We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Henderson
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Although I have passed this location on many occasions, this was my first opportunity to stop. I was very pleasantly surprised at the overall quality and atmosphere of this property. The check-in was effortless, the personnel I dealt with were very friendly, the room was clean and included everything that I would want - including FOX News on the TV. The price is right and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    59
    47
    14
    25
See reviews for
41
59
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I am a Vegas local who makes the trek clear across the Vegas Valley now and again to visit Railroad Pass Hotel and Casino at the pass that leads to Boulder City and the dam...I like to call it "Magic Mountain", but I guess I am a tad weird...We play a bit now and again and usually score enough comp points to get free grub (well we really earned it) at the casino restaurants...The Steakhouse at the Pass is their fine dining...Usually not crowded, we settle back and enjoy some good wine, an appetizer, our entrée and a yummy desert...Angie is our regular server and she is really tops for giving us superior service time and again...We always have way too much food and take a large amount home for more meals...I have had a bad steak a few times but last visit the Filet was excellent...My lady enjoyed her Surf and Turf combo...Huge baked potatoes and a large wet and dry blue cheese salad fill me up...If we were laying out cash it would be an expensive evening...As it is we just put up a 20% plus tip...The coffee shop here is super hit and miss and the buffet is really on the low brow side...But you will find some tasty tidbits now and again as you travel down the serving line...The best bet at Railroad Pass? It is the Steakhouse at the Pass...Yea, don't PASS up a good meal here...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stopped overnight here on a trip through to southern Arizona. The food and service were great, the facilities very good and the machines in the casino were in a generous mood. It wasn't a hotel, on the Vegas strip but worth the drive to the top of the hill to the south.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

I walked in not sure of getting a room and they were very accomidating, especially since it was a Saturday and they were busy, I have stayed here before and will again if I ever go thru again, just great people and service.

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel is good , the front had the better view but the rooms are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

First time I every used this hotel/casino was this past Friday, and it was for business. The hotel feels old, looks old, because it is old. If you want the modern feel and the hustle and bustle Vegas has to offer, head to the strip. You will not find it here. The rooms are dated, but comfortable and at nearly a third of what the strip will charge. The buffet rivaled many of the strip hotels, but was half the price.

One word of caution, the walls are paper thin and if we spoke Chinese we would have clearly understood the conversation next door.

The close proximity to Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam is really nice and you are but a 20 minute drive to downtown Las Vegas if you need your strip fix.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dndholland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The staff I dealt with were really nice. The room was ok, looked to have a new sink and fixture, the shower faucet was unusual, it took a minute to figure it out, but then I was very tired. The mattresses were wrapped in plastic, so the sheets kind of slid around on the bed. The mattress was nice and firm, the way I like it. Overall it was ok, I would stay there again. I do have a couple complaints, the compressor in the air conditioner was loud when it first came on. It woke me up several times. The breakfast / brunch buffet, not so great. But for $7.00 I can't complain to much, but the scrambled eggs, pass them by. They do have a cook there to make omelets and waffles, I should have tried them instead of the pre made scrambled eggs, the bacon was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polaris_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed one night here during the 4th of July Holiday period(2013). I have always wanted to visit this place because it is the longest running casino in Nevada with a rich history. The room was only $42 which is an extreme bargain during a holiday weekend. The hotel staff were fast and friendly. Check in took roughly two minutes. The room was basic but very clean. Immediately following check in, I hit the casino floor. I made a quick trip to the players club and signed up. A very nice gentleman with a long grey beard assisted me. He told me the history of the property and comped me a free future night's stay for joining the Player's Junction club which is free to join. This is the best sign up deal that I have seen in any casino. My favorite game is craps, so I immediately approached the craps table. To my surprise, the pass line minimum was only $1! Most casinos offer craps minimums between $5 and $25. I ended up playing for about 6 hours. The Craps Dealers were extremely friendly and entertaining. I had a blast. While I was playing craps, the pit boss issued me a $20 comp coupon for the hotel restaurant(Iron Rail Café). I used the comp the next morning at the café and the food was excellent(Omelette and Pancakes). The Railroad Pass is about a 20 minute drive from Las Vegas, but it is well worth it. The gaming value is phenomenal.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tobin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
6.9 mi away
Fiesta Henderson Casino Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hoover Dam Lodge
Hoover Dam Lodge
#3 of 8 in Boulder City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Las Vegas/Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Las Vegas Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Boulder City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
4.2 mi away
Boulder Dam Hotel
Boulder Dam Hotel
#1 of 8 in Boulder City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino

Property: Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino
Address: 2800 South Boulder Highway, Henderson, NV 89002
Region: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railroad Pass boasts the longest running gaming license in Nevada – Now in our 81st year. We focus on the important stuff – providing a friendly staff and great values. You’ll find good food at great prices; clean rooms at affordable rates; and exciting gaming action. Whether you’re into the classic spinning reels or the newest movie-themed video slots, you’re sure to find a machine to your liking. Blackjack, Craps, and Roulette are all available for your enjoyment. Nestled in the hills of Henderson on the way to historic Boulder City, the Railroad Pass is just a few minutes from Hoover Dam, the Las Vegas Strip, several world-class golf courses, sky diving, zip lines, kayaking, hiking trials, and just about any adventure you can enjoy. We feature three restaurants in which to relax and enjoy a meal. Our Iron Rail Café offers American favorites 24 hours a day. The Box Car Buffet is perfect for those who have a wide range of tastes, offering over 40 freshly prepared items every day. For those with gourmet tastes, enjoy the finest steaks and biggest desserts The Steak House at the Pass. With only 120 guest rooms, we’re tiny by Vegas standards, but are huge on value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Railroad Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railroad Pass Henderson
Railroad Pass Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing