We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After reading many bad reviews of David Walley's, I was not looking forward to our upcoming stay there. However, we ended up having a great experience. We arrived on a Saturday and left on Monday (May 3-5). We were in Unit 4406 (top floor).

The customer service was fabulous. We did not run into one rude or unprofessional person during out entire stay. We received two nights basically free if we attended the 90 minute timeshare presentation. They had a little food buffet set up (fruit, bagels, cookies, soda, etc...) and they set our kids at the table right next to us with some coloring books.

The sales person was very professional, within the first 10 minutes he determined "it probably isn't the right time in your lives for a timeshare" (dead on!), and was never, ever pushy. We found out that they do not work on commission and therefore have no desire to pressure you or be aggressive. The 90 minutes went by super fast and also included a little tour of the grounds. Easy, peazy for two free nights if you ask me!

We had a one bedroom suite. The kids slept on the fold out couch which could def. use a new mattress, but it was fine for them for a few nights. (BTW - they are in the middle of a complete renovation b/c they were bought in April by Trading Places Timeshares. Only 50 units are renovated to date, the rest are scheduled to be done in the next few months.) We had a flat screen TV with about 100 cable channels and the TV had a built in DVD player. Living room was cozy and relaxing.

We had a full kitchen and it was well stocked although it was missing a very basic necessity in our opinion - a pizza cutter! Trying to cut it with a not very sharp nice was a pain, but it worked.

Our bedroom was cozy, not huge but who cares? Had a full dresser, flat screen (same set up as living room), and a full closet. The mattress was a little uncomfortable but nothing to get upset about. It was def. not the worst we've ever slept on.

The bathroom was great. Super big - separate shower, two sinks, and a large jetted tub. Quite lovely.

The hot springs were great. There are two pools for the kids which was plenty. We spent about 2 hours there on Sunday and it was not crowded at all. Tons of space for everyone, lots of chairs available, etc...We all had a blast! Oh, and it wasn't too shabby having someone come around and see if they could get us drinks or food. Nice!

Harriets Café was very good, although a bit slow. They serve Starbucks coffee and drinks and have about the same prices. We had lunch there - 1 French dip with FF and 1 Rueben with FF. Both were delicious! All the sandwiches are about $10. We heard breakfast was good there too but we had brought our own food too so we never had breakfast.

We had a little "oops" in our otherwise great weekend, but it turned out fine. We made reservations at David Wally's Restaurant for 5:45 Sunday night (they open at 5:30). We arrived and they said that there'd be a little bit of a wait. (Um...you JUST opened). No biggy, we enjoyed drinks in the Saloon during Happy Hour (craft beer and sapphire tonic $11.50 at HH prices). At around 6pm, they sat us. There were only 4 other tables in the restaurant so I have a feeling someone did not show up for their shift or something of that nature. Our waiter actually told us he was called in on his day off.

Our waiter was nice enough, seemed a little frazzled but was super friendly. We ordered and then waited...30 minutes for ANY food to arrive. And seeing how my husband and I both ordered soup AND an appetizer (calamari)...we were kinda like..."hmmmm". Finally our calamari arrived AND our soup - at the same time. Kinda uncool to bring it all at once but again, I think it was an honest mistake and our waiter new it. The soup was amazing (Duck chowder) - I mean, seriously the best part of our meals. The calamari was good, but not anything to get all excited about.

My husband ordered the filet mignon. It was very good, however it was supposed to be charred, medium-rare and it was charred, medium-well. I wouldn't have liked it but he's not nearly as picky so he was pleased. I had the salmon with broccolini (was supposed to have bacon...no bacon :( and mashed sweet potatoes. Very good.

For dessert, I had ordered the bread pudding. However, we were brought the nightly special which was like chocolate mousse wrapped in like tortillas. It was very good and I didn't want to make a fuss, so we just ate it. The mousse was spicy. A bit odd but oddly good...

At the end of the night, our waiter gave us 15% off b/c he supposedly had a coupon left over from the night before. Not sure if that was true or he was trying to make up for a few flaws in the night, but either way - it was very nice of him. I am all about customer service and while it wasn't perfect - we all have our ups and downs. Over-all, the food was excellent and everyone was pleasant.

Check out was easy and again, very friendly. I did notice a $150 "pending fee" on our credit card when we got home, however by the next day, it was gone. Nothing was ever charged.

Over-all, we were very surprised by our stay here. I would def. give it a try - it's a beautiful location and a nice "stay-cation" for us.

Notes:

- no stairs
- noisy geese (I had read about this and brought a fan along - didn't hear a thing)
- the end units (Dillon) are quite far from the hot springs area. there is a swimming pool near but it won't be open until June.
- you do not pay $150 at check-in, its just a hold in case of damages.
- we did not use the spa accept to pass thru to the hot springs
- for those "bribed" there for a timeshare. we got our choice for $100 "cash" (technically its a check) or $125 David Wally bucks.
- downside of David Wally bucks - can't be used for taxes, tip or alcohol

Room Tip: 4406 - away from road and facing the marsh land
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jbean0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a nice hot springs resort. The rooms are comfortable with bedrooms (up to two), kitchen, living room area, balcony. It is multi-story, there is an elevator that goes to all floors. In addition, they have a nice stair area also.

There is a nice hot springs area on site; this is real hot springs and there is a warm swimming pool as well. There is a good restaurant and bar on sight. There is a barbecue area,, small spa facilities, dry sauna, and steam rooms. The spa is ok - its not luxurious but definitely relaxing and the view from the outdoor hot springs pools area is breathtaking.

Parking is on-site, close to the building you are staying in.

The staff is nice. Its within a little over half hour drive to Lake Tahoe, close to golf, and a short drive to Carson City as well as Carson Valley Inn and Casino.



=

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We came through a travel show, knowing the 90 minute torture we would endure. If your trying to sell something don't put us way out on the end away from the one thing this place has going for, mineral hot springs. If you show us one of your units for sale our room should match it, not be a low end type hotel room with the bed frame falling apart,boohoo.
They also back dated our "refund" check 30 days. And don't forget to turn in your voucher so your card won't be charged for the room. Hard sale came back at us four times, still no sale...

Time to relax and warm up are food in the microwave and hit the pool- mineral spa

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank FullspeedTrebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Not being fully aware that this was a hotel/timeshare place, it is clearly not upscale. Our units (we are here with other people and have an adjoining suite arrangement) are pretty basic. No elevators and we are in an upstairs unit. At check in we had to pay $150 deposit for damage. The desk attendants were not too professional in terms of manners or grooming. Our car is parked quite a way from our unit. We had to ask to get someone to help us bring our ice chest upstairs. I am NOT a fan of someone else's used bar of soap being the only soap in the bathroom. When you reserve here, you must pay the whole thing up front, ahead of time. Dinner prices are outrageous, thus we will not eat here. The place is just generally not that great, and to think of spending about $50 a head for dinner is out of the question. If you want to use the pools, it's an extra $30 per day, per person. To swim? Are they nuts? Apparently if you want to attend a 90 minute spiel you can avoid this charge. Kitchen is basic, but OK. For the price, it's a poor value. Won't choose this again.

Room Tip: Consider the stair situation and if you plan to use the spa or pools, consider how far you have to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent a few days here with my Family. Units were on the small side. Had to call down to ask for many items that should have been in the unit.

TV is a joke. Very small at this point in time everything should be flat screen right?

The hot springs are very crowded found out they allow day passes. Also lots of kids if your not into that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HowieEmbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Genoa, Nevada is in the middle of a renovation, as was this resort when we visited it in early 2013. The resort is within a half-hour of Lake Tahoe and even closer than that to many ski resorts. It is also within an hour of Reno and Carson City and minutes from Gardnerville and Minden. All of these locations have something to offer those that are looking to get away for a while and relax. Add in that the restaurant at this resort and the spa are immaculate and you can't go wrong visiting this place. I think that you will be pleased with the decision to visit David Walley's Hot Springs Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenWitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your post. We will forward your comments to the Resort General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Despite the history of management missteps, new leadership has improved the facility and upgraded several buildings. The restaurant has always been an excellent choice and has great ambience. We love the casual bar for a beer and a pizza. But our favorite part is soaking in the mineral waters with either the Carson Valley in the distance or the snow-capped Sierras behind us. Just a 15 minute drive over the Kingsbury Grade to Lake Tahoe. Great place to stay if you ski at Heavenly, Kirkwood, or Mt. Rose. Take a day trip to Virginia City or kick back at the nearby Genoa Bar and Saloon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReillyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerWindsResorts02, Public Relations Manager at 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for your post. We will forward your comments to the Resort General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genoa
4.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
249 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
5.4 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 2001 Foothill Rd., Genoa, NV 89411
Region: United States > Nevada > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Genoa
Price Range: £72 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the picturesque views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa is a getaway for all ages. Come experience the legacy of David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa for yourself. Since its conception, almost 150 years ago 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs and Spa has offered its patrons the ultimate in relaxation and health benefits from its mineral rich waters. Relax in one of the five on-site hot spring mineral pools, or enjoy a Swedish massage at our Day Spa. And for your dining adventure you don't have to leave, with two on-site restaurants you have a vacation at one location. 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon is not only a favorite place for food but wine as well, the restaurant hosts some of the finest winemakers from virtually every region around the world. The newly remodeled restaurant keeps this quality while entertaining your palate with a variety of wild game, seafood and Wagyu Beef. For Breakfast and Lunch go next door to the newly open Harriet's Cafe. Harriet's proudly serves Starbuck's coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1862 David Walley`s Hot Springs Hotel Genoa
David Walleys Hot Springs Hotel
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort And Spa Genoa, Nevada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing