We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great easy hike!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Echo Lakes Hiking Trail

Echo Lakes Hiking Trail
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This easy to moderate hiking trail passes Lower and Upper Echo Lakes as well as many other lakes.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A great easy hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Even though it's a bit out of the way, this hike is amazing. You have a fairly flat trail, great view of the two lakes and plenty of awesome scenery. It's not too hot as you are in and out of the sun. We took about 1-1/2 hours to go one way and an hour on the way back. Many backpackers are on the Pacific Crest Trail. Next time we will allow more time to hike on to Aloha lake. BEWARE - parking is a problem, get there before 10:00 AM. Park in the lots or along the road at the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank ppmomofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

On July 4th when all the traffic is headed to Lake Tahoe, we backtracked a bit back up 50 to get to Echo Lake. The little "resort" has a store and we got a yummy turkey sandwich and fruit milkshake before the hike. Mmmmmm. It was a very warm day, but there are some shady spots on the hike which helped. The hike was pretty with near constant views of the lake and was an easy to moderate trip up to the taxi point. Once there, we saw a gaggle of Canadian geese who swam right up to us as we dipped our feet in the cool water from the dock. The reward was a fun (and cool!) boat ride back for only $12 each. Highly recommend this experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Beautiful lake and hiking trail. We stopped here on our way back to the Easy Bay. It was worth the short drive down a scary one way lane road.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraWCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Although I lived only 1 1/2 hours away from Echo, I have never been hiking up here. Wow, now I know what I've been missing!

We left Sacramento just after 9:30 am on a Saturday and with one quick bathroom stop halfway there, we arrived to almost a full parking lot. Luckily, we managed to find a good place to park and headed down to the bathroom for one last stop before hitting the trail.

What can I say about the trail except that it was Beautiful and provided picture ops at every turn. The hike itself wasn't overly strenous but I would make sure to be prepared with proper footwear and water. We hiked until we got to Tamarack Lake where aside from passing a couple of people, we felt like we were virtually the only ones there. We sat at the edge of the lake and put our feet in the water while we ate the lunch we packed. Afterwards, we hiked about halfway back to where the boat dock for the water taxi docks. I should mention that although the walk back was more on the downward side, it ended up being a little harder to manuver around some the rocks. My advice would be to just take your time and make sure you are sure footed.

When the water taxi arrived, we just hopped in and enjoyed the ride. It probably only took another 10 minutes to be back at the start of the trail and that was only due to the fact that the water taxi and to slow through the small water way that links the two lakes. Once back at the main dock, we disemabarked and paid our fare of $12 each. Well worth it although I don't think the hike back would have been a big deal (we just wanted to experience the taxi).

Our reward for the hike was to treat ourselves to the ice cream sold inside the store. Not the frozen premade stuff but the kind that is scooped. There were a number of flavors but somehow we all chose the mango. It was delicious!

I will definitely be returning here again and again!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank namakaathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Spectacular lake and mountain views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Echo Lakes are easily accessed by car a short distance south of Lake Tahoe. At the lakeside resort (somewhat overstated, it's pretty basic) you can take a shuttle boat through lower and upper Echo Lakes, with pretty views, and then walk the Tahoe Rim Trail to the gorgeous Lake Aloha, about 3.5 miles one way of fairly easy hiking. Nice wildflowers in season. Check the boat schedule so you don't miss the last return trip (although it's only a 2.5 mi hike) to the resort.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank RenoBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Echo Lakes Hiking Trail also viewed

Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
Glenbrook, Lake Tahoe (Nevada)
 
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV
 

Been to Echo Lakes Hiking Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing