We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap to stay and you can see why!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #113 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was out first of 2 hotels that we would be staying in while in vegas!

The room was clean but the horrible lay out and then it went down hill from there!
After the first night we woke up and discovered that the toilet has been leaking all over the bathroom floor, after they sent a maintenance main up to look at it we were told it was unable to be fixed and we would not be moved to a new room!
After much talk with then we finally got a new room!

The main elevator lobby has avery strong smell of sewer and after a few days it was apparent they had a blockage and was doing nothing about it!!!

The casino it self was quiet dirty and very tacky compared to a lot of others on the strip!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZNA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,980 - 6,986 of 12,680 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Me and my husband had the first part of our Honeymoon in LA and decided to drive to Vegas first thing Friday and stay over, we chose the Stratosphere as we liked the look of the Tower and wanted to go up, also the Hotel is at the end of the strip so away from the very, very busy Las Vegas Blvd. We chose the refurbed 2008 rooms, very modern, trendy, clean just perfect for us. There is a bus stop outside accross the road and also the Monrail, both take you to the strip and are cheap, i would recommend the Monorail more as the buses get very, very full and it's boiling hot, it takes 10 minutes on monrail but longer on bus due to the stops on the way. If you want to stay right on the Vegas strip in one of the big boys then this isn't for you, we liked it because we got a good nights sleep and the tower, you get free admission bening in the Hotel, i would recommend going up, they have a cool bar and restaurant and near the bar you can watch people bungee jumping off the top! The views of vegas by night are amazing from here. Also when you arrive unless you want Valet parking just follow the signs for 'Self Park' they have a huge car park lot loads of levels so no worries there and then follow the signs and a walkway and elevator takes you into the main casino, easy! Checked in no waiting, checked out no waiting. Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Get the New 2008 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flossyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWarnerLasVegas, Front Office Manager at Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for mentioning some of the many benefits of staying at the Stratosphere Hotel. We appreciate the comments. See you next time!

Sarah Warner
Hotel Manager
Sarah.Warner@stratospherehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We celebrated our 35th anniversary at the Stratosphere Hotel and Casino. Our room was gorgous and had a big jacuzzi tub with a nice seating area to accomedate our guests. The hotel looked new and remodelled and the staff and dealers were very friendly. We ate at the buffet and the breakfast we had was hot and delicious. Roxy's diner food was served hot and quickly and it too was great! Go see the show Bite, the music was a lot of greatest hits and you will love it with the talented dancers and acrobatics. Everything was so nice and we look forward to our next stay at the Stratosphere. We recommend you try this hotel if you haven't stayed there before.

Room Tip: Depending on where you stay - you can see the skydivers drop from the top of the building! It was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg5439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWarnerLasVegas, Front Office Manager at Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Congratulations on 35 years!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Stratosphere and hope you will visit again soon. Thank you for your comments.

Sarah Warner
Hotel Manager
Sarah.Warner@stratospherehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. The room was after an upgrade on the 26th floor. Not the best view, but the rooms where big and clean. The bed was good. Only Wi-fi for extra money.
Casino was good. There is a buffet at the hotel. For 20 dollars all u can eat and drink. The choices could be better, but after 2 weeks of hamburgers anything else is good enough:)
Location was not ideal. Where it all happens is too far away to go by foot, but if u go with the car its not a big problem. If u can stay at for example New york New york u can better stay there, but if this is one of the few options, u don't get disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed at Stratosphere from 1-6 August. Have been to Vegas before, at The Sahara in 2006. Returned for our 10th wedding anniversary. Even though hotel is at the very top of the strip, we actually liked being there, as we felt the strip was very busy. so it was nice to come & go. Hotel is basic, no frills in the Casino. Bar & Starbucks in the main area. Nice Italian restaurant Fellini's, where staff were so goo, and food also.Not keen on Roxy's diner, continental breakfast was too $$ & not enough. So we didn't go back. Upstairs you have a number of shops. Some tacky, some not. A few places to eat, ie. Mexican, where the meals are huge. My Hubby & I shared chicken fajitas, and it was just fine. Our anniversary dinner was at The Top Of The World restaurant at the top of the tower. The tower is a must, even if not eating there. We booked a table at 7.30, but went up early while it was still light. The views out to the mountains and the sunset was amazing. But the best is when all the lights of Vegas start to come on. Makes for a very special place. Our meal with drinks for 4 people was approx USD100 per person. But well worth it.
The room we had was a strip view room on the 23rd floor. Not exactly a strip view, but you could see a few hotels. We booked via Zuji, but found when we got to hotel there was only a standard room booked, even though I had it in black & white what we had paid for. Reception did there best to find us a nice room, but we had to pay an extra $22 per night for a renovated strip view room. We were happy to at the time as we got a real cheap deal on accommodation. ( taking it up with Zuji to get money back. Watch this space!)
Hubby went on Insanity ride...the name says it all.
Did a Grand Canyon Tour...had a few issues with tour company, but Grand Canyon is a MUST!. Went to South rim Air/coach tour.
Also highly recommend Scoot City Tours. You travel to Red Rock Canyon in tiny brightly
coloured cars in a convoy. Once out into the wide open space and the Red Rock canyon the views are amazing. Many stops for photo opportunities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I recently stayed at the Stratosphere with 7 other ladies for a bachelorette party. This hotel looks close to the strip on a map, but it is about a 2 mile walk... That seems SO much longer in 100+ heat. It is a smaller casino than most, but because it is so far from the strip, you can get to any table or machine without a wait. The pool area is nice with a great view of the tower. On top of the tower are 4 x-treme thrill rides... For those interested. The hotel wa clean and the staff were very nice. The rooms were modestly appointed with great counter space in the bathroom. The hotel was inexpensive to stay. This is a great hotel especially if you plan on renting a car in Vegas. Close to the strip and also to downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talbottca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Stratosphere is situated at the northern end of Las Vegas Blvd or 'The Strip', what you need to understand from the start however is that the main (and by main, I mean where all the glitz is) part of the strip is about 2kms to the south along Las Vegas Blvd. To get to the main part of the strip you can get a bus at $7 for a 24hr ticket, the busses are often crowded at peak times and it can take a while to get to your destination due to traffic and traffic lights at every junction. The cheapest and quickest option is the monorail, after a short walk to the station. Tickets are $27 for a 3 day pass or $5 for a single journey. You can of course walk if your up for it, but remember it is hot this time of the year so drink WATER regularly. The Tower is worth a visit, it gets busy toward sunset, but the views are incredible. The rollercoaster that you may have seen in some older photos doesn't exist anymore but the other rides do, and if you fancy leaping off the top of the tower you can, at the Freefall 'ride' in which you fall 855ft to the base of the tower in a controlled but extremely quick manner. Not for the faint hearted! The restaurant is expensive and a reservation is advised, an average main meal can cost any where between $30-$40.
The pool at level 8 is a nice place to chill out and catch some sun. Bar food and drinks are relatively inexpensive. The retail floor is basically a series of gift shops with a couple of fast food outlets (McDonalds), and in no way competes with the vast shopping areas at the Paris, Bellagio, Ceasers Palace etc.
The Casino again falls short of the big casinos, but you can be relieved of your money there just the same, waitress service is available but in can take a while for them to get around, so although drinks are free while you gamble, you could end up spending $10 to $20 dollars as you wait.
The tipping culture is the hardest thing to get used to (speaking as a Brit), but as a guide for drinks add $1 to $2, airport transfer drivers about $5 and any restaurants 15/20% of the bill...of course tipping is optional, but you may find yourself waiting at a busy bar if you don't. If you get poor service don't tip! Oh and finally if you go shopping, the price listed on products are as far as I can tell always less tax, so don't be suprised by being asked for more money than you originally thought you had to pay.
When all said and done, its still a good hotel (just not as good as the rest) and Vegas is a blast, so the only time you spend in your hotel is when your sleeping...or thats how it was for us. Have fun.

Room Tip: Upgrades are available if you ask; and ask for a strip view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MW3174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#109 of 265 in Las Vegas
4,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,907 reviews
Golden Nugget Hotel
#92 of 265 in Las Vegas
11,349 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection

Address: 2000 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#58 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £45 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino And Tower Hotel Las Vegas
Stratosphere Las Vegas
Stratosphere Hotel Las Vegas
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino And Tower, BW Premier Collection Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing