We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #94 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Westins are usually well appointed and upscale. This Westin needs a makeover. Not only in the common areas, but in the service department as well.

There is tape covering holes in the carpet and basically most areas are in need of a make over. The beds are comfortable, but it is definitely not as nice as any other Westin I've ever stayed at.

The service is also poor. I was accosted by the Valet who told me that a spot I parked in was a "valet" spot and I would have to pay to park there. There were several spots that were marked valet and this spot was not.

I complained to the manager who offered me star points.

I should have stayed somewhere else, as I paid the same price as I would have anywhere else. The Hilton is across the street and a much better property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family-fun-Five2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We appreciate the time you have taken to make us aware of the issue you had with a member of our valet team and we regret any inconveniences you may have experienced. Your comments allow us to pinpoint areas in which we can make improvements and create a better experience for our future guests. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope that the next time you are visiting Vegas you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,790 - 1,796 of 3,545 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin for business and found it to be much better than the strip casinos. Easy access location to everything, rooms were clean and staff were friendly. Enjoyed the smaller quaint hotel vs. The large casinos on the strip.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent business trip to Las Vegas. It was nice to know that you found our hotel to be of good value and that you enjoyed our convenient location to the Strip. The next time you are visiting the area, whether for business or for leisure, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Westin Las Vegas Hotel – Casino and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were very disappointed with the service at this hotel. I quite often stay at Westin hotels and always happy with "Westin experience".

Front desk agent who checked us in (Asian lady) was very cute and helpful. We went to the concierge desk to ask how to get to the outlet mall which should be one of the most popular things to do (at least for girls).... she didn't know anything, nothing and not even trying to look it up.

Our room was smelly when we walked in and an in-room dining menu was broken (clearly been ignored). Bedding sheets were old and not fresh and a bathroom was not cleaned at all. We could see some "missed" urine on the floor.

We had an issue with the restaurant charge, so visited the front desk and she was pretty rude and no effort into resolving the issue. So we went to the restaurant and they engaged they would fix the issue but nothing happened and nothing was communicated next day. Naturally, I was frustrated and a manager at the front desk (I guess) seemed very careless towards what had happened and why we were annoyed.

Anyway, only reason I gave 2 out of 5 is the casino. I know it's not owned by the hotel but dealers were very friendly and great casino for beginners!

We will definitely go back to the casino, but the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Although we appreciate the positive remarks regarding our Casino, it was disappointing to hear that your stay with us was not as anticipated. Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It is a decent hotel but I will prefer to stay in another hotel next time .....due to following reasons:
1.) Front Desk staff is typically polite but seemed unhelpful at times ...Once I forgot my room keys and passport in room and I was made to wait for 20 minutes for something as basic as sending a security to check my credentials ....
2.) DO NOT DINE in the Hotel ! I had dinner at Westin and the staff added a few dollars extra to my bill which is typically charged for In room dining ...I had to talk to 2 managers to get this issue rectified ..I do not care about few extra dollars but I think it was unethical on Staff's part to add a tip or any other irrelevant charge without my consent ...

PROS :
1.) Rooms are nice and I got a nice view from room
2.) It is not located on the Strip but you can walk for 10 minutes to reach there .. it is nearby ..
3.) Concierge facilities are nice...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are committed to providing our guests with superior service to ensure that their visit is the best it can be. It was disappointing to learn that your stay was not as you had hoped and we apologize for any inconveniences caused by the delay to get back into your room. Your comments have been forwarded to our management team so that they can be addressed. We hope that one day you will return so that we can provide you with a stay that exceeds all your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Looking for a relaxing stay in LV and convenient access to small-scale Casino? Look no further. This is the first time I have stayed at this property and the first time at a Westin that I can remember. I was duly impressed with the service, the cleanliness, and the convenience of this hotel. I didn't need to venture out much because it had most of what I was looking for. However, if I felt the urge to experience the LV strip, it was a short walk to the heart of it. It was a short stay but, while there, I took advantage of quite a bit of what the hotel had to offer with respect to food, exercise, and Casino and I was very satisfied. I would not hesitate in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Join SPG for room upgrade potential and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are delighted you had the opportunity to stay at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa. We are happy to learn that your first visit with us was great and we look forward to sharing your positive experience with our team. Our central location makes it easy to explore the area attractions yet offers a serene place for our guests to rest their heads at night. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Friendly staff, Clean, off the strip, but close enough to walk, comfortable beds, GREAT WATER pressure in the shower! My only complaint is that the elevator button on the 11th floor always shocks you, like it's not grounded or something.
It's a pretty quite hotel compared to some of the others, also they do not allow smoking in the rooms, so for me that is nice. The pool area is so relaxing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where you can see the "High Roller" Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We couldn't be more pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel - Casino and Spa. It’s great to hear that the comfort and outstanding location of our hotel provided you with just what you needed during your visit. Your comments about the elevator have been forwarded to our maintenance team so that they can be addressed. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I am an SPG Gold member so we did get a room on the top floor reserved for Starwood preferred guest members. It's a nice room, but nothing that blows me away. It was a one night stay for a show, so given I got a sat check in and one night stay I am pleased. Comfy and clean enough, and a little rubber lucky as a amenity was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L8Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinL, General Manager at The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Westin Las Vegas Hotel – Casino and Spa. As a SPG Gold member, we greatly value your feedback. It was nice to know that you appreciated your top floor accommodations and found our Westin Ducks to be a nice added touch. Your loyalty is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Vegas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
W Las Vegas
W Las Vegas
#57 of 264 in Las Vegas
282 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#72 of 264 in Las Vegas
1,731 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Delano Las Vegas
Delano Las Vegas
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa

Address: 160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#41 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £89 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa is a non-gaming, non-smoking hotel located just steps from the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Offering easy access to dining, gaming, shopping and entertainment options: Forum Shops, Miracle Mile, the LINQ & High Roller,World Market and Premium Outlet Mall. Just minutes to Las Vegas Convention, Sands Expo and Mandalay Bay Convention Centers, UNLV campus and 5 miles from McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino And Spa
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Westin Las Vegas
Las Vegas Westin
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing