We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel right in the middle of The Strip!”
Review of Harrah's Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Las Vegas
Ranked #93 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We were on a bus tour and this was the hotel that we were booked at. It was clean and convenient to everything. The room was huge and was nicely appointed. Not fancy or theme related like many of the newer hotels, but you couldn't beat the location. Also, sometimes it's nice not being in a themed hotel because you don't have the tourists parading through looking for the "attraction." We've stayed at Harrah's in Atlantic City and both locations have been okay for us. We had a minor incident with our luggage and it was quickly taken care of my security and the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15,973 - 15,979 of 18,653 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great location to stay in vegas, you can walk to all the hotels from here. We stayed here in Feb 12 for the first time. The players club is not that generous but the location is fantastic.
Buffet was good value and really nice we had breakfast and lunches in there. Tried the 24 hour pass that allows you to go to 7 buffets but to be honest its not worth the money, when the deal started it was worth it just to go in and try some of the more expensive buffets but now at nearly $50 unless you can pack it away dont bother.
Would recommend the hotel for visitors to vegas who want a comfortable hotel in a good location

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jezabelchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I read many of the reviews and most of them are correct. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the dealers were also great. You cannot beat the location of this hotel and the bartenders are really fun and provide a lot of advice.
The pool is very small, provides no shade and there are a whole line of chairs and umbrellas that you can only use if you pay extra.
The air conditioners in the room where our biggest problem. They are motion activated and turn off a few minutes after you get into bed. We kept waking up and waving our arms to turn them back on. It was May and the room got extremely hot in a small amount of time.
Even though the location and the staff are great, I cannot sleep when it is that hot.
The rooms are in fairly good condtion although the walls are pretty thin.
The price was unbeatable with no resort fees, but make sure you are a registered player's extra member before booking (can sign up on line)
I will pay a little more next time for a better pool and air conditioning.

Room Tip: Madri Gras Tower has updated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ldewey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed at Harrah's due to it's convenient location in the middle of the strip and the very good room pricing as we booked six months in advance. Stayed for four nights. We didn't plan to stay in the room too much so we just wanted a clean, comfortable room. When we checked in we were asked if we wanted a suite upgrade for $50 each night. Since there were 7 us in our group (just wife and I in our room) we decided to pay for it so we could have a roomy meeting place for the entire group. I told the reservations agent I only wanted the suite if it was a remodeled room as many of the rooms at Harrah's are not yet remodeled. We were given room 2053 in the Mardi Gras tower and it was very, very nice. Two separate rooms, jacuzzi tub, huge shower, double sinks, mini bar and separate empty fridge (a huge bonus to store your water, beer, pop, food), and two flat screen tv's. Better glassware, bar sink, etc. made it well worth the extra $50 per night.

The hotel is "old" Vegas - not much room to move, older decor, gaming tables in every available inch of space and smoky compared to most other hotels. Not a place I liked to gamble but to each their own. Some of the employees were very nice but I would say the majority acted as they were just there for their job. Not the case at Caesar's or Bellagio, for example. If you like fun country, honky tonk bars with live music Toby Keith's is fantastic. Rip roaring fun late night if you are in that mood (Gilley's at TI is also great). Ate at the upscale Range steakhouse and it was also very good, but quite expensive. A beautiful dining room overlooking the strip with a really cool old-school bar and live music. Stop in there to check it out. I did exercise in the spa and it was functional with a locker room, but I received a free pass since my wife was getting a spa service, I wouldn't pay $20 per day to use the facilities. The spa desk person even gave me passes to come back each day, which was great (yes, he got a tip). Went to the pool a couple of times - it was OK but just a basic pool with chairs, music and a decent pool bar (Dave is a great bartender at the pool and Laurie a great server - more great service).

Now the Bad - We ate at the Oyster Bar a couple of times since they had a nice raw bar and good menu - they would even make cusom orders not on the menu and the service was great, especially chef Joel who was fun, knowledgeable, and a GREAT host and hotel ambassador (Harrah's, give Joel a promotion or raise!). BUT - two of us in our group got severe food poisoning from the oysters and I ended up in the hospital for a day. You spin the wheel eating raw seafood and I came up a loser, but it shouldn't have happened regardless.

All things considered - you get what you pay for. I may stay at Harrah's again but only if I can get a remodeled room in the Mardi Gras tower for a good price. I won't plan to gamble or eat at Harrah's. I'll go back to Toby Keith's for a good time. The rest? Meh. Harrah's is my definition of an average, three star hotel/casino.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room in the Mardi Gras tower, try to upgrade to a remodeled two-room suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I wrestled with staying in this particuliar Hotel after hearing several years of comments from our friends and family on the changes since 2008. However, I wanted a place that was middle of the strip and easily accessible to the metro, bus service, and possess a Hertz rental car turn-in point. Our first impression to the hotel was standing in line over 50 minutes trying to check-in after 4PM. Of the 8 terminals we saw, only 2-3 were ever manned for inprocessing at a time. Meanwhile after traveling all day, our patience and enthusiam deteriorated with every minute that we waited. We finally were assigned a deluxe king room in the Mardi Gras suite on the 5th floor. The room had a king bed, small table w/ chairs, and a large wall cabinent unit. Despite the appeal of the wall unit, you had very little closet space to hang your clothes. The bathroom was eloquent and very large. A wall safe is positioned right by the door for quick and easy access. Once you learn what sets of elevators to use to get to the buffet, casino, or parking garage... getting around isn't too bad. The Flavors Buffet offers a $49 all you can eat for 24-hrs special. Given the significant increase of meals through out the Las Vegas strip, this did not seem a bad deal. For basically a $50 one person could eat for 4 meals providing when we purchased the ticket. Most supper buffets that we discovered through the town started at $20+ and went up per person. I still believe given the difficulty of getting around on the strip, the insane traffice, and endless crowds; Harrah's was positioned in a great location. Driving access to the parking garage is precarious due to the continuous road and building construction. We accessed the garage by turning off East Flamingo Road on to Koval Lane. Stay in the right lane until you can merge left into the correct lane for Harrah's. Unfortunately, this is not as easy as it sounds. The street signs are misleading which caused us to turn around twice before we arrived at the correct parking garage.

Room Tip: Apply in advance on-line for a Total Rewards casino card before you make room reservations. This wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramrod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Staff were very helpful.
We were in the Madi gras tower on the 4th Floor overlooking the pool. There was no noise from the Carnival Court or the strip. Room was a good size. Bed was a bit soft for us, but we do like a really hard mattress. Clean and well stocked with high quality Toiletries.
Central on the strip so really convenient for everything!
Carnival Court disco and location really good with Cocktail bartenders, tossing bottles everywhere! They can even invent a cocktail to what you like to drink!
Flavours Buffet... really good and good value, we did both the breakfast and the lunch....
We would stay here again... much better than New York New York

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NZMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

While there is nothing particularly special about the hotel rooms and casino, the location is great. Almost every location on the strip is reachable by a manageable walk and ride on the trams. Check-in was not extremely welcoming, and the front-desk staff was a bit on the flat/uninterested side. I found the dealers to be average. Generally, they did not strike up a conversation but if talked to, they would respond in a personable manner. Cocktail waitresses were promptly at the table games, though it took substantially longer when sitting at machines (fairly typical at most casinos). Pit bosses were pleasant. There are also several good restaurants. The rooms were clean and tidy, but they weren't fancy. If you are looking for a hotel/casino with a good location and don't plan to spend much time in your room, Harrah's might be the place. The pool also leaves much to be desired, so don't pick this hotel if you are interested in extensive pool time. Don't expect any elaborate perks, as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brootis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#80 of 263 in Las Vegas
9,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Las Vegas

Address: 3475 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#88 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £46 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At fun, friendly and action-packed Harrah's Las Vegas, you're always comfortable and welcome! At its location in the heart of the Las Vegas strip, you'll find a host of Las Vegas entertainment that extends throughout and beyond the gaming floor. Our new modern Valley Tower rooms have just what you're looking for to stay and play at Harrah's Casino Las Vegas! Harrah's Las Vegas is home to the hit shows Menopause, Million Dollar Quartet and for a limited time, The Righteous Brothers! For those looking for a bite to eat, Harrah's Las Vegas is home to a variety of Las Vegas restaurants such as the unpretentious down-home cooking and laid back fun found at Toby Keith's I Love This Bar & Grill while Ruth Chris Steakhouse sets the scene for an elegant dinner. For seafood lovers, enjoy a meal at the Oyster Bar Las Vegas serving high-quality, fresh seafood including fresh-off-the-dock oysters. Looking for a quick bite, try the new 24 hour Fulton Street Food Hall offering a chef-driven assortment of breakfast, lunch and dinner selections including fresh baked pastries, coffee bar, "create your own" salad bar, gourmet sandwiches, fresh sushi, pan-Asian noodle bar, crepes, tacos and burritos. After (or before) dinner drinks can be had at one of several bars - the newest being Numb, a frozen cocktail bar located right on the casino floor. For those looking to have fun outdoors, Carnaval Court Outdoor Nightlife is a non-stop party just steps away from the strip. Don't miss the flair bartenders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harrah's Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Las Vegas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing