We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Henderson
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Nice hotel but the resort obviously ran out of money in 2008 and the rest of the resort of Lake Las Vegas is only half finished. The village centre has lots of empty shops and of the 3 golf courses in the resort only 1 remains open. A good conference hotel away from the strip but if staying here you really need to hire a car. Very convenient for the Hoover Dam and the Lake Mead National Recreation Area. A good 25 minutes from the strip and a $60 cab fare!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for your review and for mentioning some of the amenities we offer at our resort. The Westin Lake Las Vegas is home to the only private Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course in Nevada. Golfers of every level of play will be challenged at our resort golf course, as well as area golf courses and clubs close by like the Tuscany Golf Course. A complimentary shuttle to Casino MonteLago and its nearby village of shops and restaurants is also available for guests who prefer a Vegas vacation away from the strip. And with local attractions you mentioned like the Hoover Dam and Lake Mead, there's something for every vacationer. We hope you'll come back for another stay with us and explore what The Other Vegas has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely lakefront resort back when it was a Loews and again just after it was rebranded a "Westin". Its now the second Westin in the greater Vegas area. This is the newest one and its located on a private lake not far from the Hoover Dam and just over the hill from Lake Mead. We stayed there the first time for a Pulte Homes real estate conference and we had a real blast and still talk about how Chef Fuji's sushi is the best we've ever had. Its a great resort for business meetings and also couples and family getaways; sans any city distractions. The second time we brought our two boys who enjoyed the beach, family pool area, cabanas, and best of all, stand up paddle boarding right out front on their lake's beautiful flat water. There is something for everyone there even a casino not far away in their quaint little village. The resort staff is pretty much the same loyal people who waited on us the first time. Now that it's a Westin, I'm sure they will get much more group and leisure business. We plan to return again and again.

Room Tip: If you like to watch the sunrise or late night moonrise, then ask for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Whether our guests are in town for business or leisure, our staff works to provide the highest-quality accommodations, amenities and on-site dining available to ensure our guests experience the best stay possible at the Westin Lake Las Vegas. We're thrilled that your meal at Marssa was so delicious that you're still talking about it! It's also great that your whole family enjoyed a relaxing time at our resort whether they were lounging by the pool or enjoying lake activities like paddle boarding or kayaking. We're thankful for both your continued loyalty to our hotel and for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back for another stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Thought the hotel needed just a little facelift however it was still a very good hotel. Clean, friendly staff, nice pool.
Our waitress at the pool was new and slow but very kind.
We were there for a wedding and the staff was great, however this may not have bothered anyone else however they allowed pedestrians to sit and hang out right around the wedding venue and roast marshmallows while we had the reception which I thought was a bit odd.
Overall great relaxing hotel. Too bad the golf course around it hasn't been kept up either but I think that is part of just the economy and recession.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlaynthestrsLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We just spent a couple of days at this beautiful resort escaping from the Northwest rain. The service was outstanding, with someone to take care of our every need with a smile. The pools are wonderful with the most comfortable lounge chairs, and separate pool for families with kids in a different location. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. We appreciated the free wi-fi, since we spent a little time working. The only downside is that there is a "village" within walking distance for shopping and restaurants, but due to the depressed economy, not much is open. We would definitely stay again though, for a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travbug98501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

We’re glad you chose to dry out at the Westin Lake Las Vegas! It is a thrill to read that you found the service our staff provided to be pleasing, your room to be comfortable and that you were able to take advantage of amenities like our pool and Wi-Fi! With so many shops, attractions and dining options to explore throughout the surrounding area, we hope you’ll come back and stay with us again during your next trip to Las Vegas! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin Lake Las Vegas. The resort is beautifully maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean. We also enjoyed some delicious and healthy foods in their restaurants, Rick's cafe, Marssa, and the pool side food/drink bar. We had prompt, friendly service at the pool, and the food was good albeit typical poolside food. We had spa appointments, and received great services. We don't understand the other negative reviews. We will definitely return to this hotel during non-Passover . . . 

We do, however, have one complaint, which is partially the responsibility of the hotel (formerly owned by Loews), and we hope that Westin remedies this for future guests. The problem was that the hotel was booked for a Passover convention. The hotel should 1. either warn other non-passover guests prior to making a reservation and discount their rate or 2. exclusively book the hotel for the Passover convention. We watched the staff get treated very poorly by the convention guests, which was unfortunate to observe while trying to have a relaxing, peaceful getaway.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank thebubbajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Your kind review of the grounds, staff, restaurants and bars at the Westin Lake Las Vegas is a joy to read! We are glad that you enjoyed your treatment at our Spa Moulay. During your next stay, might we suggest the Rosemary Mint Awakening Body Wrap, it is a favorite. We regret if your observations during your time with us caused any disruption to your relaxing time with us. We hope that the service and accommodations you received provided a peaceful getaway. Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

If you want to stay away from Vegas fever then this is the place for you. It's literally in the middle of nowhere, with not many choices around the property. So be prepared to rent a car as a taxi ride to the strip will cost you between $65-$85 incl tip (depending on time of day). The property itself is beautiful with a nice size pool and other amenities. Rooms are of decent size and clean. Free water bottles every day. Wifi is part of the daily tax rate... Gym is very small with no windows. A little disappointing considering the size of the property. If I were to go back to vegas I would rather be closer to the action.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Sailaway1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

At the Westin Lake Las Vegas we strive to provide top-notch service, amenities and accommodations for guests looking for a retreat at The Other Las Vegas, away from the Strip. Situated on beautiful Lake Las Vegas, the local area boasts shopping, events, attractions and dining that rival any vacation destination. By providing guests a complimentary shuttle to area hot spots like Casino MonteLago, we bring pieces of the Strip to our guests. We’re thrilled you enjoy the property, pool, amenities and overnight accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We were here for a conference the facilities were fantastic. We had room 8402 which was at the end of the hall. There was very little noise and we had a great view. The pools were awesome. Our room was great, the beds & pillows were very comfy, large bathroom and room. Staff wasn't great at picking up trash around the resort or in the halls but I understand they had just acquired this resort and were likely having some growing pains. Food was amazing at the conference but restraunts were very expensive. In a co-worker's room the carpet was very stained and ugly likely from pet urine as it is a pet friendly resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinLake L, General Manager at The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your kind mention of our property, pool, guest room, and your overall conference experience. While we are pet-friendly and welcome service animals to our resort, we have dedicated pet guest rooms as well as a thorough cleaning protocol in order to minimize the impact our guests’ furry friends may have. Thank you for your review. We hope you’ll come back and stay at the Westin Lake Las Vegas again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#48 of 263 in Las Vegas
18,156 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Montelago Blvd, Henderson, NV 89011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Henderson
#14 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
#16 Business Hotel in Henderson
Price Range: £96 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of the "world's best hotels" by Travel + Leisure, The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa offers visitors a 3,600 acre resort with spa, golf course, and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Lake Las Vegas Hotel Henderson
Loews Hotel Henderson
Loews Resort Henderson
Loews Henderson
Henderson Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing