We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful--Avoid It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Ranked #90 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Lake Tahoe (Nevada), Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dreadful--Avoid It!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked a Vintage Room for two nights. April 5-6, 2014. The room was fine. Clean and comfortable. It overlooked Fremont Street. We booked it through the hotel website. We were on our way to the TCM film festival in Hollywood and being a vintage film festival we wanted to make it vintage all the way. After having dinner in the hotel dining room, which was fine, we returned to our room to find techo-pop music blaring from one of the small nightclubs on Fremont Street that continued until welll after 3:00 a.m., when we had to ask for another room so we could get some sleep to travel on to L.A. the next morning. The hotel staff stated that they could not do anything about the loud intrusive music. We were then "upgraded' to a dingy room above the parking garage. We had to carry our own luggage to the new room at 3:00 a.m. The entire downtown experience was was seedy and creepy. The inability to get some sleep even after 3:00 a.m. was a real problem. I lived in LV as a child and Fremont Street Street has become dangerous and weird. I would avoid it and stay on the Strip next time. The El Cortez management needs to protect their investment-it is going the way of Main Street L.A. in the 1970's.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the Cabana rooms. Tjey are in the back and away from the Fremont Street riff-raff and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laura e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello,

The Fremont East Entertainment District does not have a time restriction for the night clubs to stop playing their music. I do apologize for our clerk not getting you assistance with your luggage. The Downtown area is still a fun place to party and enjoy the entertainment. You are correct, the Cabana Suites are quieter due to them being on the back side of the building, also the tower rooms facing north. We have taken note of your feedback, and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    602
    287
    119
    106
See reviews for
173
519
262
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel in the easter of 2013. It was very cheap for Vegas and the main reason for that is because it is located in the old part of Vegas, so if you're willing to be able to walk out of your room straight to the Vegas Strip, this is not a good option. For reserving online they gave me some coupons of the hotel casino.

Room Tip: Reserve your room online for special offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review, and we appreciate you staying with us; hope to have you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For a long weekend such as July 4th, many hotels were booked a higher than normal prices. El Cortez kept the prices down which became a big attraction. The hotel is located a block from Fremont St, so the location is excellent for downtown and easily accessible to the Deuce (a block as way as well) for those wanting to head south to the South Strip.

The hotel casino is actually larger than I anticipated and check in was pretty quick. Got the room only to find out they sold out of the 2 bed rooms, so instead, they upgraded us to the main hotel tower for free. My friend and I dealt with the much nicer room. Checking in there is an $80 deposit added to the room which is taken off upon check out. Which didn't bother me at all.

The Hotel is actually very clean, much cleaner than I imagined. The halls were clear of garbage and stains and the elevators had you use your key card to use which prevents anyone out of the hotel accessing the room floors.

The room was great, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but that was about it. Our only issue was the remote was missing from the room and with the World Cup about to start, that was a priority. Called the front desk and they said they would send someone up when they could, but they mentioned they were having a hard time trying to locate the maintenance or whoever it was that was going to bring us an extra remote. None the less, the housekeeping came by and had an extra one which worked so we were good.

Stayed 2 nights here and really liked the location, price and over all experience. I've stayed at many hotels in Vegas over the past 2.5 decades and this was actually a lot better than I was anticipating. If price is a big thing and you don't need to be right on Fremont or the South Strip, this is an excellent option.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We really do appreciate you leaving your review, we love to hear all of your guests experiences. Thanks again for coming to stay with us, and we hope to have you back sometime in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was good, but it smells cigaretes for any place! The people speak to loud. Bottle of water is too expensive. Buy it out! They said about free drinks in the cafe, but they lied to me. It was only a discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we would love to more about your experience. We will be having someone from the hotel be in contact with you. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A disappointing experience, even allowing for the slightly sad and seedy ambiance that tends to pervade the cheaper establishments in Vegas. The room was clean and reasonably quiet (in the "vintage" sector), but the armchair was in pieces and completely unusable.
However, it was the check-in staff that really disappointed. There had been a mess up between Booking.com and the hotel, so the hotel showed me staying for longer than I had booked. I had printed out the original booking (fortunately), so it was clearly a problem between the two companies. Nonetheless, the assistant spend an age insisting that I had to pay for the full stay on their system and them claim back the difference from Booking.com - a ridiculous position to take. In the end we had to insist on her fetching a supervisor to sort it out, who did so, but not with particularly good grace. The lasting impression was that they were only interested in relieving you of as much money as possible, as quickly as possible.
I will definitely go elsewhere next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maroc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello-
Apologies to hear about your experience, if possible we would like to be in touch with you. Please direct message us your name and email via our facebook page, and we will be in touch with you. We appreciate your feedback, and your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights in the vintage rooms. It was nice and clean. Only bad thing, there is no elevator. Kinda hard the get up there with a 17 months old, 3 heavy bags and a stroller. Other than that it was ok.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there -Our original rooms, the Vintage Rooms, do not have an elevator, they are stairway access only. The front desk clerk would have assisted with your luggage from our bellmen. We appreciate you staying with us, and we hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had no internet for five nights out of the seven nights i was booked for, bed was not comfortable
no fridge, front desk not helpful, i got physically sick from all the stress form not having internet as i use it for work the only reason i did not check out any sooner is that i could not get a flight out any sooner, every day i had to sit in my room waiting for a technician to show up to try to find out why my room was not getting wifi everyone that worked at the hotel tolled me something different other then the fact that this hotel had a wifi that can not accommodate all its guest as i talked to several of the other guest that told me they to had problems with the wifi at this hotel,this was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at would not recommend..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra E, General Manager at El Cortez Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello,
Our internet service is provided thru a reputable company, Cox Communications. Due to the various devices and restrictions set on a guest’s device the signal could be weak or even not get connected. We do apologize for the inconvenience you encountered trying to use the WiFi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Oasis at Gold Spike
#130 of 262 in Las Vegas
332 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#101 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,383 reviews
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#106 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,843 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#134 of 262 in Las Vegas
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cortez Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cortez Hotel & Casino

Property: El Cortez Hotel & Casino
Address: 600 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#46 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cortez Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1941, the El Cortez Hotel and Casino is the oldest consistently running gaming property in Las Vegas. It is located in the Fremont East Entertainment District in historic downtown Las Vegas. With 362 hotel rooms including the Cabana Suites, El Cortez features full-pay single deck 21, 10x odds on craps, state of the art roulette and over 1000 slot machines. El Cortez is proudly affiliated with Michael Gaughan's South Point Sports Book. Dining options at El Cortez include: Cafe Cortez, The Flame Steakhouse, and Subway. The property also includes a gift shop and full-service beauty and barber shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cortez Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cortez Hotel Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel And Casino
El Cortez Las Vegas
El Cortez Hotel & Casino Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing