We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit below par for a Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Ranked #86 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit below par for a Westin”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed in the Westin this past weekends (Friday and Saturday night). We are starwood preferred guests and regularly stay at Westins. I'm rating it poor because it's a Westin and I have higher expectations for that upscale brand. If this were a Four Points Sheraton I would have rated it as average.

Pros:
LOCATION. Good..close enough to the strip, but away from the craziness of it. It's about 2 blocks from the strip
HAPPY HOUR. Hotel offers a complimentary happy hour with beer and wine nightly.
RECEPTION. For the most part, the staff was very friendly and service oriented. We were initially pleased at reception because we were upgraded to the 17th floor. But as you can see below, they didn't manage complaints well.

Cons:
SMELL. The hotel has a lot of really bad smells. Not sure what is going on here. The lobby/bar/casino area had an odd smell both days. It was a rotten egg / sulfur smell. It was so bad at the bar we had to move to the lobby seating area where it was slightly less offensive. The 17th floor smelled like sewage. The smell hit us anytime we walked out of our room. Our friends on the 16th floor didn't have this problem. And then our room reeked of body odor. At first we thought it was the cleaning staff who had just vacated it. But this smell lingered the entire stay. It was right out of the Seinfeld smelly car episode. We talked with a staff member on Saturday about the smell in the lobby and they denied that there was any smell. On checkout we mentioned the bad smelling room, and the desk guy was very dismissive.
FURNISHINGS. The room furnishings are good, but the lobby furniture is in pretty bad condition. We sat in the sofas with our drinks (because the bar area was too smelly) and couldn't believe how dirty and ragged the furniture was. It seriously looked like sofas that you pulled from a college frat house.

Room Tip: Great view on the north side. 17th floor is smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
While we greatly appreciate the time you have taken the time to share your thoughts with us, both the positive and otherwise, it is truly disappointing to learn that your stay fell short of your expectations. All guest feedback is sincerely welcomed and your comments will be shared with our team as we continuously strive to improve the experience for future guests. Thank you for your review; we hope to one day welcome you back for an experience that surpasses all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    968
    1,264
    617
    273
    187
See reviews for
423
870
206
992
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Enjoyed my stay in this hotel, very clean well appointed rooms, good internet access and very close to the strip. Breakfast was excellent.
Was only spoilt by one of our group being robbed in the room while sleeping. Tip, make sure you lock the door securely!
Like i say very good hotel and would still go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claude998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that while staying with us you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room, our hotel’s proximity to the Vegas Strip and the amenities we offer. Guest safety is a top priority for us and in the event, there is an issue we encourage our guests to file a report so that the matter can be investigated. Thank you again for your comments; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend gateaway with my husband and friends. I don't really have a complain. Our stay was ok. Since we don't gamble we soak ourselves in the pool. It's kind of small but we had fun. Only few people went swimming so it wasn't crowded.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa for your weekend getaway in Vegas. It was nice to learn that you, your husband, and your friends all had a fun time in our heated pool. We hope that the next time you are planning a visit to the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matteson, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel was absolutely great. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was decent (especially considering that it was free), there is internet service, and it's a very short walk across to the strip - less than 5 minutes. The staff was friendly and attentive. They offered free computers and printers, so we were able to print out our livingsocial and groupon deals. They even sent out some mail for me. The hotel was very quiet. Both in the room and the lobby/casino area. There was action, but it was definitely nice to be away from the thousands of people on the strip at all times of day and night. My only complaint is that the room got a little chilly at night. We never did remember to ask the staff to look at the heater, so that's really no one's fault but our own. And the comforter was more than warm enough, if you don't mind breathing in cold air.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmarie1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Your review and high recommendation is sincerely appreciated, thank you. We were delighted to read that our location, just off the Vegas Strip, as well as the amenities we offer and our associates’ friendly demeanor all contributed to a great stay. It was; however, disappointing to learn that you were chilly in your room at night and hope that on your next visit you will alert us to any concerns you may have right away. Thank you again for sharing such a wonderful review, please visit us again soon at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anchorage alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

good location, excellent staff always attentive, free internet ( good connection ), good breakfast buffett, clean rooms, what else can you ask for? will recommend to friends and family
stayed for two days here will come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wansapanatym74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa. It was a pleasure to provide you with the comfortable accommodations, attentive service, and the variety of amenities that helped make your visit memorable. We truly appreciate your review and recommendation and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I'll make it short -- since several people seem to think this is an 'ok' (or better?) hotel. Over many, many years of traveling I've stayed in a couple of rooms (different brands) where the room I was staying in was changed over from smoking to non-smoking -- but little to nothing was done to rid the room of its stale cigarettee smoke. Although the desk clerk never did get what I was trying to tell her, the room I had here smelled like one of those conversions. The hotel spends a boat-load on Fabreze or something....spraying the halls and everything in sight. I had a terrible sinus headache the entire 18 hours I checked in here. Checked into the hotel next door -- you know, the one with the pink bird as its mascot. Rate of half of what I paid at Westin and, while not luxurious by an stretch, the room was leaps and bounds above the Westin room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swtrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
While we never like to read that one of our guest’s experiences did not live up to their expectations, we are always grateful for the feedback so that we may address any issues. We do regret that we were not able to create a better experience for you but appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had been to Vegas before and stayed on the fancy hotels at the strip. This time we thought by being a SPG member we would try this property. As we arrived we were happy to know the location is nice if you like to walk. If not you have plenty of transportation options.
A couple of things that turned us off to this property was:
Waiter at their restaurant was very unpleasant. We were there for dinner, besides us there was only 2 other people at the restaurant this was around 10:30 pm. They are open 24 hrs. The waiter should find another job. He was very unprofessional. Setting up the tables for breakfast and too busy talking with the other employees and we wait and wait... When he came to the table, he said. Do you know what you want? So we requested the wine list, he rolled his eyes .... just went down hill from there.
When we called for our reservation, we were told that internet service in the room was included with our daily rate. When we received our bill $19.99 was added per day for a facility fee.
We called the front desk and were told that the charge is for the internet and use of the pool... in the winter???? Please!
It would be much better if they were up front during the reservation process and let the guest know of all the fees. They made the $19.99 per day from us this time but will lose much more in future.
Will not stay at this Westin again. We could have stayed at a much better hotel for the same price.
By the way.... the waitress we had at the same restaurant for lunch the day before our dinner was very nice and professional. She was very pleasant, that being the reason we went back for dinner. She was not there at night.
The night waiter also overcharge our credit card but management did credit the overcharge after we called. So check your bill if you are staying there.
Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is extremely disappointing to learn that your experience in our restaurant fell short of your expectations. We are very sorry if the level of service you received at dinner fell short of the high standards we strive to provide to all our guests. Your review will be shared with our staff in order to re-emphasize our commitment to quality customer service. We would like to clarify for you and everyone else that the hotel amenity charge you mentioned provides many services and benefits including valet and self-parking, use of our Hibiscus Spa's sauna and steam room, and nightly access to our hosted Happy Hour. A complete list and details can be found on our website. We hope one day to have the chance to welcome you back for a more positive stay that truly reflects the service and hospitality our guests have come to expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#77 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,609 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#21 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa

Property: The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa
Address: 160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino & Spa is located 1.5 Blocks east of the famous Las Vegas Strip, Forum Shops, Miracle Mile, the LINQ & High Roller observation wheel, World Market and Premium outlet mall. Just minutes to Las Vegas Convention and Sands Expo Centers, UNLV campus and 5 miles from McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino And Spa
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Westin Las Vegas
Las Vegas Westin
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing