We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Harrah's Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harrah's Las Vegas
Ranked #90 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

For the price, you really can't beat Harrah's. The location is great. The rooms are clean. Nothing special, but you get what you pay for. We had a few maintenance issues, but they were taken care of right away. Every staff member we dealt with or spoke with over the phone was very friendly and helpful. Didn't win AT ALL on the casino floor, so that was a little disappointing. Here's a tip: If you are visiting in the winter, you are allowed to use the Paris pool and hot tub as a guest of Harrah's. We went over there one day, and it was wonderful!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank travelnmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,011
    5,786
    3,708
    1,449
    960
See reviews for
3,350
5,915
1,314
1,285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I arrived at Harrahs and had to wait over an hour to get my room. There were over 30 people waiting in the lobby for check on to there rooms. Harrahs is not a good hotel for business. They have Internet, but the front desk told me they do not have wireless. This excludes the use of all mobile devices, iPads, tablets, and phones. This is the only hotel I have stayed at in the last 5 years that does not have wifi, how disappointing!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckeenan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotalServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Harrah's Las Vegas, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear of your poor experience. We are constantly working to ensure each guest has a memorable experience and your feedback will help us with this process. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went to vegas for new year's eve. Harrah's is located in the heart of all the fun on the vegas strip. Unlike the larger casino/resort hotels, you can find your way out easily. There are actually 2 exits, depending on where you need to go. The monorail system is just out one of the exits, which was very convenient. The check-in & check -out process was streamlined , easy, and organized. The consierge is very helpful , but I was a little bit annoyed that there is a fee to print your airline boarding pass, but it was convenient. The entertainment located right in Harrah's was very good. I went to 2 comedy acts, the piano bar (awesome fun), & look on the second floor for the Toby Keith bar. The Toby Keith bar has video poker, one of the only places where you can play, & watch a talented musical country/ rock band, at the same time. The restaurants were all good, & reasonably priced, but nothing fancy or gourmet. I was disappointed to see that we had no coffee pot in the room, as I need coffee in the morning before I wander into the casino coffee shop, with bed hair.
The rates for the quality & service were fair, although all prices seemed raised for new year's eve. I would go to Harrah's every time, for the ease of the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great clean hotel and location cannot be beat. Have stayed here many times and love the rooms in the mardi gras tower with the tiny little balconies that offer a bit of fresh air. Staff is always super friendly. Casino isn't the best but you are within easy walking distance of mirage and Venetian and just about everything else on the strip. Great option for those going to vegas and looking to save a few bucks on the room

Room Tip: Upgrade for a small fee to mardi gras tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slchris7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Apparently an older property, but well kept. Much better than reviews have indicated. We paid extra for a "junior suite" which was really very nice. Large and well appointed, but no refrigerator which you might expect. Now a BIG however. We were given the last suite they had available. It was on the 6th floor on a corner that was right above the trash dumpsters and delivery stations. These operate ALL night and it was impossible to sleep at times with all the clanging going on outside. The widows open but too much noise. We tried to endure but we finally gave up and complained on the 5th day. The reservations Manager was very understanding and apparently knew of this problem with the location of the room. I indicated that they should not even rent this room and she said they don't except when they are full. The reservation clerk who serviced us when we checked in never mentioned the problem with the noise though it is obvious they all know about that area of the hotel. The manager gave us credit for 4 nights. Knowing what we know now, we would have gladly paid the upgrade if we could have slept properly. There is a hefty resort fee for which you get little since Wi-Fi is not provided except in the lobby.
Several restaurants. We ate at the Gourmet Burgers place twice. I has great, but huge burgers. Service was fine. We also ate at Toby Keith's. It was not so good. Service was spotty and the food was just fair. Let me say that wherever you eat, the portions are very large and the entrees are not cheap.
The casino is very large and you can get lost if you are not paying attention.
Cabs park right outside. Busses and vans are readily available to the airport at a charge. Free self-parking at an indoor garage is next to Harrah's and this makes in and out trips very convenient.
We would have given a rating of 4 if not for the room location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamielind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
493 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Harrah's was centrally located so our party of six choose to stay there for that reason. Our room was the Classic Double in the Carnival Tower and it was about what we expected, nothing exceptional, just normal. The view was of a roof top, a parking garage, and bright spot lights. I was thankful for the room darkening drapes or we would not have been able to sleep, since the lights hit our window. Off in the distance, one could hear, first and then see, the volcano from TI erupting every hour. The room was comfortable and clean, the lighting was decent and we had no trouble with setting the temperature.
Two of the other guests in our party had the same set-up in the Mardi Gras Tower. They had no complaints either. But they did leave something behind and since they left ahead of us, they asked if we would try and retrieve these items. The concierge officer was helpful in directing me to the hotel manager (after I tipped him). The manager connected me to the security officer who escorted me to the room, opened it, and waited while I collected the missing property. I mention this because this service was out of the ordinary and it was valuable to the guests who had left these items. I only tipped once, and only because the items were rather important.
The third couple who made up our party of six, had a Jacuzzi Suite on the 19th floor in the Mardi Gras Tower. We were invited up to see this room. The first thing we noticed as we stepped off the elevator onto the floor, was the dated feeling in the hallways. Everything was quite clean and in good condition, but it had the feel of a vintage visit to the late 70's and early 80's: Bright patterns and swirling designs, plastic, and velour. It harkened back to a different time. Since these suites are planned for comp. rooms, I would have expected that they would have been updated long ago and much sooner than the less expensive ones. The room itself continued the 70-80's theme; black and white designs, with mirrors; just not as elegant as they had expected. The suite itself was very roomy and provided a separate living area for the '70's go-go party', complete with a mini refrigerator, bar space, and a countertop music player. The mini bars throughput all our rooms were empty and un-stocked. Apparently the hotel has discontinued this practice. I sensed a cost cutting effort happening here.

The casino was always over-crowded and WAY too smoky. The noise level was impossible; in fact the only quiet places to even hear the cell-phones (which were how we planned to stay in contact as a group) were the elevators and the restrooms. I need to comment again on the smokiness. It caused burning eyes and coughing for several in the party. Either the air handlers were not working well or there needs to be a better way to contain the smoke away from those who don't tolerate it for health reasons.

And of course I cannot forget to mention the unpleasant surcharge tax, politely called a resort fee. Supposedly this fee of $18 per room per night, is to help cover the costs of the fitness center, the spa, and the pool, among other things. The pool is outside and unheated so it wasn't open for use at this time of year, had we wished to. It was nothing special either and the patio surrounding it was crumbling concrete. There didn't seem to be a hot tub, and those in our party who wished to use one had to travel to another casino in the reward group to do so. I asked about the fee, hoping that it would be removed for individuals who did not use those covered facilities and bothered to inquire about a refund. The manager was nice about it but very firm about not refunding the fee, stating the it was required policy for everyone to pay it. This is a nasty rip-off and I would rather see the hotel raise the general room rate $20 and do away with this unpleasant and ugly added tax. They aren't fooling anyone, and those supposed amenities were not worth the charge.

Then I also did not like the Reward Club procedure. It is quite necessary to join the rewards club of the hotel group one stays with. Food in the restaurants is very slightly discounted from its normal overly high price for members. We had breakfast every morning at the hotel's café, since the buffet was too pricy. And certain onsite offerings are slightly discounted as well. We did get a decent two-for-one pricing on the hotel's show, the Million Dollar Quartet (more on that in a minute). Doesn't seem like there are many deals in Vegas anymore and certainly not here.
Another way the rewards club policy does not work well is when one wishes to visit another property, not connected to the club at the hotel group where one is staying. Even the inter-hotel shuttle system plays by these reward club rules, making going outside of one's hotel group difficult. Speaking of which, the shuttle often runs late, so add in some extra time if you need to ride it. It's free inside the hotel group, but tips are earned when one sees the traffic the drivers maneuver through. Our particular driver earned his tip when he picked up the passengers who were left behind when the shift changed and the other driver abruptly left us all just standing there.

I had no problems with the valet parking. They took very good care of our vehicle; onsite, covered, secure parking. This service is free, and tips are appreciated. We felt it was worth the tip since we turned the vehicle over to them when we checked in and didn't take it out again until we checked out, several days later. Driving in Vegas is even more impossible then it has been on other visits.

Harrah's hosts the Million Dollar Quartet show, as I mentioned above. Four very talented impersonators do Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins and Johnny Cash. The premise is an historical and spontaneous jam session in 1958 when they all got together informally and played and sang. The actors who played Cash and Lewis were spot on and they did all the old hits, the way we remember them, bringing the packed house to it's feet. All the singing and playing is live, nothing is pre-recorded and there is no lip-syncing. The one woman who played Elvis' girlfriend of the moment, brought the house down with a very hot version of 'Fever'.
Check out the small flyer about the show in the packet when you join the resort club. This flyer must be shown at the ticket desk to get the discount. And make sure that you actually get it. The ticket agent who 'helped us' was not happy to serve us and when we had some questions, we felt that she was trying to avoid giving the preferred rate. The theater opens 30 minutes before show time and is crowded. It offers a variety of seating styles, but unless you come with a party of six, you will most likely be assigned drink table space with strangers. There is individual theater seating available on the floor and toward the front, but one looks up at the stage from those seats. We reserved our seats on next higher tier the morning we wanted to attend, and did fairly well. Drinks are available for purchase.The auditorium looks like it used to have a dinner show, but it has been remodeled to squeeze in more seating, and the meals are not offered anymore.
I heartily recommend this show. It truly was a delight, and worth the money.

Room Tip: Another guest in our party had a room in the Mardi Gras Tower on the 19th floor. There was no Wi-Fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I booked room after we had reservations to another casino and hotel. We had a great time in Harrah's wish we would of searched here first very nice comfortable beds, rooms refreshing. View from room was great I would stay there again if we ever come back to Las Vegas. Casino was nice needed more penny slots but still had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#79 of 263 in Las Vegas
7,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Mirage Hotel & Casino
#46 of 263 in Las Vegas
17,552 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Las Vegas

Property: Harrah's Las Vegas
Address: 3475 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#45 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#76 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#88 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At fun, friendly and action-packed Harrah's Las Vegas, you're always comfortable and welcome! At its location in the heart of the Las Vegas strip, you'll find a host of Las Vegas entertainment that extends throughout and beyond the gaming floor. Our new modern Valley Tower rooms have just what you're looking for to stay and play at Harrah's Casino Las Vegas! Harrah's Las Vegas is home to the hit shows Menopause, Million Dollar Quartet and for a limited time, The Righteous Brothers! For those looking for a bite to eat, Harrah's Las Vegas is home to a variety of Las Vegas restaurants such as the unpretentious down-home cooking and laid back fun found at Toby Keith's I Love This Bar & Grill while Ruth Chris Steakhouse sets the scene for an elegant dinner. For seafood lovers, enjoy a meal at the Oyster Bar Las Vegas serving high-quality, fresh seafood including fresh-off-the-dock oysters. Looking for a quick bite, try the new 24 hour Fulton Street Food Hall offering a chef-driven assortment of breakfast, lunch and dinner selections including fresh baked pastries, coffee bar, "create your own" salad bar, gourmet sandwiches, fresh sushi, pan-Asian noodle bar, crepes, tacos and burritos. After (or before) dinner drinks can be had at one of several bars - the newest being Numb, a frozen cocktail bar located right on the casino floor. For those looking to have fun outdoors, Carnaval Court Outdoor Nightlife is a non-stop party just steps away from the strip. Don't miss the flair bartenders! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Hotel Las Vegas
Harrahs Las Vegas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing