We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice off-the-strip option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Ranked #94 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Nice off-the-strip option”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We typically stay on the strip when visiting Vegas, but this time decided to stay in downtown, near Freemont Street. This hotel is right at the entrance to the Freemont Street Experience, so it's very convenient to food and entertainment. It's an old hotel, but is very well maintained. We stayed in a tower room and got a great mid-week rate. The room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. An attached parking garage makes it a short walk to the registration desk and elevators. Out the Freemont Street entrance and you are about a 30 second walk to Freemont Street Experience. The only thing we didn't like was the high number of homeless in the area north of the hotel, as we were driving in. There is considerable security at the hotel, including the parking lot and throughout Freemont Street Experience, so we did feel safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the review and glad that you felt safe. We hope to have you back again soon! We appreciate the business. Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    601
    286
    119
    106
See reviews for
171
515
262
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I enjoyed 5 nights in a Cabana Suite. The room was comfortable and more importantly, spotless. I dined at the Cafe Cortez several times and the food was bountiful and very reasonably priced. The Fremont Street Experience is an easy walk and I enjoyed exploring it, as well as the Neon Boneyard and the Mob Museum, which are. All within an easy walk. (The Neon Boneyard area appears a bit more sketchy and they recommend a ($5) cab ride for the evening tours). Naturally, did some gambling while in town and enjoyed not only alot of play for my dollar, but also appreciated the Casino's ongoing promotions.... I won a couple of jackets, valentine chocolates, and some added goodies.. The hotel provided a free, limited schedule, limo back to the airport. (For the ride to the hotel from the airport, there are several shuttle companies which provide inexpensive transportation to the differemt hotels). Thank you for a truly fun escape.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moteladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
That's what we love to hear, and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your great experience! We hope to have you back real soon. Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Enjoyed playing some of the newest slots in Vegas & actually WINNING !!!!!!!!!! The Cafe has excellent food & a varied menu....The New York Strip was FABULOUS & so was the Steak & Eggs Breakfast ......Got my Bugsy Siegal Silver Strike plus an extra one to boot on $10 bucks worth of play.,....WHAT LUCK !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: El Cortez SHOULD be on your list next visit !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 127albertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Very happy to know that you enjoyed the food, and your stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I was thrilled when I got to the hotel, the location is amazing the charisma of being one of the original casinos in Vegas more than met my expectations !! I really don't understand why people comment that Freemont street is so far of a walk, it was literally a bock and a half a way, and the Duece (city bus) to the strip was right there on the corner as well. We had an amazing time during our entire stay, the casino was amazing, the dealers and staff were fantastic, Kit, and BeeBee at the Roulette table were amazing and super friendly. the rooms were clean. We stayed in a pavillion room on the fifth floor, and I guess if we had one complaint it would be that in the mornings when the carts were being pulled along the cement floor outside the room in the hallway, it was extremely loud. With that being said, I would reccomend this hotel to any and everyone, especially if you are on a budget. WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE !!!

Room Tip: ask for a tower room, avoid the pavillion on the fifth floor if at all possible or you require a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We really do appreciate your kind words, and taking note of the cart issue. Hope to have you back again real soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Yes, great value, huge rooms that were very comfortable. We had 4 rooms on the 9th floor all with lovely views front and back. All quiet. The only minor drawback as far as being woken up was that the doors are difficult to close properly and people tend to slam them... at all hours. Yes, the tower rooms are a little worn, but I figure for the size and price it's a fair trade-off. Service was excellent, food at the café good and the location was perfect for us. There is a buffet and Triple George Grill around the corner and the container park was great for the kids. (The smoke in the casino was a bit overwhelming since we aren't used to smoking in public places, but we went out.)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wowthanku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We appreciate your business, and apologies for the slight noise of the doors. Thanks again for the review it's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I'm a regular and as a senior I'm value conscious. You just can't beat the El Cortez - My vintage room was right at the end of the corridor looking onto Fremont street and it was
surprisingly quiet considering all the street traffic and the Container Park across the street.
For $26 all in, it's the best value in town.
The slots are definitely loose - I played for 3 days and broke even. I enjoy $3 craps and
was able to play at the El Cortez for most of the day. In the evening, table minimums are
raised to $5.
The food at the Cafe Cortez is unbeatable - I like the fact that the daily specials seem to be
writ in stone - how comforting it is to know that I can look forward to Chicken Gumbo on a
Wednesday for instance.
The comps for being a member of Club Cortez are generous - They waive the $10 resort fee
(which is termed an Amenities Fee) as long as you are a member.
Too bad Jackie Gaughan's poker table isn't there any more - those characters added
to the atmosphere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and review, we always strive to make a great experience for our guests! Take care and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great location for the Fremont Street Experience and Container Park! However, the room was NOISY - between the noise from the Container Park and the other hotel guests, we slept very little. We didn't get the room we reserved, and now I know why: nobody who values sleep and peace and quiet should stay on the 5th floor (room 5664). The view of the surrounding area was magnificent, but that is not why we booked this hotel. The check-in/check-out process was easy. However, cocktail hostess service in the casino was terrible: it seems the servers prefer to chat with each other and their regulars/friends than serve visiting guests.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank GrannyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We do apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay. The night clubs/Container Park are allowed by the City to play music, and attract customers via other means until early morning hours. We did forward your comments to our Food/Beverage Director to alert him concerning your complaint about the cocktail waitresses. We do appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#127 of 262 in Las Vegas
310 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#134 of 262 in Las Vegas
837 reviews
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#107 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,821 reviews
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Property: El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Address: 600 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas. With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book. Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing