We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ for Hyatt Sierra Lodge- Perfect for Families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyatt High Sierra Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Incline Village
Reviewed 11 April 2007

We, family with 3 kids (2, 5, 9) spent Easter break at the Hyatt Sierra Lodge.

Condo- A+ These are 2 bedroom (one with King bed, the other with 2 full beds), 2 bath condo units with full kitchens with granite, 2 barstools at counter area, dining area with long dining table that seats 6 and a living room area with leather sofa with pullout, 2 nice rattan chairs, a reading bench and gas fireplace. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit and plenty of storage/ closets. When my kids walked thru the door, they were "wowed! 3 T.V.'s mom, we get our own TV in our room!" We were not there to watch TV but they were happy that there were 3. It was a good thing when we got back to the condo that the kids could relax with a show and my DH could watch a baseball game. The only thing I can complain about was the king bed was too soft and was very uneven- high in the middle sloping off at the sides. The Master bath had a jacuzzi tub and the kids loved their bubble baths there! We were in building 6 on the 1st floor and outside our patio, there was a river rock bed and the kids had a great time climbing and exploring on those rocks!

Pools- A+, very child friendly. We swam every day- there is a hot tub and pool at the condo's and you're also able to use the Hyatt Regency pools next door which has 2 hot tubs (1 for adults only), one big pool with a walkout which was great for kids because it was only 4 1/2 feet deep, and a toddler pool which is 1 1/2 feet deep that was freezing cold (they were repairing it when we were there). They played music at the pool area which was nice and there were pool rings and balls that the kids could use. Next to the toddler pool was a sandbox area with small playground- my younger kids loved that area and played for an hour there. My kids enjoyed walks around the property.

Beach views- A+, Sand- C+, very rocky, pebble sand, hurts the feet after awhile. We went to the private beach in front of the Hyatt Cottages and my kids did their egg hunting there. They loved playing baseball on the beach and making sand castles. We'd only stay for an hour at most because it got pretty windy and cold. We huddled by the fire pits in front of the Lone Eagle Grill often to get warm. There are several firepits throughout the property and the ones by the beach are great as you can watch the lake. We brought stuff for smores but winded up doing them in the microwave at the condo since it was too cold outside. There's also some hammocks by the cottages and they were fun to lie on and watch the lake and snow mountain views- just gorgeous!

Dining- A+ We had pizza at MoFo's in Christmas Village- had the hawaiian pizza and it was excellent! Also had an order of fried zucchini- big spears of zucchini- the best we've had! Easter brunch at Sierra Cafe B+, the buffet was pretty good and quite reasonable. We opted for this since Lone Eagle's Easter Brunch was $70 per adult and Seirra Cafe's brunch was $20 per adult. You get the lake view with Lone Eagle but at Sierra Cafe you get a beautiful view of the mountains and pine trees. It's all beautiful and the service was great.

Service- A, everyone from the front desk, wait staff, cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Weather- B- We were soo glad it didn't rain, it was sunny in the mornings but got chilly in the afternoons. There was even some snow/ ice on the side on the hotel that my kids had fun with. It was nice to come back to the condo to turn on the fireplace at the flip of a switch to get instantly warm!

We will definitely be back in the summer when it's not as chilly and we can hang out on the beach all day long! I truly reccomend this resort for those with young children, and it really has something for everyone! Thanks Hyatt!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank huladolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2007

Our family of 5 just spent a week at this wonderful resort. It was our first trip to Lake Tahoe. There was still a bit of snow on the ground and the girls loved playing in it. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the mountains and the lake, with a small stream outside our window that we could hear trickling by all night, it was great. we kept the windows open all night to let the cool mountain air in the room. The fireplace makes some great heat! And the tvs were excellent for the kids after a hard day of skiing, they had Disney channel, Toon Disney, and Nick. I was really glad because Cartoon Network gets a little creepy for kids after dark.
The stars were amazing... very clear sky. We did have one issue with a blanket that had hair on it, but we called the front office and they sent another one right away.
There is a grocery store nearby, and Austin's restaurant across the street was really good, the Chinese Wok was also good, (but took a bit long to get our to-go order, suggest you call ahead). Also, MoFo's pizza in the Christmas Shopping Village was EXCELLENT!! The pizza with the feta cheese, calamata olives and salami is too good for words, and they have small pizzas for the kids.
You have access to a private beach right on the lake, it is also very nice, just what I've come to expect from the Hyatt name. The front desk was very halpful with finding places to eat for our family, and finding places to ski.
We learned how to ski at Mt. Rose, it's a great place, the kids program was perfect for the kids and for us too (it gave us a chance to learn with an instructor). The kids liked it so much they wanted to go back the 2nd day for more! The instructors really were great with the kids. I highly reccomend it, the staff was very friendly.
we took a drive to South Lake Tahoe, plenty of shops and casinos, there is a Hard Rock cafe there, and a gondola to to top of another mountain with an observation deck, you can see the entire Lake!! Very nice. You can make that trip in 20 minutes if you had to, but I suggest stopping at some of the rest stops to check out the lake from different locations, it is always nice to take a break and enjoy the view. We saw a coyote driving back to Incline Village, exciting... (the people behind me on the road didn't think so...)
When we return to Lake Tahoe we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cvitte71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We got lucky and were able to rent a two-bedroom condo for $199 a night. Stayed 4 nights, and were absolutely thrilled. I noticed that a regular room at the Hyatt Regency next door is $185 a night for the same time period, so we obviously got a good deal.

Anyway, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, super nice furnishings (decorated in an upscale cabin sort of motif with all the modern ammenities) and outstandingly clean. The layout is wonderful with 1/3 the space being a kitchen and living room combination with gas operated fireplace with a stone and wood mantle. 1/3 of the space is devoted to the two bedrooms -- main bedroom has a king bed and a large, jetted bathtub in the bedroom. The other bedroom has two full sized beds. The bedrooms are far apart for privacy. Each has its own bathroom and dressing area, which along with the washer-dryer and entry foyer account for the other 1/3 of the space. There is a small patio area on each ground condo and balcony on each upstairs condos.

You can walk across the parking lot to get to the Hyatt casino, restaurants, pool, and spa. You get free access to all the amenities at the Hyatt, including room service. There is a charge for high speed internet access, although dial-up access is free. I noticed many nice touches such as a stack of extra towels under the sink, coffee for the coffee maker, maid service (many condos we stay at do not have maid service). Also there is no tacked on "cleaning charge" that we've seen at many condo rentals.

Cannot say enough about how wonderful this place is. It would be great for two couples staying together or for a family. Go to the Hyatt web site and look up the pictures of the High Sierra Lodge -- they give you a small idea of how nice it is.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank solsa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2006

My family of 6 stayed in one of the 2-bedroom units over Thanksgiving vacation. The resort is comprised of 5 or 6 residential looking condo buildings next to the Hyatt Hotel. Check-in is at a motel type office. It does not reveal you are at a Hyatt. The check-in clerk was excellent and very helpful. The buildings are 3 story, and there is a convenient elevator in each. Ask for building 3 or 4 - they are closest to the pools and furthest away from the roads. The unit is comprised of a kitchen, dining room, and 2 bedrooms on either side of the living room. There were some real design flaws - I don't know who should be shot, the architect or interior decorator. The master bedroom was stuffed with a king, and there couldn't have been more than 1' to walk between the bed and the dresser. Very cramped. There was a spa bathtub in the room also. In the living room, the ceiling fan was mounted under 2 recessed lights, so when on, the room literally spun. The living room was generously sized though, and so was the balcony. The pools are great - my kids had a lot of fun. The great thing is all there is to do - from skiing at nearby Diamond Peak, to Lake Tahoe across the street, to the gorgeous casino located at the hotel. It doesn't feel like a Hyatt, but it's great to have a property like this next door to one.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ebexplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
River Edge, New Jersey
19
Reviewed 17 January 2006

This hotel is AWESOME as stated by other travelers. This is the best Hyatt I've ever stayed at. We went from January 5th to January 12th with our 3 children who are ages 17 and twins 21. The Hyatt has every amenity needed right on their property.

Check in is a breeze and the rooms are always clean and new. We were in the vacation club 2 bedrooms, 2 baths which had plenty of space for the 5 of us. The room had everything you could possible want and if it didn’t the front desk was happy to help.

The exercise room is top of the line with no fee to use. Believe it or not, the slots are pretty good here and the casino is small enough to be "comfortable." The pool is great with a swim out from inside and hot tubs (3) which could hold up to 15 people each.

The food is very good at all dining establishments. We ate at the Lone Eagle Grill which was top notch with fabulous views of the lake. The beach is very nice, but the water is very cold. The view is the best part about this hotel - it's absolutely amazing.

The snow capped mountains and beautiful waters of Lake Tahoe will be embedded in our memories forever. Incline Village will definitely be a future destination for us again but next time it will include our children. After seeing the South side of Lake Tahoe we were very happy to be at the North end where it was quite.

Loved this place,
Luann, River Edge, New Jersey

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2003

This hotel is AWESOME. This is the best Hyatt I've ever stayed at. I've stayed at this hotel twice, both times in July - August.

Check in is a breeze and the rooms are always clean. The rooms are very "rustic," yet classy looking. One concern, if you don't like the smell of cedar, don't stay here. The rooms smell like cedar, which I enjoyed, but I know some people won't.

The exercise room is top of the line, but I'm pretty sure you have to pay a fee to get in. Believe it or not, the slots are pretty good here and the casino is small enough to be "comfortable." The pool is great.
The food is very good at all dining establishments. The beach is very nice, but the water is very cold. The view is the best part about this hotel - it's absoultely amazing.

I would describe this hotel as very romantic, but can also be for someone who is outgoing and likes outdoor activities and being with nature. To me, this would be the perfect hotel to propose to someone at or a nice place to go with you buddies for a long weekend. I give this hotel an A+ and will stay here again for sure if the opportunity affords me to be able to.

  • Stayed: August 1999, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank TechWriterCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, AZ
119
Reviewed 1 December 2003

North Lake Tahoe (Incline Village) specifically and the Hyatt High Sierra Lodge were absolutely breathtaking. The snow capped mountains and beautiful waters of Lake Tahoe will be embedded in our memories forever. Incline Village will definetely be a future destination for us again but next time it will include our children. Thank you, MikeyH.

19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Incline Village
10.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
19.8 mi away
Grand Residences by Marriott, Tahoe - 1 to 3 bedrooms & Pent.
Grand Residences by Marriott, Ta...
#8 of 65 in South Lake Tahoe
904 reviews
19.5 mi away
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
Harrah's Lake Tahoe
#1 of 9 in Stateline
3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
0.3 mi away
Parkside Inn at Incline
Parkside Inn at Incline
#4 of 5 in Incline Village
138 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt High Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt High Sierra Lodge

Address: 989 Incline Way, Incline Village, NV 89451-9528
Region: United States > Nevada > Lake Tahoe (Nevada) > Incline Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Incline Village
Price Range: £259 - £688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt High Sierra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hyatt High Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt High Sierra Hotel Incline Village
Hyatt Incline Village
Incline Village Hyatt
Hyatt High Sierra Lodge Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Incline Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing