We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice with one exception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort
Ranked #39 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

There's not much that you can find wrong with this place. Clean, close enough to the strip but far enough away to avoid the noise and crowds, very nice and helpful people all around and all the amenities you could possibly want or need.
My only complaint is that they leave the pool open all night long and two mornings while we were there we were awakened around 4 a.m. with teenagers making a lot of noise playing in the pool and hot tub. This place either needs to lock up the pool at around midnight or have security patrol the area so we can all get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for your very nice feedback, We are glad that you enjoyed our resort and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

We look forward to your return stay.

Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,055 of 2,268 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great spot away from all the madness of the strip but just a short walk or free shuttle..best of both worlds.Staff helpful and friendly and not to fussy with strict rules etc. we took a kid and he loved it..gets away from the smokey casinos and great pool areas to chill and refresh. Gyms open 24/7 too so for us brits waking up every morning at 5 no hassle..The pools open all the time too but certainly wernt rowdy or busy when we were there ( middle of April) . we had a 1 bed appt which was more than big enough for 3 of us . The maids were very efficient and helpful.Overall really really good an oasis of calm which was more than welcome when walking the strip all day. If you want Vegas but also want to get off then I cant recommend it enough.

Room Tip: don't worry about being near the main pool..its handily located and wasn't noisy at all when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xbrucedogx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for you very nice comments. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay!
Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for a week with a timeshare exchange. In the past we have stayed at the Wyndham which is far more luxurious, though chose this resort based on the closer, more central, distance to the strip which it indeed was. Now that the High Roller is complete there is a nicely landscaped and well lit sidewalk along Winnick Ave directly to the Linq area which is very nice and was our favorite new area to walk. We walked this at night as well and felt safe (earlier than 10 pm).
We stayed in building 9 on the 2nd floor in a renovated unit ( I had contacted the resort prior to our arrival and requested a recently remodeled roomp-they were very accomdating-thank you Bernadette!). The unit was very nice. The bed was very comfortable. The small square pillows were a little odd but I used 3 of them. I don't know why you'd have a king bed and not king size pillows. The flat screen tvs were great. Everything worked great and appeared very clean. We loved having breakfast on our balcony. No coffee filters so we packed our own. The fan in the bathroom is in the toilet area so you had to keep the door open while showering to help get the steam out which was awkward when I was trying to put make up and get ready with the door in the way. I had read on TA that you can hear people walking above you and we definitely could hear that as well as their shower though it did not awaken us at night so it was no big deal. I'm glad we were on the 2nd floor and not the 3rd-too many stairs after walking all day. First floor units have a less appealing patio/balcony area and are right next to the AC units.
The resort itself was very quiet and a nice getaway from the strip. We used the grills on the property once and sat under the tiki hut areas for an outdoor lunch. The resort is nicely landscaped and well taken care of. Each of the pools are very nice though the Tiki pool has an awkwardly small surrounding pool deck. One of the pools was way too warm one day so we went to another that was more refreshing. They were all perfect temperature to stay in for hours on end. The outside of the buildings is in need of remodel. Lots of cracking and peeling and generally shabby look. The inside room made up for that and it seems like they are doing more remodeling.
My BIGGEST complaint is that they closed the fountain pool on our first full day there for renovations so we never got to use that pool and it was the closest to our room and the beautiful MAIN pool was closed day 2 of our vaca. We were lucky enough to enjoy that pool the first day of our arrival for a couple hours and I loved the waterfall and was looking forward to using it later in the week. There was NO warning or notification anywhere that these pools would be closed. I also chose this resort for the small restaurant so we could sip drinks by the main pool without walking far. We were extremely disappointed. The 3 remaining pools were very nice, though it would have been nice for some notification and the main pool was still in working order all week as they dug doing something to the patio area apart from the main pool deck. I feel they could have closed off this area only and left the remaining pool area open for guests. This was a big disappointment especially with temps in the 90s and the pools quite busy. The prices at the Gold Miner were also outrageous. $14 for 2 blue moons. Most meals were $10 for a salad or sandwich but all the food was very good especially the cheeseburger and pizza.
Shuttles were useful when it was too hot. Strip is easy to walk to/from otherwise. It would be nice if they had a shuttle pick up at half past or quarter of. All the shuttles were on the hour or 10/15 past and when departing they only gave out 20 cards for 20 guests so if there were more than 20 you'd have to wait or walk. There was no notification of this anywhere on their shuttle info they gave us. It would be nice if they had a shuttle run a little further down the street-Ballys, Harrahs, and the Venetian are all relatively close. Harrahs is across the street really so you might as well walk.
Check out/in was smooth though with check out I was told at the front desk that they couldn't call for a taxi to the airport-we'd have to walk down to the bellman. When I called the operator for express check out I mentioned we needed a taxi. She said she'd call one for us. We walked to the front desk to wait and a shuttle had driven to our room to pick us up. No one told us they'd do this. We werent' that far so it wasn't a big deal to walk but I do think they need to make some of their info more clear.
Groceries-get a taxi and go to Vons. We went to Walgreens for some water, breakfast items, and I wish we had just spent the money this time to go to the grocery store. I think this resort needs to seriously consider having a shuttle that goes to the grocery store one or two days/wk on a Monday or Tues for guests even if at a minimal cost. The Wyndham did this for I believe $7 pp and waited an hour for their guests to shop. This was extremely convenient and I think all timeshare resorts should do this. If you offer a full kitchen you should make grocery access more convenient for your guests rather than a small marketplace with sky high prices.
Overall experience was very good and I would probably stay here again if I couldn't get closer to the strip in a timeshare. I'm a TA junkie who loves lots of details so hope all this info helps someone!

Room Tip: 2nd floor unit is good. Ask for remodeled room. Ask for room not facing parking lot. Buildings on Ko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NhBeaglemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your vacation experience. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay!

Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The HI Desert Inn is a wonderful resort. The two bedroom condo was first class.The lush landscaping and 5 pool areas are restful and beautiful. Although it is off the strip, there are free shuttles to 3 locations on the strip, plus it is an easy 2 to 3 block walk.

Room Tip: It is a 3 story property with no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherryh1AtlantaGAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful vacation. Thanks for sharing with us.

Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We spent one week here with friends and family and each family had their own unit. Our rooms were also close together. This place was so nice and it felt like home after a long day. Loved having the full kitchen and even a fireplace and patio area to sit and a washer and dryer! Pools were nice and especially appreciated they had a restaurant here named the Gold Mine. Downstairs from the restaurant and lobby area was a Marketplace which was loaded for a small store. We found everything we needed!!! Had a good view of The High Roller from here and took lots of pictures with the ever changing lights at night. The staff was helpful and friendly. They also had a shuttle service to certain hotels where you could get dropped off and also picked up again. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are glad to hear that your one week vacation was a very pleasant one. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to your return stay!

Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed here 3 times before in the past 2 years. I'm not sure what happened. It appears to have gone downhill just since this fall.
When we checked in, the upsale dude was incredibly rude and arrogant. We are timeshare owners and don't want to spend our vacation hearing what more we can get. I was offended by his attitude.
We got to our room and the coffee maker did not work, nor did our ice maker. The front desk and housekeeping staff were quick to find a replacement and bring us ice. But, that was not a good start.
We woke up day 2 to find vomit all over the stairway going down. It seems that the quiet vibe of the "resort" is gone.
Day 3, we went to lay by the "pool", to find it had been drained. We weren't alerted to this checking in. There are a number of pools and walking is no problem. I asked at checkin though about the pool!
By day 4 between the noise of the loud, late night partiers at the resort and the old wornout mattress, I had had it.
Good thing...because at 10:02, the housekeeper was there to clean our room. What used to be a nice laid back location has totally changed in the past 6 months. We won't be back and woudn't recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. Your visit was the exception, as you can read from all of our other guests feedback. We do value your patronage and look forward to your return stay. All pools have been completely renovated and the resort will be substantially completed by next year.

We look forward to your return stay.

Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Iam a tour guide in New Orleans, so I know what it means to give good service, but never have I been on the flip side to receive it in such a way that made me feel if though I had a home away from home. Tony, BP, the two ladies in the activity room, George from the engineering Dept., the greeters,...so many professional employees I apologize because I can't remember everybody's name. When you live on a property for 8 days where most employees welcome gratuities when they provide services they sometimes look at you a little funny if they don't recieve them.This never happened at all.We tip out at the end and enjoyed doing it thx U H.I...Gfly

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nunate0418-2514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

It is exciting to get such great reviews from a Tour guide! We appreciate your very nice comments on our staff and our resort. We do value your feedback, especially coming from an expert!

Again, thanks!

Sincerely,
A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,747 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,399 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,493 reviews
The Strip
Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort

Address: 3950 Koval Lane, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4702 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Las Vegas - Desert Club Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £65 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only one block from the famous Las Vegas Strip, Holiday Inn Club Vacations(R) at Desert Club Resort offers the best of both worlds. Enjoy a quiet oasis with non-stop excitement close by in one of the most exciting entertainment destinations in the world. From world-class performers and live shows to incredible dining and casino action, nothing beats like the heart of Vegas-and you'll be right in the middle of it! The resort features villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. Many amenities have been refurbished or added to enhance your stay experience. This includes a newly expanded poolside restaurant and bar, state-of-the-art clubhouse, large Marketplace store, two fitness centers and family activity center. You'll also enjoy five heated outdoor pools open from 6am until midnight, plus putting green and shuffleboard courts and outdoor grilling stations with shaded seating areas. Guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services around the large property and to stops at some of the largest casinos on the Las Vegas Strip, which is located only one block from the resort. It includes a stop at the Freemont Street Experience, one of the most popular outdoor attractions in downtown Vegas. Experience world-class live entertainment from top performers such as Celine Dionne and Rod Stewart, shows like Cirque Du Solei's Beatles LOVE and O, incredible restaurants from top chefs and incredible night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Desert Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Club Hotel Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing