arrived.

We enjoyed the hot tubs and pool. The pool was a nice 83 degrees and the mineral tubs went from 97 to 106 degrees. The mineral pool that was 97 was heavenly...We never tried the hotter tubs as they were too hot for our kids.

David Walley's is under new management and they have a great plan in place about the upgrades they will be making to the resort over the next few years. The timeshare presentation was actually quite informative and being timeshare owners already we are definitely considering purchasing into Walley's in the next few years. It's a great program with a lot of benefits.

I would highly recommend this resort to anybody!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KellensMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one week starting on Memorial Day Weekend. We traded in with a timeshare and could not have been more pleased. The grounds were clean and neat with the exception of the mineral tub area which is currently undergoing upgrading. The outside trim had been scraped ready for new paint and new tiles were being installed while we were there. Some of the planned improvements may be annoying during the summer of 2011. For example we heard they were going to put in new hot tubs which will mean jack-hammering to remove the old tubs.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that had been remodeled. The beds were very firm (almost too firm). The kitchen was small but nicely functional. It featured new granite counters. The room itself was clean with new furniture.
What truly won us over were the mineral tubs. There were about 6 tubs and one larger pool which they kept at various temperatures. We used them daily and loved the mineral water experience. The mineral tubs are included free with timeshare exchanges, but not if you rent in with any service other than directly with David Walley resort. Three were some people who were quite upset with this policy.
WIFI cost extra in the rooms but is free in the lobby. There are also 3 or 4 computers available for complimentary use.
I recommend David Walley resort if you like:
Golf, beautiful nature hikes, wonderful views, casinos, exploring little historic towns and museums, and a quiet get-away spot. Costco, Walmart, Target, restaurants, casinos, etc are about 10-15 minutes away. We did not try the restaurant at 1864 Walleys but heard it was good. Too pricey for us.

We look forward to our next trip here in a year or two.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cyndie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I don't know about the dramas involved regarding staying overnight as we came to use the pools and for us, it ticked all the boxes. The pools were clean and the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Verien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Where do I begin. I had planned what I thought would be a wonderful get away for my boyfriend and I, especially considering the price of the rooms, and was very very disappointed to say the least. Upon arrival as we step into our room it smelled like moldy pizza that had just been thrown away by housekeeping before we stepped in. Then to discover a LARGE cabinet expecting a nice flat screen t.v. we see a 1920's television set that was only shockingly not controlled by knobs, (that was the only plus to the entire room). So we figured let's take a stroll and check out these hot springs they say they have on site. Down we go and discover it is basically a public pool. Decided no thank you. Went back to the room and all night long we could hear the toilet flush by neighbors from all sides and upstairs!! I then wrote a complaint to the manager hoping to get some kind of feedback or explanation of some sort on why this place was so horrible and .......get nothing in response. Please save your time and your money!!

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
17  Thank Linda511119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I understood the place changed hands and things we're being up graded but,
I took my husband there for a relaxing Anniversary and was not impressed. at all.
Thre SPA charged us to use the hot tub's , the jet's in all but one worked, I can see having some one pay if their only there to use the spa facilities but i would expect the tubs a least to be included in the hotel stay , since that's what people stay there for in the first place. The mosquito's were not fun at all ,they seemed to like the hot tubs and what was un them,needless to say we got eaten up as well. our room was not in good shape the dust was thick and the tv remote only worked if you held it right in fron of the tv to change channel or work the sound , or be sheets had holes in them, we decided to try the sauna in the auora building but that was a no go as well ,the upper bnench was broken so we could not sit on it , the directions mounted on the wall stated to put water on the rocks to make steam every 5 min utes or so
there was no water in the sauna for this either,our room had cpoffee and no cups (i angry at this point and go top the check in dest to complain. i leave my complaint's with the security man ,being told i would get a call later ( never happened _ we had to see the night manager who told me she didn't know of any complaint note left that morning ) hmmmm) i fully intend to tell everyone i know never to stay there and certinly never to buy one of their so called time share's, ( and i certinaly didn't see anything for kids to do with their families besides a play ground,pool table . i overherd one time shre owner 's complain they didn;t have certin things in their room that should have been there to begin with, never again dh

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank cierouisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort in April 2011. He found it and I read the reviews, some good some bad. It is true that this property has recently changed hands and is currently being refurbished. A picky person would find faults and complain, however I personally found this to be a wonderful place to stay and relax. I could not find anything big enough to complain about.

This is a hot springs timeshare resort located in a quiet place just a few minutes from Genoa, NV. There are friendly people, employees, guests/owners, and locals . The hot springs are the highlight of course and are fabulous, the jets were not always working but the water was delightful and the staff checked the temperature of the tubs frequently. Water was kept between 100-105 degrees. There is a large cool pool and seven outdoor Mineral springs hot tubs. It was so relaxing and the mineral water is truly capable of curing your ails. There were times when it was cold out and we still sat in the warm waters of the spa, it even snowed a little while we sat there relaxing. The juxtaposition of relaxing in your bikini while people walk by in their ski jackets is fun and sitting in the hot tub with the snowy mountains as your view is incredible! There are men's and women's locker rooms with showers and sauna/steam rooms that are wonderful, shampoos and conditioners that are good quality, I showered almost every day there rather than in our room with my fancy hair products. There is no fee to use the hot springs, sauna, steam room, and showers if you are staying in the resort. (bring your robe though, it can be cold going to and from depending on the time of year) They also offered massage and other spa treatments.

The restaurant was fabulous. We went to happy hour and lunch and the food was wonderful. We also went to dinner one night and that too was delicious, steak cooked to perfection...no, I did not try the rattlesnake...but the bacon shrimp are a must! The wait staff and bar staff delightful, and the view from our table was beautiful and it was romantic and private. We were given many recommendations of other places to eat, only one other time did we go out and that was on the advise of a local to a basque restaurant in Minden. That was wonderful too.

We had a one bedroom condo in the Aurora building. Not remodeled, but a wonderful room never the less. Yes they are updating from the other end down with granite counters (we toured their updated model) but our room was still nicely kept, nicely decorated, no complaints. It featured tile counters, fireplace in the living room, full kitchen, soap and shampoos in the bathroom, jetted tub and shower, and a fabulous view from our private patio, TV in the living room and bedroom. Although you can ask for refills at the front desk, if you are driving in I would bring along items such as toilet paper and paper towels. Also although the rooms are supplied with the basic cooking and kitchen supplies such as plates and silverware and glasses, laundry soap and salt and pepper are must bring items, and any kitchen tool you like and use that is unique. There is a game room with table tennis, billiards, and fooze ball, and DVD'sfor rent in the front office. There are horseshoes, a kiddie play structure, weight room, and workout room with treadmills and climbers. Fresh baked cookies in the front office every day. (NO I do not work there!) They have Wifi but you have to pay for it. Maybe you could leave your computer at home,or figure out a way to get the internet through your phone.

Bottom line is that even though there are some bad reviews, this place was a wonderful place to go and relax. Be understanding that they are in the process of updating and don't nitpick and you will get what you came for in the first place...refreshed. Oh yes, and there are numerous resident geese, they honk a little and by day two you will be used to it. They will come up on your patio and eat right out of your hand. Hike down the stream a little and you will see the natural springs of hot water bubbling right out of the ground. And if you want to go off the property there is a neat old bar in Genoa, don't expect to go to the coffee shop, w e were told that he is only open when he feels like it, which wasn't any time that we were there. But maybe by the time you get there they will have the Starbucks opened on the resort site. Have a wonderful time and get refreshed at David Walley's!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jv8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I just returned from a week at the resort. It's pretty remote, restaurants and shopping are about 10 miles away, but the restaurant and bar are first rate! The food was 5 star and the service very attentive. It was a little pricey, but offering the lunch menu for dinner would have made it perfect! There are a lot of improvements in the works for the resort, which should make it a great place for a getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MommaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
4.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
250 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
81 reviews
5.9 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Region: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing