We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Summer Evening”

Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fun Summer Evening”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Plain and simply a fun evening of theater at one of the worlds most spectacular lakes. Can get a bit crowded but you cannot help but have a relaxing and fun time will being entertained. Remember to bring warm clothes for it starts out warm but a the sun goes down it can get chilly

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    17
    4
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
“beautiful venue to get a dose of understandable, approachable Shakespeare”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was fortunate enough to get to see the last performance of the 2013 season and thought it would be good to provide a practical review with some hopefully useful information for folks considering attending in 2014 or beyond.

There isn’t much sense talking too much about the actual performance of the play, since what we saw in 2013 won’t be the same in 2014, but many of the other reviewers summed up my same experience really well (really well done, top notch actors, the actual play was a little too frantic or slapstick but at the same time the troupe made the dense Shakespeare language accessible to the common 21st century audience). My English major significant other said seeing Shakespeare acted out on the stage was way different (and better) than simply reading it in a classroom or in a book.

The first thing I noticed about the location was that the state park venue is probably at least 5 miles beyond the boundary of Incline Village so if you’re coming from the California side of Lake Tahoe, don’t give up hope if all the village buildings disappear and you get back onto the curving lakeside road again.

The doors officially open at 5:30 p.m. and the actual performance starts at 7:30 p.m., giving a full two hours to enjoy dinner or a picnic before the show (and we got out of the park at around 10:30 p.m.). The menu (and prices) for the onsite catering company is posted in the “your visit” section of the website, so you can get an idea of what’s available there before you show up. There are picnic tables near the food stalls, and if you’ve paid the extra dough for the “premium” seats, you can also have drinks and food items brought out to your seat by the waiters and servers who work the front rows. Those waiters came by at least 3 or 4 times in the hour we were sitting in the premium seats before the show started. If you do plan on having dinner at the venue, try to give yourself between 30 minutes and an hour prior to the show. Any more time than that and you might need a deck of cards (like the folks in the row in front of us) or some board game to play or some fun conversation partners.

Parking in the park wasn’t a problem for me. The director came up on stage before the start of the show and implored the audience to not be rude by leaving the theater in the closing minutes of the play. It did take about 10-15 minutes to slowly file out of the lot but I was very glad to get to see the closing minutes of the play. The lake-side park’s parking lot is not lit up after dark, so it may be a smart idea to bring along a small flashlight to light your way to your car. And yes, the temperature is likely to swing pretty dramatically especially after the sun goes down, so be prepared for that.

If you found the information I provided in my review helpful, please let me know by clicking the "helpful!" link below. I love knowing my reviews can help other travelers (and theater lovers) be fully informed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beatles and Shakespeare”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was my first time to the Tahoe Shakespeare Festival and if this years production is any indication of the quality of past years I will never miss another!

The production was a delight for all the senses. From opening to ending the actors never missed a beat. Laughs abound both verbal and visual. The casts ability with physical comedy was superb.The musical score drawing heavily on the iconic Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band Beatles album as well as other classic Beatles songs drew gales of laughter. the re imagining of the play to a setting in Sixties London was inspired.

The location, set right on the lakeside beach with the mountain backdrop was breathtaking.
The volunteer staff were helpful and very friendly.

All in all a memorable evening rivaling any Broadway production I have ever seen

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaveWatcher16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a great place to see a play! Right on the Lake, beautiful! Very well done, very professional & very funny! Bring blankets :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank goskigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Bard and the Beatles!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to the Shakespeare productions at Sand Harbor for many years. I have to say, that this year's production of A Midsummer Night's Dream was delightful. The production had such a light, airy vibe that the audience was enchanted. The addition of many Beatles songs and sixties references enlivened the performance and kept even young children in the audience engrossed. Bottom and Puck were particularly wonderful. A thoroughly enjoyable evening!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Journey101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival also viewed

Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Incline Village, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 

Been to Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing