We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, but no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bally's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bally's
Ranked #74 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Central location, but no frills”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

For this trip to Vegas, we wanted a no-frills hotel and were prepared to stay off the Strip. But when we saw that Bally's --at the heart of the Strip-- was offering rooms for an average nightly rate of $35, we went for it!

Upon arrival, we were offered an upgrade for $20/night, but turned it down and got a room on the 9th floor in the south tower. We had a view of the Paris hotel, which was cool (we stayed there the last time we were here). The front desk staff had warned us about the loud booms from the Bellagio fountains, but they ended around midnight, so they were never an issue for us. I still needed earplugs to sleep, though, because the walls are thin and when other guests let their doors slam shut, you'll hear it (as a bonus, your room will shudder).

Besides the great location, the other thing we really appreciated was that it was pretty painless to get to the Strip from the south tower. In other words, you don't have to walk through a never-ending casino to get there, you just skirt around the edge of it and voila! Once you're outside, a "moving sidewalk" takes you to the Strip and within five minutes you could be at Caesar's, the Bellagio or Planet Hollywood. Of course, if you want to get to the Paris, it's connected to Bally's, so you don't even have to go outside.

Getting back to the rooms, the furniture is circa 1980s and quite sparse. The carpet and bedskirts may be just as old, if the stains are any indication. (Wear slippers or shoes and you'll be fine.) The bedding was clean, but don't expect 600-thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. And the pillows were lumpy and puny, but they didn't really bother us. The mattress was a little springy, but probably OK for most people.

The bathroom was fine, but our tub was so clogged with hair that it didn't drain well. We made a call to maintenance and they cleared it up in no time.

For the money, we can't really complain about anything and we'd stay again, but wouldn't spend more than $50-$60 for a room in the south tower.

Restaurant tip: Bally's Thai restaurant Sea is an oasis in an otherwise underwhelming hotel. It offers delicious food, great service, reasonable prices, and a relaxing ambience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MexiLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,703
    6,261
    3,232
    1,010
    720
See reviews for
2,910
5,661
1,174
1,612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4,068)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Ballys is in a fantastic location right in the middle of the strip . Great room , got a nice view of Bellagio fountains and the strip for nothing , really nice staff . Breakfast vouchers were a bonus as was the free parking , a bit of a walk , but hey its free

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wild-Montana-Sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle and north
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Don't compare this to a 5* hotel, it's only 3.5* on expedia (4* on hotels.com). And the prices are as good or better than most 3* hotels.
The rooms are spacious. The design is luxury. The upkeep is great. Everything is clean. CLEAN.
Yes, we did stay in the North Tower. I don't know what the south tower looks like. But we just had a standard king bed room. We've been staying in lots of 3.5 star hotels this last year in several cities. We've stayed in a couple of 4* and 5* hotels. This is excellent.
And the $2 tacos at the Tequila Bar were great.
We stayed 4 nights. The prices after Jan 1 are incredible.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toriadori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Chose Bally's due to a deal but ended up absolutely loving it, especially the view overlooking the Paris pool and even the Bellagio fountain. Why stay at those madly busy and overpriced hotels? Bally's was warm and inviting. Very casual, very friendly..abso enjoyed it.
Each morning I'd see guests breakfast trays lining the hallways. obviously lots of guests just chose to enjoy their rooms, which were huge by the way. i beleive the property used to be MGM so that explains the size of rooms.
would have offered bubble bath in addition to the shampoo/soaps but thats just me. casino was nicely sized plus they had my fav slot machine...morocco i beleive its called. no annoying bothersome calls from hotel guest services re: how is your stay, or pushing 'their' brands and chains etc, just peace.
Bed was great. i heard someone in the elevator say they couldn't sleep on the old mattresses, but i beleive they were mistaken. mine seemed to be the newest thing in the room..and probably the most important thing in the room too.
loved that i could control the temp on the wall. I cranked mine up, put on my bikini and let the sun in and listened to the bellagio fountain. (my mistake with poolwear and shorts in December but I made do)

Room Tip: beleive my room was in the older part of the hotel, top floor, facing Paris pool. it was a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSpotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed at Ballys for the new year eve. Had to wait for 40 min in the queue to check-in. Though the crowd is expected, it would have been better if they had more people at reception. I booked a king BR. The room was decent and located in south tower. Most of the rooms in south tower got a view of the strip. The bathroom was clean and maintenance staff took good care throughout my stay.
The casino is good but not very exciting. You can walk to Bellagio or planet Hollywood which are very near to the hotel. The only turn off is that if you want to watch TV you need to pay extra as they charge for most of the channels. But I don’t complain as watching TV is the dumbest thing one can do in vegas.
We have option to keep our bags with them after check-out if you got some time before you leave for the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nagarjuna_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Everything about Vegas screams luxury and Bally's was no exception. I personally think its at the best possible location on the strip i.e. at the center. Though there are much grander hotels on the strip, I found Bally's to be equally impressive for the price we paid. We were given a nice discount booklet while checking-in, to be used all over Vegas (It is probably available online too, but hey! small things count!). The casino is decently big and so is the car park. It is internally connected to Paris and there is a monorail link as well as over-bridges to Flamingo, Bellagio and Ceaser's Palace. The receptionist offered us an upgrade to a renovated room for a small amount which we declined. But our standard room itself was so huge, it left us wondering how grand the delux rooms must be! The room was very clean and spacious, but you could make out its age. Nevertheless, great; so don't let the old, unimpressive corridors disappoint you. I totally LOVEd Bally's and would very highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

...and they're not yours! Long story short, we found not one but TWO pairs of dirty underwear in our hotel room - one between the mattress and headboard and the other (visible) by a chair in the room.

Not only was our situation mocked by the hotel cleaning staff, but when we reported the incident to the VIP Manager he let us know that he had seen it all and nothing surprised him. We were also informed that although the standard of cleanliness SHOULD be the same throughout the hotel, we were staying in the "old tower". Translation, if you're not rich enough to stay in the "new tower" you shouldn't expect that your room will be cleaned to a reasonable standard. I should also include that there was hair from a previous guest in the hairdryer and buildup in the shower drain and under the pull bar (the nasty green kind!).

This was the first time we stayed outside an MGM resort and honestly, the resort fee is totally worth paying. The room itself was fine and the view was amazing, but the poor level of service and professionalism really put a damper on our anniversary trip.

Bally's is great ... if you love unexpected souvenirs from previous guests (what happens in Vegas?), being laughed at by the cleaning staff and dismissed by "Managers".

Room Tip: Don't stay in the "old tower" - according to VIP hotel management, those rooms aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The LINQ Hotel & Casino
#78 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,111 reviews
Harrah's Las Vegas
#85 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Cromwell
The Cromwell
#21 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bally's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's

Property: Bally's
Address: 3645 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#34 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#73 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#73 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True classics never go out of style, making Bally's Las Vegas the only choice for classic Vegas at the heart of the Las Vegas strip. And what could be more timeless than Mr. Las Vegas himself, Wayne Newton? In his original production, "Wayne Newton: Up Close and Personal," Newton sings crowd favorites as well as engages with the audience by answering questions, making for a truly extraordinary experience. Before the show, dining options at Bally's Las Vegas include BLT Steak, an interpretation of an American steakhouse with traditional fare and a bistro ambiance. BLT Steak is also the stage for the Sterling Brunch offered every Sunday where diners can enjoy the endless pours of Perrier-Jouët Champagne and unlimited American Sturgeon Caviar - the two pinnacles of the Las Vegas Strip's most famously indulgent brunch. If you're looking for a menu that's a little less traditional, SEA: The Thai Experience at Bally's Las Vegas offers delicious cuisine from southeast Asia. Buca di Beppo serves up classic Italian cuisine family-style, perfect for sharing and passing around the table. At Tequila Taqueria you'll experience the soul of Mexico while enjoying delightfully authentic Mexican dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bally's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Ballys Hotel Las Vegas
Ballys Hotel In Las Vegas Nevada
Bally's Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing