We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Pretentious but Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Encore At Wynn Las Vegas
Ranked #4 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Pretentious but Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We were booked into the hotel for 3 nights, there was the usual confusion at check in as they dont have a line system, you just loiter until you see an empty desk then run to it before someone else does. I asked for a strip view on a high floor and thats exactly what I got, with no $20 trick needed. The room was very nice, black and white themed with the most comfortable beds ever.

Previous reviewers have mentioned that the walls in the hotel are thin and you can hear every sound from the next room and the nightclub. I never had this problem, the room was quiet at all times aside from the air conditioning which squeaked every so often.

Yes the minibar is expensive, $4 for a coke, i just went downstairs to the shop near the lifts and bought one for $2.50 instead. No real reason to use the minibar. The hotel has either wired or wireless internet for $13 every 24 hours, I needed internet access so had to use this but didn't think it was excessive.

It is a bit far out at the end of the strip but now there are walkways to get through the hotel through the Wynn, across the walkway to the Palazzo, into the Venetian etc etc.

All the restaurants are quite expensive, I have no desire to pay $110 for a steak or $36 for a fish appetiser, but thats just me. The shops are as expensive in the esplanade, high end designer brands with hoodies starting at $1900.....yes $1900 for a hoodie!

My only issues were that due to 'cost cutting' measures as I was told by the concierge, you now don't get the free slippers, you have to request them, you don't get a turn down service unless you request it. They are even getting a bit tighter on the comps nowadays.

Overall a lovely hotel both exterior and interior, but I think the Wynn still has the edge over the Encore. Unless you get a phenomenal rate for the Encore, stay at the Wynn, better location, cheaper food, better amenities.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8,501
    1,805
    578
    301
    294
See reviews for
1,310
5,482
376
1,791
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,799)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

This hotel is very overpriced, from the hotel rooms to the restaurants to the bars. Casino itself is very boxy and maze-like. Staff uninterested and unfriendly. Rooms are slightly above standard remodeled Vegas. Would not stay there again.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Woomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We only spent an evening at the Encore, but it was so impressive, I just had to write a review. The hotel is breathtaking, and the service we received was beyond our expectations. We had 7:30 reservations for 4 at Botero. We arrived early and checked in with the hostess. We had decided to have a glass of wine in the lounge area to relax before dinner. At 7:45 my husband thought maybe they didn't realize we were ready to be seated. They were very curtious and said that hopefully a table would be ready soon. Five minutes later, 4 glasses of champaign arrived. A few minutes after that, 4 appetizers. We have waited much longer than that for resv at other restaurants and only gotten an apology, so we were impressed. At 8, we were let to our table in a beautiful dining room. Brown walls with white leather chairs and a mosaic floor. No detail was left unattended. I ordered the beet salad, gnocci, and brussel sprouts. Very strange combination, but these are all of my favortie foods. I think this was the best beet salad I had ever eaten. The gnocci was light and wonderful, but the red sauce was a little sweet. The brussels sprouts were lightly browned and just just right. The rest of our table oohed and ahhed over every bite. We were too full to order dessert, but when the ice cream lollipops arrived, complimentary for being seated late, we devoured them. They were a perfect ending to the meal.
After dinner, we sat down at a blackjack table. The dealers were friendly, and the pit boss Jason went out of his way to make us comfortable. On our next trip, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

The Encore is an exquisite hotel. My husband and I were comped 5 nights in February and had a wonderful experience. The service staff...from wait staff to housekeeping...were extremely friendly and professional. We felt our every request was met with class by each and every person. They made us feel special. The rooms were fabulous. We were on the 26th floor facing away from the strip. Having heard of noise problems on the strip side, we requested the the opposite view. (We had been to Vegas many times before, so a strip view wasn't important to us). We never heard any unwelcome noise. A very quiet location. I do have one suggestion that would make the fabulous rooms more fabulous.....put an electronic shade above the pivoting tv. If one person wants to get up early and watch tv or just read the newspaper in the livingroom, the person sleeping could have a darkened area to sleep in by lowering the shade. One more little suggestion. We ordered room service three times and all three times it came to us less than warm. Considering the priciness of room service, a more concerted effort should be made to get the food to us hot. The restaurants were quite good, but I really felt some were over-priced. Our meal at the Society Cafe was really over-priced. My husband got the lamb chops. They were not grilled as he requested, and the portion was very small. I ordered a wedge salad with bacon, tomatoes and blue cheese. It was embarassingly sparse for the price. The service staff in all the Encore restaurants was exemplary, however. A very good restaurant for good food value and price is Terrace Point in the Wynn. The Turkey Club (ask to add avocado..makes it that much better) and Hamburger is fantastic. However, the wait staff is horrible! We ate there three times this visit and never elicited a smile from anyone who waited on us. No greeting, either. Just no personality exhibited at all. The last lady who waited on us late on the night of 2/18 was borderline rude. She was very dismissive and when I asked her for a beer with my food, she replied, "well, you'll have to remind me..I'll probably forget, since I don't bring the food". Wynn needs to get these people re-trained. We come to an elegant, classy place and expect to have at least some attentive service. Other than some minor annoyances, we absolutely love the Wynn hotels. Their elegance can't be surpassed. You can relax and leave your troubles behind for a few days. I know the few days we were there renewed my spirit. (I lost my beloved little dog a month earlier and was so depressed. The stay at Encore was just what the doctor ordered).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank megmarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

My husband received an offer for three free nights at Encore with a $150 dining credit. We were thrilled to be able to stay here, but honestly enjoyed the Wynn more.

The check-in and check-out process were longer than I expected. When we checked in, there were several lines, and they were having problems with the card machine. The check-out process was slightly quicker. However, we left our bags at the bell desk because we had time to kill before our flight. We were told to give the slip to the valet. When we went to the taxi stand to leave, there was no one there from the bell desk, so they suggested we go back to the bell desk and pick up our bags. Not very customer-service oriented. When we arrived, we asked the concierge to put us on the guest list for XS, the new, gorgeous nightclub there. However, when we arrived, we were not on the guest list. The staff graciously admitted us anyway, but it was frustrating and embarrassing.

The rooms were amazing, and we had a terrific view of Wynn and the strip. The bathroom was enormous with two sinks, a comfortable bathtub, a large shower and a TV. I loved that everything was digital - the drapes, the privacy sign, the lights.

My main complaint with the room was the noise. At 8 a.m. our first morning there, the room next to us was blaring music. It was clear as day. We called the front desk to complain, and they said they would send security immediately. It was at least 20 minutes before the music stopped.

The room had a large flat-screen TV that swiveled between the bedroom and living room. However, it was a 50-50 chance as to whether the remote would work and if the TV would actually turn off when you hit the power button.

Overall, it was a beautiful hotel with many small luxuries that aimed to make your stay more pleasant. However, I would much prefer to stay at the Wynn next door.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aml519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We just returned from a four night stay at Encore (3 nights comped). Mixed reviews that we read prior to our stay, along with our first impressions of Wynn, helped lower our expectations. After spending four nights in Wynn's latest creation, we now have a new favorite resort in Vegas!

The check-in process could use some work, there are too many connecting rooms (as for a non-connecting one facing South), a casual coffee shop would be nice, and the water pressure could be a bit better; but that's where the criticism ends. The rooms were the nicest we've stayed in anywhere. From the always prompt elevators, to the wide modern hallways, to the spacious suites with views straight down the Strip; ENCORE didn't disappoint! The bed and L shaped couch were extremely comfortable; the swiveling High Def LCD tv was great; the bathroom was large with modern tiling, dual sinks, separate tub/shower/toilet, and a vanity area; and the maid service was excellent. The casino did not disappoint either. The chambered effect and natural light definitely put Encore in a class of its own. Each chambered table area feels like a private casino. The dealers and floor supervisors were all extremely friendly and helpful, and the cocktail service was excellent! We loved the bright red lights throughout the casino, floor to ceiling windows looking out on the pool/garden area, and atrium style ceiling in the entrance near Switch. Encore doesn't have a sportsbook or poker room, but the walk to Wynn through the Esplanade is not too bad. Finally, the pool area looks like it will be a huge draw once the weather warms up. We tried several restaurants and checked out XS...which I'll talk about more below.

Restaurants:

Cafe Society - Nicely decorated, but the menu is too limited and the prices are too high. Zoozacrackers and the Terrace Cafe at Wynn are better options in my opinion. When we arrived around 3PM they had a very limited menu consisting of only 4-5 choices...that may have been part of the problem.

SWITCH - We went here our first night (Valentine's Day). Had our wives not been under the weather, it may have been the best meal of the trip. As many people know by now, the look of the restaurant changes three times each hour. Aside from excellent food, I have to admit the changing "theme" of the restaurant actually works and helps set SWITCH aside from its competition at Encore. The caesar salad was excellent and the bone-in NY Strip was one of the best I've had. My friend had the lamb, which he thought was good but not great. Our wives had the Risotto...and both thought it was very good despite not feeling well.

BOTERO - We saved this place for our last night, as it was the dinner we were looking forward to the most. We had an 8:30 reservation, but were not seated until 9:15. After mentioning this to the manager on duty, he comped a bottle of champagne...which definitely took the edge off the wait. The restaurant itself is very modern and was packed! The entire floor is tiled and clearly cost quite a bit! Once the weather warms up, the outside patio overlooking the pool will definitely be a big draw. The caesar salad was excellent (one of the best I've had). Our friends raved about their meals (halibut and pepper crusted filet), my bone-in filet was very good (but not to the level of SW, Hanks, or Alize), and my wife's scallops were just ok (they come in a broth which is odd). The dessert cupcakes were also good...but who is really hungry after a salad and steak.

XS - What can I say other than wow! Victor Drai has done it again. We stopped in at about 1:30AM on Monday and there was still a wait. Once we gained entry, it's easy to see the resemblance to Tryst! A wide open club with no hidden VIP areas (at least that we could tell). The dance floor was jam packed with a very expensive rotating chandelier above it. The dance floor opens up to a patio that backs up to the pool. There are also patios on each side of the main patio. Javon Walker was hosting a full house the night we stopped by, and his booth was right on the dance floor so that everyone could see he and his friends (Shane Mosley and a few other NFL players) having a great time. Tryst has a waterfall and XS by springtime will have the full pool area with cabanas and blackjack tables. I'd have a hard time recommending one over the other...so I'd probably tell people to drop by and check out both! Drink prices for those that care were pretty high... $8-10 for beer and $12-14 for mixed drinks.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DLO1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2009

As the title summarizes, the Encore is one of the most upscale and nicest hotels I have stayed at in Vegas when in comparison to the Bellagio and the Venetian.

The rooms were elegant and very comfortable. The bed is super comfy and the decor of the room is impressive. Everything is electronic with a bedside console to control lights, curtains, etc. Very nice touch. Turndown service was fantastic as well with good chocolates!

Pool was open but since it was winter, it was not very crowded. Pool scene is definitley sleek and upscale. Not sure how much space there will be in the summer but both the Wynn and Encore pools are beautiful and probably meant for the adult crowds.

Casino was nice since there was actually natural light, very rare for a casino floor. Did not have a chance to eat at the Encore restaurants but the Wynn restaurants were fantastic and tasty.

We got a good deal through lasvegas.com but at peak seasons, everything about the Encore is pricey: rooms, snacks, food, etc.

Only one complaint: One of the days, housekeeping did not come to clean our room. However, may have been my fault as we requested them to come back later when they visited a first time. Nonetheless, they did not return.

Besides this one incident, we loved our experience at the Encore/Wynn and definitley look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stkkattds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,678 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23,423 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore At Wynn Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore At Wynn Las Vegas

Property: Encore At Wynn Las Vegas
Address: 3121 Las Vegas Blvd. South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-1967
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#9 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Encore At Wynn Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 2034
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encore, the new signature resort in the Wynn collection, is now taking reservations. Encore complements Wynn Las Vegas' repertoire of accommodations, culinary offerings and leisure activities to include eleven new retail boutiques, seven new cozy bars and lounges, five new signature restaurants, one ultra-chic nightclub and a European-inspired spa and salon facility. Indulge in Encore's casually elegant approach to ambiance. Conceived as a collection of neighborhoods, the resort is designed to fill your stay with moments of discovery and evoke your sense of wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Encore At Wynn Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore At Wynn Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Encore At Wynn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing