We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort
Ranked #35 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressed”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

When we were leaving from norway i had no big expectations for this place, i had heard it was a nice place but it was far from everything!- but this is actually one of the best places ive ever been, people are so nice that its weird, and you can actually walk from here to the strip and when we were eating at ellis island, there actually was a shuttle bus who picks us up for free, and holiday inn have its own shuttle bus who drives you free from place 2 place.. But please give us more big towels.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiril K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    778
    225
    89
    113
See reviews for
694
675
54
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last year when I made reservations to stay at the Crowne Plaza In Ventura, CA (see previous review for that hotel) I was talked into this three free nights to do a time share thing for the Holiday Inn Club Vacations in either Vegas or Orlando, FL. We picked Vegas, and we finally were able to arrange some time to go last week. There are so many really cool places to stay in Vegas, but this is not one of them. Are expectations may be too high, but this was really middle of the road. Nothing special at all. We've stayed at some Holiday Inn Expresses that were nice and remodeled with a modern look and feel, but this resort is in the middle of a remodel, and the 'new' suits are only for the members, not the guest they are trying to sell a deed to, which seems wrong in many ways. They stuck us at the back of the resort, 3rd floor, overlooking a 4 story parking structure, trash bins, parking lot and the storage units that come unlocked for service around 6am every morning. BEEP BEEP BEEP...no, not the morning alarm, but the hotel staff opening up the storage units to empty them of all kinds of stacks of supplies needed for keeping things moving forward. Loud, obnoxious, noise every morning, 6am. The one bedroom suite was way too small for more than two people so thank goodness we did not bring our kids. One bathroom, and the only access is thru the bedroom. Not cool for more than two people. Decor was dated, bed only okay as far as comfort. Best part was the oversized bath with awesome shower head and water pressure. The grounds were just average...hardly comparable with the other hotels in Vegas or most resorts these days and I don't think they will remodel the pools, which in my opinion, they should. I don't understand doing a tremendous amount of landscaping, which was in full effect when we were there, and then taking hours to clean up the mess of palm tree debris, which is painful is stepped on, and littered the walkways, and then one day was all in the pools and jacuzzis...rendering the water activities useless until cleaned. I don't understand putting potential buyers into the worst rooms in the property, and then hard selling us on a lame situation of 12 resorts in locations we have no interest in going to...before getting lost in the abyss of RCI...and from previous experience almost buying a TS years previous...RCI is a black hole with millions of TS owners attacking the best resorts first, leaving scraps for the less savvy. Regardless, the location of the resort is okay but not great, and they are a long way from making it a more desirable location. I have no interest in returning there so there was no sale for me. The little cafe on the property served a pretty nice breakfast and lunch and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Expect to be in the old rooms if you are not a member of the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in a 1 bdroom "so called" villa. It was terrible the first room had an awful smell like smoke and mold. After finally complaining we were moved to another room. Rooms need to much improvement they are all outdated and honestly for what they charge there are better hotels in Vegas that you can stay at. The staff is ok but need better training to at least know what is going. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear J R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Quite a good set up place, spread out and a number of pools is good for less crowding. the staff at the front a friendly and the restaurant served very good food. close to strip and all the casinos. not a long walk to everything.

Room Tip: doesn't really matter as they are very well set up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyv07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is very nice. We stayed here 3 nights and had to attend a timeshare presentation. I paid $299 for the package, but after you attend the 3 hour long timeshare presentation you get $299 cash back. Be sure to bring a dollar with you so they can give you $300 cash to make things easier. They say that it's only a 2 hour presentation, but it's really 3 hours. If you can't say no, this might not be the best option for you. You can still stay at this property without going to the presentation, but you have to pay full price. But basically 3 nights here cost me only about $16-$17 a day for the taxes and 3 hours of our time. Still a good deal in my opinion.
The property itself is wonderful. Although, when we stayed in the first part of June 2014, 2 of the pools were closed for remodeling. I believe approximately 80% of the units here are totally remodeled. Our unit wasn't, but it was still very nice. The bathrooms have huge soaker tubs in them that are probably big enough for 4-5 people! We celebrated a birthday while here and it was very nice to have so much room to celebrate. There were 7 of us, although only 3 of us stayed here, but there was plenty of room in our unit for our party. The units have fully equipped kitchens, granite countertops, a patio, and your own private washer and dryer. Our unit had a king size bed and a sofa in the living room with a pull out bed. There are 2 TV's-one in the living room and one in the bedroom. There is also a safe in every room. This is nice while staying in Vegas so you don't have to carry all of your cash/jewelry around with you. The grounds are very well maintained and the employees are very friendly. Don't get pressured into buying a timeshare unless you really want to buy one. And if you do decide that you want to buy one, don't buy more than you need. They start off offering like a $40,000 package, but they have smaller packages. So if you do have an interest, just know that you can spend a lot less if you don't need the big package. I about forgot to mention, they also have grills onsite that you can use and of course with a fully equipped kitchen-stove, refrigerator, plates, cups, etc., you can make your own meals here and save some money during your stay if you prefer. They have a small convenience store on the property, but the prices are somewhat high. There are a couple of grocery stores about 4-5 minutes away. They offer a shuttle to the strip and downtown. If you don't mind walking, you can walk to the strip in about 10 minutes or so. The new "high roller" is pretty much straight west of this property and you can easily walk to it as well.
They also have carports to park you car under to keep it out of the hot Vegas sun.
Overall a nice place, but due to the fact that I usually get free rooms for playing at the casinos, I'll probably continue to stay elsewhere. If you do attend the timeshare presentation and you really aren't interested in buying then tell them so. But if not and if they think that they might be able to pressure you into buying, you'll just drag out the presentation. All I can say is that if it was such a great deal then everyone would be buying wouldn't they??? I can tell you they're not.

Room Tip: Before you check in ask if all of the pools are open, and if not then ask to be in a building where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler0000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For a family, it is yes. If you cook then you can save a lot of money than spending from outside. Pool is cool and exercise room is good. The strip is 5 to 15 minutes away, depends on how fast is your family walks.

Room Tip: Better in the first floor locations if you have kids and toddlers so yo will not get tired of going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humba1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The check in system is really annoying as they seriously waste your time trying to con you in to joining a holiday inn resort sales seminar. On arrival at the room, we were straight on to management to get the totally wrecked sofa bed replaced . Not the start you want. Have to say it was fixed quite quickly. Thereafter no real complaints. The "restaurant" near the pool is more like a snack bar. The lady in the shop in the basement was the nicest person we met in the hotel. Overall this is a very tired resort hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort
Address: 3950 Koval Ln, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4702 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Las Vegas - Desert Club Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only one block from the famous Las Vegas Strip, Holiday Inn Club Vacations(R) at Desert Club Resort offers the best of both worlds. Enjoy a quiet oasis with non-stop excitement close by in one of the most exciting entertainment destinations in the world. From world-class performers and live shows to incredible dining and casino action, nothing beats like the heart of Vegas-and you'll be right in the middle of it! The resort features villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. Many amenities have been refurbished or added to enhance your stay experience. This includes a newly expanded poolside restaurant and bar, state-of-the-art clubhouse, large Marketplace store, two fitness centers and family activity center. You'll also enjoy five heated outdoor pools open from 6am until midnight, plus putting green and shuffleboard courts and outdoor grilling stations with shaded seating areas. Guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services around the large property and to stops at some of the largest casinos on the Las Vegas Strip, which is located only one block from the resort. It includes a stop at the Freemont Street Experience, one of the most popular outdoor attractions in downtown Vegas. Experience world-class live entertainment from top performers such as Celine Dionne and Rod Stewart, shows like Cirque Du Solei's Beatles LOVE and O, incredible restaurants from top chefs and incredible night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Club Hotel Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing