We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a bad location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower
Ranked #109 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Lauderdale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a bad location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Room and casino are comparable to most of the other nicer casinos along the strip. Room was clean and adequate and the Casino was a typical Vegas casino. What made it stand out was the Tower and the low price. Free Tower trips came with room which would have almost cost more than the room itself. Tower lounge bartender was great and the view was awesome. The buffet wasn't nothing to brag about and other food choises were limited. The worst thing was it's location in a seedy part of Vegas on the end of the strip. NOT in walking distance of te rest of the strip. Still a great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderguppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,438
    4,489
    2,876
    991
    758
See reviews for
2,595
4,369
689
524
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,899)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights as the last stop on an organised tour.

Hotel was absolutely fine. Yes it is a bit of a way from the main part of the strip, but this was no problem for us. When we weren't on the tour bus we just used the Deuce ($7 for a day) or taxi ($20) to get to the heart of the action.

Room was quite large, clean and luckily in a quiet part of the hotel. Wasn't in it much though as there to experience Vegas!

Buffet breakfast was good value (and the variety was an eye opener!) and ate in Fellini's 2 out of the 3 nights - lovely!

Free access to the top of the tower was a bonus, view was spectacular & worth going to the Top of the World bar for 2 for 1 vodka martini's in happy hour (think it's 5pm - 7pm).

Casino not as big or as well laid out as that in the main hotels, but fine for an amateur gambler.

Agree with a previous reveiwer who said there was a strange smell by the central elevators - smelt like bad eggs!

Overall this is a fine hotel to base yourself while exploring Las Vegas, although if I visit again independently I would choose to stay nearer the main part of the strip.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PeanutbutterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
156 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We choose this hotel as it was one if the cheapest hotel in LAS and with FREE access to the Tower. We're on the way from Bryce Canyon & Zion NP to Los Angeles and we just wanted to have a quick look of what is Las Vegas at night. 34USD/night

The hotel is a little bit far away from the Strip but is a good option if you don't want to stress with lots of people.

The room we had was recently remodelated with flat TV screen, nice view to LAS and a very comfy bed. The bathroom was also OK.

Check-in was smooth (I guss because it was not a week-end) and speaking spanish which we appreciate it :)

Valet parking is complimentary but not the internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crustiviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I booked a so called "deluxe room" at Stratosphere for non smoking persons but I received a very modest room (quite well dirty, with hair in the restroom) in a smoking floor. I spent a very bad night there because of the smell. At the weak up, I went to complain with the director and I received a "comfort room" for the rest of my staying. The comfort room was really nice and clean. ! I enjoyed a lot the swimming pool and the tower view.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
186 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

If you have a car, this is a good choice hotel for price and accommodations. Without a car, you will have to hassle a 2 mile commute to the center of the Strip, and 4 miles to the far end of the Strip.
Pros:
Price, nice clean room, OK buffet for the price
Cons:
You must pay for Internet (annoying that they gouge $11.99 a day for this, but this seems all too common in Vegas)
Air conditioners do not have adjustable air flow blades, so air blows directly on the nearest bed in a twin bedded room. I had to rig a chair and a suitcase to keep from getting a cold.
Only one small round bar of soap given daily. Glad I brought my own soap because amenities in the gift shops are outrageously overpriced (example: $1.75 for a teeny bottle of ginger ale, the size used for one cocktail).
Tub would not drain completely for several minutes after shower (we were on 17th floor).
Hair dryer was broken, but fairly quickly replaced after a call to front desk.
Shared lamp between beds - no way to read in bed without bothering the person in the other bed.

Other than the above, the hotel was average on the whole, with the usual disgusting cigarette smoke in the casino (when oh when will Las Vegas hotels bite the bullet and require non-smoking in ALL casinos?).

Room Tip: It seems that the only way to get a better room is to pay the $20. surcharge for a "Tower"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentTraveller034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed 1 night as we were arriving late to Vegas and wanted to go up to the tower for the night view. Paid $40 for room with Tower access which was the whole purpose of staying at The Stratosphere. Room itself was fine and clean. View was of a concrete wall but for the price I paid, I have nothing to complain about. Didnt see the pool area as the stay was to brief but did enjoy the casino which was tons of fun. Well worth staying just to see the view from the tower. Ate at the diner late that night which was also fine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortcakeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Stratosphere in May. It was a great deal, so we were able to stay longer than expected. They have some really scary rides on the top of the tower, and a very cool observation deck that you can see the whole valley floor from. The rooms were very nice, and the staff friendly. It was a short walk to the rest of the strip, but if you don't like to walk, take the bus. The buses do 24 hour, or 3 day rates, and are very economical. It is also a short bus ride to Freemont Street which you should not miss. All in all we will be back to the Stratosphere the next time we are in Vegas.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travelers2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#98 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino
#76 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,257 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#38 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Golden Nugget Hotel
#86 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower

Property: Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower
Address: 2000 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89104-2507
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stratosphere Hotel, Casino and Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino And Tower Hotel Las Vegas
Stratosphere Las Vegas
Stratosphere Hotel Las Vegas
Stratosphere Hotel, Casino And Tower Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing