We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranked 95th in popularity, should be lower...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #92 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 May 2009

I stayed here for business a few months ago, and it sort of served the purpose, although it definitely does not deserve the Westin tag. So I brought the family for a long holiday weekend and used Starwood points. I won't ever do that again. This hotel should be razed and rebuilt somewhere else. It embarrasses me to be a Starwood Platinum when they tout hotels like this dump. Lousy service, lousy food, lousy casino, lousy location, lousy rooms (old, smelly, ugly)...I could go on, but I'll just get more depressed. Stay away!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutsforbolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,696 - 2,702 of 3,478 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2009

Booked the Westin Casuarine through Priceline's Name Your Own Price feature. I bid 70$ per night for a 4 star on the south strip. As with the previous reviewer, I have the same complaints. First of all, this is not a 4 star (even less a resort) and it is not on the strip... It is located behind Bill's Gambling Hall and the Flamingo. For a fast walker, it is at least a five minute walk from behind those hotels. Fortunately, I got this hotel for pretty cheap, so I can't complain too much... but I would NEVER pay the full price rate this ''resort'' is asking for (around 169$ a night for weekdays).

I had a nice room on the tenth floor with one king bed. The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable... probably one of the best hotel beds i've stayed in. The room was very well decorated. In-room amenities included iron and ironing board, bar ($$), phone, alarm clock, safe, cable TV, shampoo & conditioner and a Starbuck's coffee maker (the tassimo kind). From what I've read from the previous reviews, this is actually an old revamped hotel (Maxim)... but I would never have guessed it. Everything looked modern and clean. My only complaints with regards to the room are: 1) no fan in the bathroom (after a shower the whole bathroom fogs up and takes an hour to clear) 2) not enough soap (they supply you with one bar of soap per day... although it's a nice smelling soap, the bar is way too thin and barely lasts one shower).

There is a casino on the main floor, but don't expect much action there. There's rarely more than 10 players in there at a time. Only moments it gets busy is during happy hour (5pm to 8pm I believe... for .25c roulette, 3 dollar blackjack).

My biggest complaint with this Westin is the 15.00$ + 1.66$/day of resort fee they charge you. This fee came as a big surprise to me because I booked this hotel with Name Your Own Price and I expected my bid to be the total price. For 5 nights, this came up to 80 something dollars... not a negligible amount!! As per front desk, this fee covers the following: free local calls, pool access, free parking and the Westin WORKOUT area... big whoop. Most hotels offer this for free. And the ones who don't usually charge a resort fee that is much less excessive than 16.66$ a day!! Basically, it's a scam! When you look at the surrounding hotels that actually ARE on the strip (Flamingo's, Bally's, Imperial Palace, Harrah's, etc) and what they have to offer, there is no doubt that the Westin Casuarina is NOT a resort.

So, to summarize, the Westin Casuarina is not a bad hotel. It offers clean rooms and is reasonably close to the action. If you don't mind walking a little bit to get to the strip and you are able to get it for cheap (max 65-70 a night with resort fee) with Hotwire and Priceline, then I would recommend it. Otherwise, at that price, you are much better off staying on the strip.

**Be careful with the abusive charges I've noticed:
5.95$ for the bottle of water in the room (there's two free ones in the bathroom, some people could be confused and open up the expensive one instead).
16.00$ a day for internet access.
International calls: 60$ a minute + connection fee

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chinotto_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Got this hotel as a 4star bid on the strip. It's not on the strip and it's not 4star. Having said that we paid $70 so don't feel ripped off. However, the hotel is dated. I remember staying there when it was the Maxim in 1982. Not a whole lot better now. The entire hotel needs a makeover. The beds are great and the double shower heads were nice. The pool area is too small. Tried to go one day and there were no spots to be had. The "unwind" happy hour was an expected plus. Free wine. beer and sodas with some snacks. Parking was very easy. The fitness area was good compared by most hotels. We had breakfast the last day and were convinced by the server to have the buffet since it wasn't much more than having any of their entrees. What he didn't say was that the buffet was closing in 10 minutes, which we found out after we went up for some food. Our stay was okay but definitely wouldn't go back to this Westin until it gets refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zingmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Not much to write, actually. It's a Westin located one block off the strip. It's location is good in that you can get anywhere on the strip pretty easily. However, while we were there, the casino was deserted - it was hard to say if anybody else was at the hotel besides the 50-60 of us there for our training conference. The facilities for the training were fine, and the food provided during the conference by the hotel was pretty darn good. So all in all it was an okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Westins are suppose to be Shereton's (Starwood program) higher end hotels. This hotel did offer some nice amenites but it is not the 4 star property I had hoped.

The location for myself was not a problem. Yes, it is not on the strip but it is only a 10-15 minute walk . The monorail at Balley's is real close... say 5 minutes or so (depends on if you catch the light to cross the street). Parking is easy since it is a smaller resort. You can self park or use the valet.

The rooms are decently decorated. The bed is comfortable and the TV has the generic cable channels to view. The double headed shower can be pleasant for some but it lacked the "power" to really "massage" you.

One surprise is the "unwind" happy hour. Nightly from 5-7 pm there was a "free" happy hour with wine and beer and appetizers. There were not a lot of tables to sit at so if you did not get there early or find some in the hall next to the casino, then you either stood or took your drinks and food up to your room. They would not let you sit in the restaurant which is adjacent to the happy hour "lounge".

The casino is not the Vegas casino that some come here for. It is a small casino with a few tables and slot machines. The cocktail waitresses are not very good about coming around to see if you would like a beverage.

The other thing I did not like.... this is a non-smoking hotel. I like that... but they allow smoking in the casino which then creates second hand smoke in the hotel. YUK!

We did not eat in the hotel but not far away is Ellis Island. This is a small local casino with a Bar-B-Que meal to die for. They brew their own beer and you will need to order 1 plate for 2 people (unless you are really hungry). You will have a feast for $10 and beers are only another $1. Ellis Island is just off Flamingo at Koval (left out of the hotel for 1/2 block).

The pool at the hotel is fairly bland for Vegas standards. But they did have enough lounge chairs for the few up there.

The hotel also offered free airline check in so you could print up you airline boarding pass if you needed too (another one of those deals added to your resort fee).

We were here on a timeshare presentation deal... so we paid very little for our room. Therefore, it is not fair for me to judge "value" of this hotel. But anything more than $100 a night would be too much for me considering the "daily hotel/resort fee" of $15/day added on. It is an OK hotel. Enjoy the happy hour and you may feel like you got your money's worth on the extra fee.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank one_lucky_guy-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

We stayed at the Westin while for both business and pleasure. It was the first weekend away I had with my husband alone in well over a year and I was really looking forward to it. My husband had to fly in from Tucson while I drove from Socal and he specifically called to make sure to add my name to the reservation about 4 hours before I arrived. I got there and sure enough, my name was nowhere to be found. I couldn't call my husband since he was on a plane and I had to fight to check in. Having an uncommon last name ended up saving me. The rooms are nice enough and the location is about 2 blocks from center Strip which is nice. Around 3:30 in the morning we were woken by a chirping sound coming from our fire alarm. Evidentally the batteries had not been changed every six months like the fire marshall always says to do. So we grumbled and groaned and called the front desk to have someone come fix it in the middle of the night. He came and he was friendly but he left us a candy bar as their apology. A candy bar. At the Westin. In Las Vegas. Hey- how about a meal comp? This is Vegas after all. I would have sooner taken a slap in the face then a 50 cent "oops my bad". The next day my husband went downstairs and told the staff in the lobby about our check in debaucle and fire alarm issue. What did the guy do? He waived the $15 restocking fee. Gee thanks. Thank you for waving a made up charge that should have never been on the bill in the first place. You just lost a repeat business customer and got a bad review on trip advisor. I think that was worth a tad more than a $15 restocking fee.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doubleadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

The placement of this hotel must have been done by someone flying along the stript, and tossing a die out of the helicopter hoping for the best. It is oddly placed a few blocks from the strip, past a run-down convenience store and with a parking lot on one side and undeveloped land on all other sides.

The first impression of the Westin Casuarina is that of the small size, compared to the mega-resorts a few blocks up along the strip. This is perhaps both a curse and a blessing. It is easy to navigate around the hotel, there are no mile-long corridors nor a huge casino to get through just go get from one end of the hotel to another. The flipside is that there is little choice of places to eat and drink, and there is a lack of some amenities which the mega-resorts on the strip offer.

Stepping into the lobby below the Westin sign you would expect a Westin but you have actually stepped into a Sheraton. The front desk staff are friendly, and check-in is fast and painless. The walk to my room on the 4th floor is short. The room itself has a delightful greenish wallpaper, one of those colours you either love or hate. There is a recently refurbished bathroom with a bizarre dual head shower, two large twin beds, a desk and a couple of chairs and a small table. Everything you need, but the beds dominate the room and with two people you will may find yourself bumping into each other from time to time. There is a small coffeemaker in the bathroom. Of course there are the usual products like shampoo and body wash. There is also an in-room safe which is always nice to have. The beds, although dominating the room, were indeed heavenly and provided several nights of very good sleep. The rooms do have a slightly old and worn feel about them and there is no air of luxury throughout the hotel as you would expect from a 4-star Westin.

Hotels are at least 50% about location, location, location and the location of this hotel is certainly not the worst but not the best either. The walk to the strip is about 10 minutes and takes you up to Bills' Gamblin' Hall and Casino, where night owls may take advantage of their recession-busting 6-dollar prime rib, served from 11pm to 7am. The walk back though is a different story. After hours of walking round, that extra walk seems much longer than 10 minutes. You can also fairly easily walk to Bally's. The monorail stop is quite a walk as you have to enter through the Flamingo - although the monorail stop itself is ironically very close to the Westin. The walk to the strip is straightforward enough but I am not sure I would feel safe if I was a lone female traveller. The convenience store between the strip and the hotel is indeed very cheap compared to the hotel minibar but offers little apart from snacks and drinks.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which I have not tried, but always seemed to fully booked throughout the evening. Room service, sorry "in-room dining", did provide a nice breakfast and service was well within the 30-45 minutes quoted. The food was not spectacular - simply average. Average is a good word to describe the whole hotel, it is certainly not luxurious but not run-down either. "Dull" is perhaps another word that would come to mind to describe it.

Their spa is not dull and turned out to be a very pleasurable experience. Keep in mind that you are not in a "themed" hotel so do not expect opulent surroundings. Rather, it is muted, plush and comfortable. The men's steam baths are closed as I write this, but their sauna is open. Before a treatment you wait in the relaxation room, which humorously was not very relaxing as they had the same music there as the rest of the hotel. It was a welcome change from the whale song and pan flutes but relaxing it was not. Tea and coffe as well as nuts and fruit are provided. My treatments were very relaxing and the therapists good. My massage therapist was even willing to break his normal routine to work on some of my problem areas. At 280 dollars for a facial and a 50 hour massage, the cost did seem a bit steep but this is Vegas and up on the strip the costs can be higher.

Upon checking out you are presented with a daily resort fee. The hotel seems to be at pains to explain the benefits of the fee, but it does seem like poor value for money. One can question why the hotel has chosen to charge this fee, which is in fact not much money but it is more the fact that you need to pay regardless of having taken advantage of the services that are included with the fee that incenses people. The charge of 17 dollars or so for Internet access also seems rather steep. About 150 metres further down the street there is a souped-up Super8 motel, offering free internet access. Suddenly, their offering seems attractive and it seems odd that such as commodity as internet access it not offered for free or at a much lower cost.

So why would you stay at the Westin Casuarina? If you prefer a smallish hotel at a reasonable price not too far from the strip this could be the hotel for you. It is also convenient for those who do not want the hustle and bustle of strip hotels - if you have a car this hotel is great as access is completely off-strip. There is little walking inside the hotel itself. It is certainly not a "happening" place, so nightlife lovers look elsewhere. The casino is smoke free which is a plus for some. That said, do consider other off-strip hotels, some of which provide the same value at a lower cost.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polar_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,399 reviews
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#14 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,434 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,748 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#43 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,749 reviews
The Strip
SLS Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa

Address: 160 E. Flamingo Rd, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#39 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#67 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#80 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £84 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa is a non-gaming, non-smoking hotel located just 1.5 blocks from the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Offering easy access to dining, gaming, shopping and entertainment options: Forum Shops, Miracle Mile, the LINQ & High Roller,World Market and Premium Outlet Mall. Just minutes to Las Vegas Convention, Sands Expo and Mandalay Bay Convention Centers, UNLV campus and 5 miles from McCarran International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel, Casino And Spa
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Westin Las Vegas
Las Vegas Westin
The Westin Las Vegas Hotel & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing