We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel”
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #77 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stay here to say you stayed in a pyramid. It's cool for the first day then you forget all about it. It's a great hotel if you are clostriphobic as the food court level is open to the peak of the pyramid.

But it's a Vegas Strip Hotel for an average strip price. Slow, crappy internet signal for $10 day and apparantly no computers in the business center(!?). No working desk in the room. Pool open only daylight hours. They lost our reservations (Westjet package) but did a good save and got us (2 couples)adjoining rooms with a $20 pp meal voucher. S--t happens sometimes and I don't hold this against the place. But be sure to bring a paper copy of your reservation confirmation.

Housekeeping is marginal. We spotted a french fry in full view in the corner of our room on check in and it was there when we left a week later. No fridge or microwave as with so many strip hotels that don't want you too comfortable in your room but would like to see you out spending money.

There were water stains on the carpet and drapes. But it's a pyramid after all and I can forgive some engineering issues. The elevators creak and groan, there are scuff marks on the walls and perpetual fingerprints on all the brass surfaces. There is dust and trash on the roofs of the buildings within the pyramid, clearly visible from a number of floors.

In short, it's an average strip hotel that has life support somewhere in it's foreseable future.

Let's face it. These hotels are meat grinders pumping through as many people as they can. It's the other end of the boutique/B&B end of the the accommodation spectrum. I don't expect great things from these places. It's a novel place to stay once and basically forgetable afterwards.

I stayed off the strip for 1 night before checking into the Luxor and will not stay on the strip again. Check out the La Quinta Airport...new, clean, cheap, comfortable.. but you need a car. But the price difference makes up for the rental and you'll see more of Vegas.

The Luxor is tired and needs a vacation from the vacationers. Stay there once to say you did.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoqwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,341
    10,298
    6,321
    2,481
    1,585
See reviews for
5,896
11,478
1,358
2,810
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed 16-20 September '11, my third time in the Luxor. Another great Vegas experience, yes the rooms are pretty much average but you get what you pay for. If you are wanting ultimate luxury then check into the Wynn or Bellagio. Those complaining about a lack of live entertainment amaze me. Who goes to Vegas to sit in the one hotel you are staying? Explore the strip!

We ate at the Luxor breakfast buffet and also at the Pyramid Cafe during this stay - the food was great (loads of it! expect to come home a stone heavier). The staff were all great, expecially the receptionists who sorted out the mis-spelling of my name on our reservation upon check in. It was all resolved by the next morning without an issue (we didnt hear anything of it after our initial arrival, and it was our holiday booking agents at fault - nothing to do with the Luxor). We regularly started our nights out at the Aurora bar, fast service & reasonable prices, before venturing out to explore the strip.

You cannot go wrong with the Luxor for a mid-priced Vegas holiday. You will cop for the new "resort fees" charge - $17 per room per night on top of what you paid for the room - however this is not exclusive to the Luxor as all the decent hotels are at it (the only ones that dont, and scream about this on thier advertising, are the shabbier places e.g. Bally's).

Cheers Luxor, your staff and slots treat me well!! See you in a couple of years.

Room Tip: If you want a great view get a tower room. We weren't bothered and so stayed on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Room was tired and looked like we were in the cellar outside the room. Disappointing and impersonal overall.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marishes
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We found this hotel very boring. There was no live musical entertainment on in the hotel as there was in most of the other hotels. There was no place you could just go and sit and have a drink and a chat away from the casino or fast food outlets on the second floor.

Our room was clean otherthan the windows which you could hardy see through. The room was large but had no coffee making facilities and no fridge which you need in a hot city.

The pool area was ok with plenty of towels and beds. The buffet was good value for money but the pyramid restaurant needs to get staff who know how to smile.

We would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorryMarishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I just returned fromLas Vegas my first experience,and needless to say i was a bit apprehensive after readung the things on trip advisor.Personally ihave to say that i had a great time a fantastic clean,room and any needs i requested were taken care of.The VP of sales and his assistant Carrie Castro should be given kudos for making this trip a memorable one.The pool was clean and fun to be around and for a small price you could have your own cabana,the gym was well equipped and shopping and food was great,i did not go hungry.I learned a very valuable lesson from folks here on TRIP ADVISOR who comment......and that is that you cannot please everybody all the time and with hotels as large as they are you are bound to have people who are going to have a bad experience all you need to do is check any hotel in Las Vegas or the world for that matter and you will find someone with issues of some sort,If your booking to stay at a hotel and you are getting a cheap deal prepare for that,its no different when purchasing anything you get what you pay for.I have stayed at many high end hotels and budget ones some were good some ok some exceptional i personally was treated well by all staff and was pleased with all the ammenities of this fun hotel....and yes i will go back again.

Room Tip: spend a little more get a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canmorekevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the Luxor in September, 2011 and for the most part, enjoyed it very much. Our room on the 25th floor was spacious, the bed comfortable and clean . But if you looked closely you could see a little wear around the edges. The carpet was worn, the furniture dented and dinged (one drawer was missing a knob). But the bed was quite comfy and the bathroom was large with plenty of counter space to spread out your stuff. Most bathrooms in the major hotels in Vegas only have showers and ours was no different. The shower doors had a bit of grime at the bottom of the door and one door was missing the handles. Plenty of towels each day. There is no coffee maker, fridge or mini bar but there was a hair dryer. We only turned on the TV the last day we were there so can't really comment on the quality or # of channels, etc.. The room had a little round table with two chairs plus another chair. There was no desk but there was a smaller table right inside the door. One thing I found odd was there was no luggage rack, nor was there a plastic laundry bag (which I like to use for dirty clothes to take home).

The hotel structure itself is amazing, with an open atrium type layout so you could look down and see the entire lobby area which was pretty neat. Everyone we encountered that worked there was very cordial, but the people selling "vouchers" or "free rooms for your next trip" that pounce on you as you walk thru the lobby became a bit annoying after Day 3. We just ignored them.

Our room was especially quiet which surprised me because the hotel seemed very busy. We had no one on either side of us and only heard people walking around the floor above us on the last night. Other than that, our room was on the other side from the elevators so we did not have anyone walking past our room at all. I would recommend requesting a high floor, with a room away from the elevators and ice machine if you want some quiet (but who comes to Vegas to sleep?).

The Luxor is on the south end of the strip, and connects with the Excalibur to the north and Mandalay Bay to the south. We attended the Barrett Jackson auto auction at the Mandalay Bay convention center so the Luxor was a convenient place to stay. The Luxor is not especially centrally located to the strip, however. We took the monorail from the MGM Grand north to the Venetian to go to the shops at the Venetian and Caesars one day. If you do walk the Strip from the Luxor, keep in mind that due to the size of all the hotels, everything looks much closer than it really is!

I'm sure there are nicer rooms in Vegas but for the money, I would say for as little as we were in the room, it was perfectly fine. We had a great time in Las Vegas and probably will be back again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor, away from elevator bank and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dh301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Had never considered visiting, much less staying, at Luxor. But I needed to stay near Mandalay Bay next door. I got a room in the West Tower and it turned out cleaner and more comfortable than expected. My buddy was assigned a room in the Pyramid itself, which was definitely dated and cramped in terms of usable space. Did not eat there, but MB is a short walk or tram ride away. Enjoyed the Titanic exhibit with the $5 off coupon. The dealers at the craps tables were also personable. The staff I dealt with were hardworking, but seemed to be shorthanded given the number of guests. If the price is right, I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warnerbrutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#102 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,257 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#47 of 262 in Las Vegas
17,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Property: Luxor Las Vegas
Address: 3900 S Las Vegas Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing