We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort
Ranked #37 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pretty good location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

The Desert Club club is in a very nice location near the mayor hotels/strip. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The villas are not well maintained/luxurious as other IHG properties I had visited in the past. Overall, it is a good value for the $ paid.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Guisum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    786
    228
    89
    115
See reviews for
701
686
54
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom villa for 5 nights through the Holiday Inn website. We were in building 6 room 307 near the front of the resort, overlooking the waterfall pool. The grounds were beautiful and well attended. Our unit was clean and in good repair. The kitchen was well equipped, and we cooked most of our meals in the unit.

The first night we noticed that we did not have bedding for the sleeper sofa or pool towels, but housekeeping brought them when contacted. The next morning we noticed that we did not have kitchen linens or dish soap. We again called housekeeping and they brought them. The evening that I did laundry, the dryer was not heating- maintenance came and fixed it. The wifi signal was excellent.

We were not pressured to attend a sales meeting. Housekeeping did come every day, but we usually told they that we did not need anything. We did not have time to use any of the 5 pools, but the front pool looked beautiful.

The walk to the monorail was about 10 minutes- but it was very hot when we were there, so it seemed longer than it was. Overall, a great location. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the resort if you are walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelodyTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

There is no reason to stay at this resort, it's just an average aging property. Look elsewhere. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in building 18 at the back end of the property. It was a 5 min walk to the front and another 10-15 min to the Linq District near the Flamingo and Quad properties. There is a free shuttle that runs every 1-2 hours though we walked every time we headed up to the strip by foot. With free self parking, you can also access all the main casinos by car very easily. Our beds were very uncomfortable, and the sofa bed was the worst, tiny worn out mattress. My son decided to sleep on the couch rather than pull out the sofa bed. The kitchen is a galley style with nice granite but worn out appliances. Our dishwasher racks would barely roll out of the dishwasher. There was barely enough dishes, only 6 plates and bowls, so you will be running the noisy dishwasher often. There is a full size washer and dryer which is handy. One sample pack of detergent is included for more you have to buy it at the small convenience store in the main building. The key item to note about this property is no elevator and we were on floor 3. Checking in and lugging the suitcases up 3 flights of stairs was a nuisance. And the stairs were bothersome by the end of the week. There are 20 buildings grouped in 5 pods, each overlooking a pool. There is an activities center for arts and crafts and bingo daily. The staff looks generally bored. The game room has a pool table, a few video games and a ping pong table. We choose this resort for the 2 bedroom unit, it was not our first choice and we won't be back. There are other timeshare resorts with more up to date rooms, better amenities and better locations. We would prefer to be on the strip since it's just more convenient. And the old worn out bed is a deal breaker for me. If it's not comfortable, I won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask to close to the front of the property and on floor 1 or 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Western_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

First impression is great when you come as a family, as you´re close to the action but in a quiet resort where you don´t even notice that you´re in Vegas. They have large 2-bedroom villas that can accommodate up to 5-6 people. Also, probably because we´re from Europe, they did not even intend to sell us a timeshare. All relaxing.
What really spoiled our 4-nights stay was the fact that they sold this to us as a hotel, at the price of a hotel, but it is not operated as a hotel. Or they are not sure if they want to be a hotel or not. Management promised to improve, but failed constantly.
The point is that the maids only do the beds and a little cleaning in the kitchen, but no cleaning of the floors or the bathrooms at all. So when I complained, front desk explained me that they mostly operate this as a timeshare resort which does cleaning only before check-in... but in our case we were on a hotel plan so our unit was supposed to be cleaned properly every day. Front desk promised to have our unit cleaned the next day, but it never happened. Next day, same story. Next day, same story.
My mother-in-law (who I had invited to this trip) was about to clean the bathroom herself, but luckily she found no utensils. How embarrassing is that? Surely I will never go to that place again.

In case you are looking for a quiet family-friendly oasis right next to the strip in Las Vegas, this might be a good choice if you come prepared. Bring a toilet brush, detergent, vacuum cleaner etc. and you will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jet_Lagged_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

When we were leaving from norway i had no big expectations for this place, i had heard it was a nice place but it was far from everything!- but this is actually one of the best places ive ever been, people are so nice that its weird, and you can actually walk from here to the strip and when we were eating at ellis island, there actually was a shuttle bus who picks us up for free, and holiday inn have its own shuttle bus who drives you free from place 2 place.. But please give us more big towels.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiril K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last year when I made reservations to stay at the Crowne Plaza In Ventura, CA (see previous review for that hotel) I was talked into this three free nights to do a time share thing for the Holiday Inn Club Vacations in either Vegas or Orlando, FL. We picked Vegas, and we finally were able to arrange some time to go last week. There are so many really cool places to stay in Vegas, but this is not one of them. Are expectations may be too high, but this was really middle of the road. Nothing special at all. We've stayed at some Holiday Inn Expresses that were nice and remodeled with a modern look and feel, but this resort is in the middle of a remodel, and the 'new' suits are only for the members, not the guest they are trying to sell a deed to, which seems wrong in many ways. They stuck us at the back of the resort, 3rd floor, overlooking a 4 story parking structure, trash bins, parking lot and the storage units that come unlocked for service around 6am every morning. BEEP BEEP BEEP...no, not the morning alarm, but the hotel staff opening up the storage units to empty them of all kinds of stacks of supplies needed for keeping things moving forward. Loud, obnoxious, noise every morning, 6am. The one bedroom suite was way too small for more than two people so thank goodness we did not bring our kids. One bathroom, and the only access is thru the bedroom. Not cool for more than two people. Decor was dated, bed only okay as far as comfort. Best part was the oversized bath with awesome shower head and water pressure. The grounds were just average...hardly comparable with the other hotels in Vegas or most resorts these days and I don't think they will remodel the pools, which in my opinion, they should. I don't understand doing a tremendous amount of landscaping, which was in full effect when we were there, and then taking hours to clean up the mess of palm tree debris, which is painful is stepped on, and littered the walkways, and then one day was all in the pools and jacuzzis...rendering the water activities useless until cleaned. I don't understand putting potential buyers into the worst rooms in the property, and then hard selling us on a lame situation of 12 resorts in locations we have no interest in going to...before getting lost in the abyss of RCI...and from previous experience almost buying a TS years previous...RCI is a black hole with millions of TS owners attacking the best resorts first, leaving scraps for the less savvy. Regardless, the location of the resort is okay but not great, and they are a long way from making it a more desirable location. I have no interest in returning there so there was no sale for me. The little cafe on the property served a pretty nice breakfast and lunch and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Expect to be in the old rooms if you are not a member of the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aprilbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in a 1 bdroom "so called" villa. It was terrible the first room had an awful smell like smoke and mold. After finally complaining we were moved to another room. Rooms need to much improvement they are all outdated and honestly for what they charge there are better hotels in Vegas that you can stay at. The staff is ok but need better training to at least know what is going. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear J R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,629 reviews
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,159 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort
Address: 3950 Koval Ln, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4702 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Las Vegas - Desert Club Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only one block from the famous Las Vegas Strip, Holiday Inn Club Vacations(R) at Desert Club Resort offers the best of both worlds. Enjoy a quiet oasis with non-stop excitement close by in one of the most exciting entertainment destinations in the world. From world-class performers and live shows to incredible dining and casino action, nothing beats like the heart of Vegas-and you'll be right in the middle of it! The resort features villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. Many amenities have been refurbished or added to enhance your stay experience. This includes a newly expanded poolside restaurant and bar, state-of-the-art clubhouse, large Marketplace store, two fitness centers and family activity center. You'll also enjoy five heated outdoor pools open from 6am until midnight, plus putting green and shuffleboard courts and outdoor grilling stations with shaded seating areas. Guests enjoy complimentary shuttle services around the large property and to stops at some of the largest casinos on the Las Vegas Strip, which is located only one block from the resort. It includes a stop at the Freemont Street Experience, one of the most popular outdoor attractions in downtown Vegas. Experience world-class live entertainment from top performers such as Celine Dionne and Rod Stewart, shows like Cirque Du Solei's Beatles LOVE and O, incredible restaurants from top chefs and incredible night clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Club Hotel Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Desert Club Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing