We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, if you're on tight budget. It's a reflexion on the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Henderson
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, if you're on tight budget. It's a reflexion on the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

I paid 42 plus tax( trucker's discount. At first glance, room looks fine and clean. But when I pay attention to details is a different story. The bathroom is roomy, no bathtub. There is one cup coffee maker, hair dryer, iron (no ironing board), alarm clock, old RCA tv. I guess I either had noisy neighbors or the wall insulation is too thin. There was a hint of a smell that can not pin point.

On the possitive side. I paid a half decent price. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bayunco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    59
    48
    15
    28
See reviews for
43
62
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Contrary to another review, there is a whole floor of nonsmoking rooms. The rooms are clean. The casino is historic. It is the longest running casino in Nevada. There is a 35-mile bike trail right behind the casino that is off-limits to cars. Bring your bicycle. The casino is very friendly to cyclists and we appreciate it!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mikethern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This MGM Chain Hotel Is Near The Las Vegas Strip, Lake Mead,And Hoover Dam but Far Enough Relax. It Has 3 Restaurants, Free Wi-Fi, No Resort Fee's, Pet Friendly, Large Parking Lot For Trucks, Rv's, And Your Boat[Lake Mead Is Close By]. They Have Regular Rooms[Very Nice]-Mini Suites, and Luxory Suites.The Zip Line Is Close By. We Travel A Lot And The Staff Is A A+- This Historical Hotel Is The Best Affordable We Could Find In Las MGM Bought It, They Brought There Wonderful Management Team And Did Remodeling.

Room Tip: Were Else Can You Get A Hotel Room For $45 + With All There Amenites?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BANYANGUY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RailroadPass, Director of Marketing at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is nice to know that we have achieved our goals of providing clean, affordable rooms and friendly service to our guests. I will make sure to share this with our staff.

Keith McDonald
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I booked this on priceline and asked for smokefree room. When checking in (late at night after a long day of traveling) I confirmed that it was a smoke free room. She smugly looked at me and said they are ALL smoking rooms, your room should not smell but if it does, call and we will send someone up to spray something. "REALLY?" Needless to say I did not get much rest as I could not sleep it reaked so much and was wondering if I was getting bed bugs. The hair dryer did not work and when I checked out with a different gal I told her "I am not sure if you area already aware, but the hair dryer does not work!" She also smugly looked at me and said "she would make a note of it!" DO NOT STAY HERE, until you hear under new management and torn down and rebuilt because that is the ONLY thing that will save this dumpster.

Room Tip: Take the extra efferent and drive another 1/2 hour, better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Journeyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RailroadPass, Director of Marketing at Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay. We strive to make sure that our hotel rooms are clean and that everything works correctly. Although we are an older propery, there is no excuse to have received the service and responses you claim to have received. We would appreciate a phone call during which we can get more details so we can correct problems and get it right next time. Please call us at (800) 654-0877 and ask for me, Keith McDonald, or John Gronowski, our hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is as "old Vegas" as it gets. Small pool, Simple rooms, low limit games, local band at the casino bar. Very simple place with a surprisingly good resturant/coffee shop. A bit of a truckers haven with a huge parking lot. The "Pass" as it is called, is on the very edge of Boulder City, NV, the home of Hoover Dam. It is the oldest continuously operated casino in Nevada.

Stayed there in a mini-suite that was very clean and comfortable, had a small fridge and enough room without being oversized.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmtravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, nice large rooms, very good price
The main area leading to the restaurant could use a good
shampooing and some Febreze, but we weren't there for
long and had a good night's sleep, a good dinner and
breakfast - both reasonably priced, and are now ready
to go to our next destination. I always welcome free
wi-fi and free parking. There are no bellboys, but there
are the rolling clothes/luggage racks and we used one
which made it quite do-able.

Room Tip: There is no room service. Get a room on level 4 as the first two levels are for smokers. We figu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevadatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I wanted to give this place a glowing recommendation based on the fact that the staff here are so fantastic, so personal and friendly, and so down-to-earth that I wanted to make this my own personal spot to stay whenever I'm in town. Unfortunately, I can't recommend it to anyone unless they are not needing a room for the night.

The prices are great, the location is much better than the strip if you've already seen Vegas and are growing tired of the hyper-consumerism at every turn, and the food is fantastic, both from the menu and from the buffet, but let's face it... this is a very old hotel and it could use a little work.

At first glance, there was a crack in the door that allowed anyone in the hall to actually look into the room. That didn't bother me too much because I don't care all that much about privacy when I'm on a business trip, but some people might want to ask for a different room. Fortunately, the other rooms were not like that. I didn't ask for another one.

After opening the door I was disheartened by the smell. I euphemistically call this the "established" smell of older hotels and it can be expected, especially when you ask for a "smoking" room that is no doubt less pleasant to the nose than a non-smoking room, but there was also a slight scent of mold in the air that wafted through the "established" aroma and it made me take a closer look at what we were dealing with here. I'm certain that I would have steam cleaned the carpets if I were to even think about renting it out to anyone, and a little air freshener would have also been in order.

The TV cable was loose behind the TV which led to poor reception, and I was going to replace it myself but I forgot to pick one up when I was in town. Even though it was late when I called the desk, the hotel engineer was available to take care of this for me, and he put a brand new one on and the TV reception was fine after that. In the meantime I watched a show on my laptop which downloaded very quickly because the free internet connection was strong and fast. This is a big plus for me because I absolutely hate it when the big hotel chains try to charge you an arm and a leg for internet when you've already paid an arm and a leg for their rooms. Score again for the hospitality of the Railroad Pass Hotel.

But, alas, it was late and I needed to get some sleep before the convention in the morning. The room was quiet, even with the window opened all the way to let in the evening breeze. I pulled down the covers and stood there in my underwear for a long time trying to decide what to do. Both the mattress and the box spring had been encased in plastic coverings, which might be good if you happen to be hyper-allergenic or have a serious problem with bed-wetting, but I have neither of those conditions and all I wanted was some sleep. Even with a sheet over a vinyl covering, a bed can be very uncomfortable and sweaty to sleep on.

At this point I had to draw some conclusions. It seemed to me that the hotel was either trying to treat or prevent an infestation of vermin, the kind you most don't want to see in a hotel room. The kind you really don't want to sleep very close to. A friend was staying in a room several doors down and I checked to see if the other beds also had vinyl coverings on them, but when I discovered that they did not... well I drew my own conclusions and slept in the car.

I thought about walking out to the car in my underwear just to create a scene, but, as I said, I really like the people who work here and I wanted to see them prosper, at least enough to afford some new mattresses and a steam cleaner. Although this hotel is very old, it could very well be one of the best... someday...after a little more work.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room. Inspect the room and ask for another one if it is not satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#3 of 8 in Boulder City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henderson Hotel
9.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Property: Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Address: 2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002
Region: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railroad Pass boasts the longest running gaming license in Nevada – Now in our 85th year. We focus on the important stuff – providing a friendly staff and great values. You’ll find good food at great prices; newly remodeled rooms at affordable rates; and exciting gaming action. Whether you’re into the classic spinning reels or the newest movie-themed video slots, you’re sure to find a machine to your liking. Blackjack, Craps, and Roulette are all available for your enjoyment. Nestled in the hills of Henderson on the way to historic Boulder City, the Railroad Pass is just a few minutes from Hoover Dam, the Las Vegas Strip, several world-class golf courses, sky diving, zip lines, kayaking, hiking trials, and just about any adventure you can enjoy. We feature three restaurants in which to relax and enjoy a meal. Our Iron Rail Café offers American favorites 24 hours a day. The Box Car Buffet is perfect for those who have a wide range of tastes, offering over 40 freshly prepared items every day. For those with gourmet tastes, enjoy the finest steaks at our DeSimone's Steakhouse. With only 120 guest rooms, we’re tiny by Vegas standards, but are huge on value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railroad Pass Henderson
Railroad Pass Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing