We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino can be avoided”
Review of Luxor Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Luxor Las Vegas
Ranked #75 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Casino can be avoided”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a good stay at this hotel. Vegas has to be seen. The Luxor provided comfortable rooms, ours was on 26th floor with views up the strip. What was most pleasing you could check in, go to room, eateries, and entertainment, without having to walk through the smokey casino halls.
The Luxor is connected to the Mandalay Bay on one side and the Excalibur on the other, and then onto New York, New York.
The taxi to airport takes only about 10 minutes.
Las Vegas is nice to see - but perhaps only once - and for just a couple of days.

Room Tip: Probably the higher floor the better, and ask for the view you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Raymond L,

At Luxor, we host guests that come from unique backgrounds with unique needs, and we do our best to accommodate every preference. We are pleased to hear that you found the non-smoking accommodations at the hotel to your liking. We hope that you decide to return to Las Vegas in the future, and if so, we would love to host you yet again. Thank you for staying at Luxor and we look forward to welcoming you back at a later date!

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9,187
    10,137
    6,182
    2,449
    1,547
See reviews for
5,761
11,289
1,329
2,767
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6,485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The rooms are reasonable and inexpensive. The hotel is clean but a little threadbare in places. Staff is friendly, especially the front desk and housekeeping. We had family there so didn't partake in the casino but did try the food. Seemed a little overpriced and routine. We'd stay there again because of the room value but will keep our expectations in check.

Room Tip: The Tower rooms are a fair walk. The pyramid rooms are closer but a little older but have to experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi John N!

It was a pleasure to host you and your family on your recent trip to Las Vegas. We believe that an excellent resort experience is built upon excellent service, so we are glad to hear that you felt that our staff was friendly. We appreciate your feedback regarding your dining experience as the comments our guests share with us dictate our status as a premier resort destination. We are always looking for ways to elevate the guest experience, and our guests are critical to our improvement. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, and we look forward to getting a second opportunity to provide you with an experience that exceeds expectations.

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The staff from the time we arrived at the LUXOR, all the way to the taxi leaving were friendly and helpful.
Quick and easy check in.
Clean room, just wish they had wifi for tablets and smart phones. They do have a land line for laptops, but who really wants to haul around a 7lb computer on vacation?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Tommy505!

We want our guests to be at ease at the hotel, whether they are traveling on business or leisure, and a big part of this is providing each and every one of our guests with excellent guest service. We are pleased to know that you found our staff friendly and helpful from arrival to departure, as this the standard we aim for. With that said, we appreciate your feedback regarding Wi-Fi. While we do offer Wi-Fi in the public areas of the hotel, we currently offer wired high-speed internet in our guest rooms. We strongly consider the comments we receive from our guests as we identify areas that can be improved upon in order to elevate the guest experience at the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We look forward to giving you yet another friendly welcome on your next visit to Luxor!

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our first time in Vegas, we chose the Luxor, besides it being famous for it's unusual pyramid shape, the room rate was got was really great. We flew in at night and the Luxor really stands out on the strip, easily recognisable by its enormous black pyramid shape and beam of light shining into the night sky, and the big sphynx at the entrance. Walking into the lobby for the first time is definately a WOW moment! It's breathtaking, and the check-in lobby is enormous, it took a while to take it all in, the architecture is very impressive. We had made a reservation on line and paid in advance, but when we checked in, the hotel had not received our reservation and payment yet. Even though we showed them the receipt and reservation hotel voucher from the website we booked it on. So they checked us in and took payment for the first night again, on the basis it would be refunded when our original booking and payment was confirmed. This was clarified the next day when they confirmed receipt of our booking and we were told the amount would be refunded on check-out.

We had a fabulous room in the West Tower, 4th floor, king size bed, huge room, plenty of space, 50" flat screen tv, big marble bathroom with a shower and a tub, nice furnishings, tastefully decorated, oh so comfy bed and pillows, very quiet clean and comfortable, daily maid service. We were there for 4 nights. There is free internet in the rooms, but it's not wireless, just plug the cable provided into your laptop no problem. There is free wireless internet throughout the hotel in the public areas. The west tower lift lobby and corridors are very tastefully decorated and furnished, we were really impressed. especially for the price we paid. Would definitely recommend a room in the west tower, they are the upgraded and recently decorated rooms.

The "Flight Bar" we found very expensive for drinks. "T&T Bar" was better for food and drinks, they do an amazing nachos sharing platter. We tried the "More Buffet" for dinner one night, it was dreadful, bland dried-up, tasteless food and over priced for what it was. The Pyramid Cafe inside the casino does a great American breakfast, freshly cooked tasty food and friendly service. We had dinner one night in the "Tender" Restaurant, amazing artisan burgers, definitely worth a visit. The Luxor is so huge it has 3 Starbucks, great for early morning coffee and there was never a queue.

The casino at the Luxor was pretty much like the other hotels, huge and busy, although the waitress's do bring free drinks around, you have to be lucky to catch one's attention, they are thin on the ground and tend to hover over the big gaming tables customers rather than those playing the slots.

There is a resort fee of $20 plus taxes, per room, per day charged upon checking-out, which we knew about. When we checked-out we asked for a copy of the bill, to make sure they refunded the duplicate charge mix-up on the first night, and it appeared to have been corrected. However, the next day the hotel emailed us another bill adding it back on again without any explanation (?) but they are looking into this.

We stayed here from 21st to 25th January and would return again. The Luxor is handy for the Monorail outside and the Deuce bus stops outside, a great base for exploring the strip. During our stay we went into nearly all the major hotels on the strip, some cheezy and tacky (NYNY, Excalibur and Stratosphere), some extremely opulent and beautiful (Bellagio, The Wynn, Mandalay Bay), but that's Vegas and it's an amazing place, lots to see and do, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe king room in the west tower, quiet and relaxing, nice decor, close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LongHaulMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi LongHaulMonkey!

We pride ourselves in offering a unique resort experience to all of our guests, starting at our unique architecture and ending with excellent guest service. It is hard to miss the big black pyramid on the Las Vegas Strip, and the light at the top of the pyramid can even be seen in space. Even our hotel lobby is quite a sight to see, and we are so pleased that your first impression was very positive. Additionally, we are glad that you were able to experience a few of our dining options at the hotel. It’s great to hear that you had good experiences at TENDER Steak and Seafood, T&T (Tacos and Tequila), and Pyramid Café.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. We are always looking to identify our strengths, correct upon any service shortfalls, and elevate the guest experience at our hotel. The feedback we receive is critical to this. If you experience any difficulties regarding your folio, please feel free to contact our guest relations team. We are dedicated to the satisfaction of our guests, and are more than happy to assist you in any way we can.

Thank you for staying with us! We cannot wait to welcome you back again, and perhaps next time you can experience some of the entertainment options at the hotel as well.

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in January. I shared a queen room with a friend. The room was clean and tidy and perfect for a few nights on holiday with friends. I loved the power shower! The hotel has all the facilities you'd expect and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The gym is well equipped. There is free wifi available in the public areas, bars, casino etc however I would have preferred wifi available in the room. I was slightly concerned about the noise before arriving but this wasn't a problem in my room which was on the 8th floor overlooking the casino. All in all a very good visit and I would definitely stay again?

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hoynzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi Sean H!

A proper resort experience is all inclusive- it requires excellent guest service, dining and entertainment options for all guests, and a comfortable place to rest your head. We are pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with this experience, and that you found our staff friendly and helpful in addition to enjoying the unique amenities at the hotel. Thank you for staying at Luxor and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Room was clean, roomy, nice layout, had a coffee machine that was a plus!!! And bed was very comfortable. Bathroom/shower was very clean, only one roll of toilet paper but found cleaning crew in the morning to get more. Had a couch and 2 chairs for when friends came up to room and didn't feel to crowded.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDsoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi MrsDsoto!

Our Player Deluxe room offers an experience of subdued luxury, and the added space with the seating area and Bose surround sound certainly makes it an ideal place to host guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and that our housekeeping team was able to provide you the assistance you needed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We look forward to the chance to host you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded to the Tower room for free and were pleased. Room was a bit tired but clean. Didn't spend much time in our room but bed was very comfortable and shower hot. The "resort fee" is ridiculous! No wi-fi, no coffee maker, no newspaper,etc. The $20 food/drink credit was also a joke, we ended up not using it. I don't think we would stay here again in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGM_Resorts, Guest Relations Specialist at Luxor Las Vegas, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Heidi I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. When traveling, it’s important to have a comfortable place to rest and reset after long days of sight-seeing, so we are happy to hear that you found your bed comfortable and the bathroom accommodations to your liking. However, we are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the Resort Fee. We apologize that none of our staff explained the inclusions of the Resort Fee, the free newspaper offered on the first floor, and the public Wi-Fi available at the hotel. We truly appreciate that you shared this information with us, and have forwarded your comments on to our management team for review in order to prevent any further inconveniences for future guests. Thank you again for your review, and we hope that your experience does not discourage you from a return visit to the hotel at a future date.

Sincerely,

Lisa G.
Guest Relations Specialist
Luxor Hotel & Casino
guestrelations@luxor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 263 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#42 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxor Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxor Las Vegas

Property: Luxor Las Vegas
Address: 3900 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#63 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxor Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MGM Resorts International, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxor Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Hotel Las Vegas
Luxor Resort Las Vegas
Pyramid Las Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Resort
Las Luxor Vegas
Las Vegas Luxor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing