We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay, clean room - would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Ranked #96 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Affordable stay, clean room - would stay again”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A little late getting to this review... we stayed at the El Cortez for a week starting April 25th. First impression: hotel is dated, but that's the charm of staying downtown. The staff were friendly, the drink service at the machines and tables is prompt and the room was great. We also enjoyed Cafe Cortez for a tasty and inexpensive meal when we needed one. If you're looking for an affordable stay on Fremont, you can't go wrong with El Cortez!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, and appreciate the kind words! Hope to have you back from Canada real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    600
    286
    119
    106
See reviews for
170
515
262
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calasparra, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were a group of 7 people booked into 3 rooms for 1 night only before moving into a set of appartments on the strip the following day. Everyone was happy with the rooms even though they looked dated, they were clean and comfortable. We have been here before as it is a good stopover and is close to the action in freemont street.
We had dinner in the Garden Cafe, the service was excellent and the food good and not expensive.
The casino still has some of the old slots which take coins,and they certainly seem to pay out more than some of the more flashy ones in the new casinos further up the strip.
We all know that prices do go up on a weekend in Vegas however we seemed to get a reasonable deal.

.

Room Tip: If you need to use an elevator, ask for a tower room not the older rooms off the casino floor as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi there- thank you for your review, we appreciate you staying with us! Hope to have you back sometime soon. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

was extremely impressed with this hotel lot of it I think had to do with the fact that there is an older staff that seems more caring also I was upgraded without fee or without asking to a tower room from my vintage room which was amazing everything that I've read on here just none of it happened to me it was a great great experience the food & Cafe Cortes is awesome had an encounter with a gentleman there by the name of my Mikeb a shift manager who was just the nicest man so concern was I enjoyed myself was I having a good time how was everything just can't say enough I only have one very small complaint and that is if you're going to charge a resort fee for wifi you need to make sure that the wifi works correctly but otherwise everything was impeccable

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spider1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are taking note of your wifi complaint and we will have an update with our provider. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The overall casino was hotel rooms were dated, though, the history behind the place, it it's main selling point. It's location was nice as the older casinos were near by along with the zip line and Vegas experience, and a short shuttle ride away from the strip.

Exterior rooms, on the smaller side and dated, but once again, you get what you pay for..

Room Tip: Choose a room near the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisherman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are know for our vintage experience, and appreciate you staying with us. Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I visited Las Vegas over Memorial Day weekend. We wanted to stay at the El Cortez, but when we were making reservations we saw that they started charging a Resort Fee/Amenity Fee. This was a deal breaker for us. As much gambling as we do, we do not believe in resort fees. We go to Vegas strictly for gambling and we used to stay here and never leave. This time we stayed at the Four Queens because they do not believe in this "resort fee" garbage. We did visit the El Cortez one day for about an hour to gamble. The staff were friendly as always and the games were good. However, we did most of our playing at our own hotel because of the convenience. If the El Cortez ever stops charging resort/amanity fees, we will definitely visit again. If not, then we probably won't.

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel with no resort fees. If everyone were to boycott places with these resort fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
The Amenity Fee includes:
- Unrestricted Wifi Access (Currently Wifi costs $11.99 per day per device, over $3 higher than the Amenity Fee.)
- One bottle of wine with dinner at The Flame*
- Entry to our daily $500 slot tournament
- Fitness Center access
- Free Parking in attached garage
- Two water bottles in-room daily
- Unrestricted local calls

The fee is $8.95 per day plus tax. This is paid directly to the El Cortez, not thru any third party.

We do appreciate you stopping by to say hello, and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I booked this through AAA.

My wife and I checked in tried to check in about 2:30 PM Friday. We were denied entry. Next opportunity at 7:30 40 minute wait to check in. Room had a live Roach in condiment tray. They did upgrade us to a Cabana suite by John ??. At this writing we are still in the room and will checkout on Wednesday May 28.

Security people and staff great the management did not care, We were and still are demeaned by having to wear wrist band for four days or we could not get to our room or park our car even though we had a room key. apparently some kind of punk rock concert. I would keep every staff employee they had and fire every manager and supervisor they have.

The new room was fine. Food at the Café was quite good. Of course they closed the Flame on the only two nights we could eat there.

Would I stay again? Not unless I had no other comparable option. And I would require the Cabana Suites and would be sure to check for punk rock concerts if there was a concert I would not consider the venue. The management can not cope with the crush of people-

Ray & Emma

Room Tip: Only book in the Cabana or better. Other rooms questionable. I do have a photo but no one wants to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We are sorry to hear about your experience, but we have had our GM reach out to you via phone. Thanks again for reaching out to us with your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I loved this hotel.
I tried many hotels in Las Vegas including other casino hotels in Downtown too.
And I can tell this is the best hotel when you think of the cost performance.
Ofcourse you may find better hotels but all the others are far more expensive than El Cortez.
On weekends it is not cheap like all other casino hotels in Las Vegas but on weekdays this hotel provide you crazily nice price and the hotel's quality is nothing less than Las Vegas standard.

This hotel provides you free WIFI in the room too! ( IN Downtown it is not easy to find WIFI free rooms, they charge you seriously)= suburb hotels like Station casinos show the WIFI price but they don't charge you.

Some other hotels are even cheaper==like California, Fremont etc==but these have no free WIFI and WIFI cost 10$! == So for those who no need WIFI in your room and want cheapest, may be El Cortez is not the best. ( then again Fremont was cheaper but noisier)

(Only thing is you cannot stay in this hotel with this special weekday price longer than 7nights in one month. Well, not many people want to stay in Downtown so long, I guess... but this is a serious policy of this hotel.==they provide you extremely cheap price like a promotion or a trial price.) Honestly I would stay forever in this hotel if the price was forever I mean it..I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: There are 2 grades of rooms= old one and new one(so called tower). And I recommend newer room= it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We really appreciate the love we try our best to provide the best experience to our patrons. Thank you so much for the kind review! Hope to have you back real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#127 of 262 in Las Vegas
302 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#100 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,359 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#134 of 262 in Las Vegas
836 reviews
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#108 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Property: El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Address: 600 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas. With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book. Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing