We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience in Bally's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino
Ranked #81 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 January 2009

We just returned from Las Vegas on Dec 31, 08. Our trip was great except having a bad time in Bally's. We were treated impolitely when we did the check-in. The staff's attitude was rude and not professional. We couldn't even see a smile or a pleasant look on her face. After checking in, we asked for a map of Vegas Strip at the Bell Desk, the staff didn't say anything but just tore off a page (map) from a magazine and gave us that "map", he then threw the whole magazine into the garbage bin right away. Do you want to be treated in this way on your very first day of holidays? When we entered to the hotel room, we were surprised that the room was smelly and dusty (we'd been told that it was a non-smoking room and we'd paid at a regular rate for staying for three nights). Moreover, there was an empty envelope with coffee marks left on the bedside table. There were no coffee- maker, no hot/cold water, no fridge in the room. We stayed three nights in the hotel and we found the room service was terrible. They just replenished the soap, shampoo and towels but not changing any bedsheets or cleaning the room for you. Anyways, if you don't want your trip to be spoiled with bad hotel service, please remember to stay away from Bally's. Good Luck!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonvoyage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16,909 - 16,915 of 19,210 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2009

Ballys..a decent comfortable hotel..accomodating when travelling with others(will do their best to put you, at least on the same floor).
Casino...smelled strongly of cig smoke(as most casino's do down there!)(we're all non-smokers)
Shops..not many but a huge outlet mall close by(my husband and I didn't go but our friends did)Planet hollywood has lots of shops as well..actually all the hotels have some shopping experiences better than Ballys.
Restaurants...only ate once for breakfast at ballys( a little pricey)..rest of time went to Denny's about a 10 min. walk from Ballys.
Ballys is connected to Paris through a cobblestoned walk way that are quite slippery when wearing high heals! Very pretty though..gives you a feel of walking through "old Paris" with little shops and cafes.
Getting around: bring comfortable shoes..so much walking!!!!!
The mono rail is expensive($5. from Ballys to Statoshere area one way) Where you can take the "Duece" double decker with stops all along the strip for $2. good for 24 hours!
Things we did: Grand canyon /Hoover Damm tour...awesome, breath taking scenery!! A must see!
Explored nearly all the big name Casino's...4 days is not long enough..each casino has a different theme with so much to see..my fave was Caesars Palace.
My husband and one of our friends went on the crazy rides up top of the Stratosphere..which dangles you over the edge of the tower...I stayed on the viewing platform taking fantastic view shots of Las Vegas at night..
Another great View is top of the Eiffle tower..go up at dusk and watch as the sun sets and all the Hotel lights come on..stay a little longer and watch the Ballagio Fountains do their thing!
Only went to one show..at the stratosphere...live impersonations of Michael jackson, Elvis, Rod Stewart..quite good..with a photo op and autograph signing at the end..Michael was the best!
Las Vegas...been there done that...another pin on my travel map..would we go back? ..maybe...

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

A $0.02 Tuesday promotion drew me to the Bally's web site. I paid $200 USD for 4 nights from Mon-Fri. Paired with a $252 flight from priceline my trip was $100 cheaper from any package I found. My reservation was in the South tower. I used thetwentydollartrick.com and was upgraded to the North tower. My room was outstanding - springy king size bed, plush loveseat and glass coffee table, desk and table, plus a large bathroom with a towel rack and shelf for shower products plus a shelving unit for towels under the sink. I had a nice view south of the top of Mandalay Bay and a mountain range.

I did notice a few flaws in the room: peeling wallpaper along the bottom of the window; partially plugged shower head; chips out of the toilet seat; chipped paint on the bathroom shelves. Also, dirty exterior windows which is a common complaint and to be expected when you can see the airport from your hotel.

Bally's is in a prime location in the centre of the strip. It was ideal for my first trip as it allowed me to explore the south strip on foot and the north strip and downtown by monorail/bus.

I walked south to Excalibur several times (only Luxor and Mandalay Bay are further south). Going north is a longer trip and Bally's has a monorail station, plus the Deuce (bus) has a stop right in front of Bally's on Las Vegas Blvd..

The casino was busy at all times of the day. It is one of the smaller ones I saw which makes the hotel easy to navigate. There are restaurants, shops and the sportsbook along the walkway to the monorail.

I was far away from the elevators and the hotel was quiet except for one family with several kids who I heard come in around 9pm every night.

I would recommend Bally's to anyone traveling to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank virgonomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2008

This was my first time at Bally's and it definitely won't be my last. The hotel is in a great location and is walking distance to many of the good casinos on the strip. I showed up early, because my flight arrived earlier than intended, and they let me check in (around 2pm). For a very cheap price I was upgraded to a premium/junior suite. The room was very clean and I had an awesome view of the strip. Internet was 13 bucks a day but I believe most strip hotels charge for internet anyways. I never had to wait more than 15 seconds for an elevator.

What I really liked was the connection to Paris hotel and casino. There were lots of little shops in between and then the other casino was right in front of you. There is also a little mall below ground that has shops and eventually takes you to the monorail stop.

If you stay at Bally's, try to check in early and not in the evening. I noticed around 5-6pm the line got really long.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MM983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We had a great time...stayed in north tower and everything was perfect.....good location walking distance to everything ...had loose slots to....dont forget to go to the basement...had no idea there was a shopping mall there till our next to last day...also did the Price is right show and had alot of fun.....

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladidolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

After staying at the MGM signature earlier in the year, for this fortnight we decided to try mid strip. bally's seemed a no risk venture. Prices aren't as high as paris, Planet Hollywood or Ceasars and the Bellagio.

me and my wife wern't dissapointed.

Room was in the South tower, no view and you cant open windows, but hey..if you want a view..walk outside.

Room was very clean with housekeeping coming generally before lunch everyday. We stayed in a Deluxe room, It hasnt got all the gizmo's and doodads of some hotels, but you aen't paying for them.

No coffee making facilities..so bring a plug in kettle, no refridgerator either although i beleive you can request one for a charge, and the the safe if used is payed for at checkout.

Those were my only gripes, But the ice machine is free down the halls so we generally had a bottle or two in the ice bucket. and a coffee was only an elevator lift away.

I liked it and although i liked the signature better and would love to stay in the bellagio , paris or ceasars..bally's wont dissapoint you, and leave you that much more money to shop with drink with or gamble..and slap bang mid strip.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Draconisnobilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

As former Stardust guest, my husband and I decided our "new home" would be Bally's. Once we find a place that we feel is comfortable we stick to it and Bally's has what we need. Calm, cool and collective. We usually go twice a year for 5 to 10 days,(booking through SWA) and enjoy the 2 for 1 casino action and feel safe walking back and forth from Bally's to Paris. The pool is a wonderful haven with a true deep end where we both feel very comfortable with our 40something year old bodies! Being right in the middle of the Strip is an added bonus and Monrail access is wonderful. Complain if you must about room decore and the the such, but let's be honest, if you wanted the Wynn,then book a room there! The rooms are big,bathrooms the same and you have what you need. So go and have some fun at one of the last Vegas classic hotel and casino.

Stayed: August 2008
8  Thank stormynormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Harrah's Las Vegas
#91 of 265 in Las Vegas
20,303 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Address: 3645 Las Vegas Blvd S, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#38 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#73 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £62 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True classics never go out of style, making Bally's Las Vegas the only choice for classic Vegas at the heart of the Las Vegas strip. And what could be more timeless than Mr. Las Vegas himself, Wayne Newton? In his original production, "Wayne Newton: Up Close and Personal," Newton sings crowd favorites as well as engages with the audience by answering questions, making for a truly extraordinary experience. Before the show, dining options at Bally's Las Vegas include BLT Steak, an interpretation of an American steakhouse with traditional fare and a bistro ambiance. BLT Steak is also the stage for the Sterling Brunch offered every Sunday where diners can enjoy the endless pours of Perrier-Jouët Champagne and unlimited American Sturgeon Caviar - the two pinnacles of the Las Vegas Strip's most famously indulgent brunch. If you're looking for a menu that's a little less traditional, SEA: The Thai Experience at Bally's Las Vegas offers delicious cuisine from southeast Asia. Buca di Beppo serves up classic Italian cuisine family-style, perfect for sharing and passing around the table. At Tequila Taqueria you'll experience the soul of Mexico while enjoying delightfully authentic Mexican dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bally`s Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Ballys Hotel Las Vegas
Ballys Hotel In Las Vegas Nevada
Bally's Hotel Las Vegas
Bally's Las Vegas Hotel & Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing