We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a great weekend getaway with my wife” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Henderson
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a great weekend getaway with my wife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Great blackjack tables. Great food. Fun (but not obnoxious) nightlife. I want to live at the spa. This resort is everything that we want from Las Vegas, without the "dirty" side of the strip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasVaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    360
    180
    58
    47
See reviews for
278
263
65
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The staff was amazing! The rooms were big and very clean. Must stay!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marti1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed at the Sunset station, for only one night, having picked it because it was close to a house we were closing on the next day. We've stayed in many strip and downtown hotels, and this was as good as any of the mid to upper range hotels, for cleanliness, service, and friendliness.

Check in was a breeze, and the room was great. We won a little in the casino, and would have liked to stay longer. Now that we have a home in Henderson, if there are too many guests we will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryGToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Sunset station is an awesome hotel. We like that it is OFF the strip, as it seems "safer" for our kids. The pool is HUGE. Bowiling arena, Kids Quest, and the food court choices all make my kids VERY happy. The rooms are a decent size, with a little table, so we can take our food court back to the room after we tire out the kids. The FEAST BUFFET is wonderful here...better than many strip hotels, and the other Restaurant choices are great too! I came here once just to "have lunch", and I've liked it so much, we stay here every trip to Vegas now. The staff has always been very helpful with anything I needed, and now I have other relatives come and stay when we do, too! This hotel is only 10-15 minutes away from anything you need to see, and since there is no "strip traffic" - you can get wherever you want to quickly - so it really isn't out of the way! A GREAT Choice for families. My 7 and 11 year old LOVE It! (Plus I've won here too - I think it is a great place for winning! - another reason I keep coming back!)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevandVal_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed at the Sunset Station Hotel & Casino in Henderson, NV from Sunday, June 12 to Friday, June 17, 2011. Me, my wife and two kids (10 and 6.5 yrs) went for a summer vacation. We drove our car 7 hours to get there, and it's always great to have an automobile in Vegas! The room and casino as a whole were very clean and staff were very friendly!

Our room number (#2121) was on the 21st floor (which is the top floor of the hotel). We had a room with 2 queen beds and a valley view. The room was spacious and had a high ceiling. I have attached pictures our room with this review. In fact, the top, 21st floor has a higher ceiling than the rest of the floors. We paid in full for our room when we made the reservation, however when we checked out, we still had to pay an extra $16 per day, which is the daily resort fee. This daily resort fee was disclosed in advance, so we were expecting these charges. There's a movie theater and bowling lanes attached to the resort. The kids really enjoyed the bowling and movie theater. Kids are only $1 per bowling game before 6:00PM. Renting bowling shoes is $3.50 for each pair. If you purchase movie tickets, you get some free games of bowling. One day we rented a cabana by the pool for $40 for half day (6 hours). There are 10 cabanas to choose from and the cabanas are numbered, so if you request a cabana, it helps to know the layout of the pool and which cabana has the most shade, most sun, etc. Otherwise, you will get assigned to whichever cabana they assign you. The pool water was somewhat cold, but it didn't matter because the outside temperature was around 103 degrees each day. The hotel should provide more lawn chairs by the pool. Only the lawn chairs which come with the rented cabanas have the soft cushions. The pool's maximum depth is only 3 feet, so no major worries with the kids swimming. The Wi-Fi connection was not very good so I used my cellular carrier's signal to use our smartphones. I think the Wi-Fi is part of the resort fee, but it wasn't worth much. Make sure to apply for the "Boarding Pass Card" either online or when you get to the hotel. It's free to get the Boarding Pass Card and you will need it to get the good prices at the buffet.

Having a starbucks, movie theater, bowling alley, swimming pool, and affordable rooms really makes this a family friendly resort. We enjoyed being away from the "hussle and bussle" of the Strip which is always crowded and expensive. Overall we had a great experience here and recommend Sunset Station to any family looking for an affordable Vegas vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2thdoc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

1 of 3 station properties worth going to for a local place. Really everything just average in every way. Not great but not dissappointed either. Sunset does have a nicer decor and theme then (the other 2) GVR and RR. Location is convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gbaccarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We chose this hotel for two nights due to the value when redeeming airline points. This was our first trip to Vegas, so being off the strip was not an issue since we had a rental. The room was basic, and relatively clean. No mini fridge, coffee maker or microwave. However, there were lots of restaurants to choose from, movie theater, kids arcade, and a Starbucks on the main floor. There are a couple shopping plazas, and restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. Compared to the higher end hotels (we walked through them), Sunset's ventilation system (we are non smokers) were not as good. On the positive side, we received coupons for free drinks, and discounts for food. We went to Hooters (our daughter loves wings) for dinner. Overall, I would recommend this location if you are not into the huge crowds (there seems to be a lot of locals), and you just want the basic vegas casino scene.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gomummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Station Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Station Hotel and Casino

Property: Sunset Station Hotel and Casino
Address: 1301 W Sunset Rd, Henderson, NV 89014-6607
Region: United States > Nevada > Henderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Henderson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Henderson
#13 Romantic Hotel in Henderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Station Hotel and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 457
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on more than 98 acres and 457 rooms in the heart of Henderson, Nevada, Sunset Station Hotel and Casino is conveniently located near Lake Mead, Lake Las Vegas, Galleria Mall, Sam Boyd Stadium, golf courses, recreation areas, and other renowned restaurants and shops. We offer panoramic views of the glittering Las Vegas Valley and high desert mountains. From Sonoma Cellar, one of Las Vegas’ finest steakhouses. To Grand Cafe with gourmet tastes at café prices. To Cabo, one of the best Mexican restaurants in town. To Feast Buffet, voted Las Vegas Best Buffet numerous times by the Las Vegas Review-Journal. To a huge food court with some great options for quick eats. Nobody does dining better than Sunset Station. The Las Vegas Review Journal gave Sunset Station the nod as “Best Slots” and “Best Video Poker”. And that’s just one indication of how fabulous the Las Vegas gaming is here. We have the latest and greatest games in the Valley including thousands of Jumbo Penny and Jumbo Dollar slots, the most 100% payback video poker games, table games, bingo, keno, live poker and a thrilling race and sports book. No place offers you greater gaming value for your dollar or more chances to hit the jackpot. The nights really heat up at Sunset Station. We have some of the best live music and concerts in Las Vegas. Plus some great, intimate lounges and bars. And the most family attractions you’ll find in town. With more than 13,000 square feet of event space, Sunset Station turns any corporate meeting or event, wedding, birthday or special occasion into the most unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Station Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Station Hotel Henderson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing