We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, But Could of Been Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tropicana
Ranked #27 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The whole experience at this hotel was good, from food to room to fitness center. However, the only downfall was the air condition, and because it was up 110 degrees during my stay, it became unpleasant at times. Nevertheless it was good overall.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Rudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Tropicana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,633 - 1,639 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel during our visit to Las Vegas. Travelling from the east coast of Canada, it was essential for us to have a facility that was safe and located very close to the strip. Our overalll impression of this facility is consistent with a majority of the reviewers (i.e., excellent) with a rating of 10/10. The property is very well located close to the freeway and has all the amenities. The staff was very pleasant and always eager to help. The room was very clean and well prepared for our arrival. The complimentary breakfast was the best highlight for a great way to start the day with excellent choices of hot and cold items and always well stocked. The location of the facility provides very easy access to the strip even late at night. We did not use the complimentary shuttle service but it is certainly a great value addition to choosing this hotel. Overall, my family and I were very impressed with the Hampton Inn at Tropicana and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank zuckers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My family flew in and out of LV for our two week vacation of the southwest. We stayed at this hotel the day we flew into town and really enjoyed it. In fact, my husband suggested that we cancel our reservation for a strip hotel our last night before flying home and just stay at the Hampton Inn again. I should have listened to him because we attempted to check into a hotel on the strip our last night and after waiting 1/2 hour and probably had to wait another 1/2 hour just to check in, we bailed and headed right back to the Hampton Inn.

WHAT I LOVED ABOUT IT: The location is ideal. It's located about two blocks from the southern part of the Strip. They have a shuttle to take your the strip or you can walk if you choose. Being away from the strip, you don't have the craziness that you find on the strip.

Check in and out was a breeze! The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Nice lobby with comfortable chairs and tables. There's a small and tasteful bar should you want a drink. The colors are used in the décor are rich and very nice.

Nice pool and pool area! Though the pool is on the smaller side, it met our needs. There are beautiful lounge chairs around the pool area and covered patio along with tables. Many folks took advantage of the comfort to simply relax. It was in the shade when we used it - late afternoon, but there is a covered patio that would certainly offer shade during the hot hours of the day. The pool also has a waterfall that they turn on during the mornings. There is also a side door that takes you to the elevator from the pool, thus avoiding the lobby if you choose.

The rooms are nice sized and were certainly quiet when we were there. Others mentioned the airconditioner, but we didn't have an issue with ours. Slept without a problem.

Parking is right outside and there are side entrances which make it easy to get to your room quickly.

Free breakfast is always nice and theirs had a nice selection.

We liked the folks who stayed here. Like us, they weren't looking for a loud experience, but a hotel which offers quality service in a more relaxed and quiet environment.

DIDN'T LIKE: The fact that they turned off the waterfall by the pool so early in the day. I can understand turning it off in the evening to make it quieter, but before 5pm?

For those who want to experience LV without the headaches of the big strip hotels, stay here. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and facing the Strip. You can get a nice view!
Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank GwenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The location is good; breakfast is also good. There were many guests in there. There was one staff person at the reception; and rarely any staff person to be seen in the breakfast area. We only stayed for one night, and would recommend this place, if you like to be close to the strip, have a free breakfast/internet and not go to a Casino type location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Reza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I am a frequent traveler and almost always stay at Hampton Inn for one reason. Consistency.
I was highly disappointed with my experience here, thank God I only had to stay one night.
Usually the king suites have mini fridges-Not Here.
The bathroom has some weird stuff on the wall...I can't believe it hadn't been cleaned up.
The air conditioning unit was so obnoxiously loud and it didn't even put out cool air. It's VEGAS people! 100 degrees! I mean, why doesn't this place have central air anyway?
So I had to decide, no sleep due to the noise, or no sleep due to hot....I chose hot.
The walls are so paper thin I had to listen to an entire phone conversation in the room next door at 5am.
Something toxic was in this room. Not sure where it was coming from but I could barely open my eyes without them stinging constantly.
Very frustrating.
Luckily, the front desk was VERY nice and held up their end of the bargain for satisfaction guarantees room or its free. It was nice to have that service. The customer service is the only good memory I will have from this trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lpaige23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Eldar, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your visit. We take our guest's comments very seriously and you are indeed correct regarding the intensive heat this summer. We are in the process of replacing all of the air conditioners at the hotel. Our king suites have full size refrigerators and we do have small refrigerators available, upon request. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations but are glad that our front desk was nice and took care of your stay for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed here for two days. Good points: nice pool for a Hampton Inn. Breakfast with many selections. Parking garage is just steps away from the hotel. Friendly staff. Off the Strip. Not so good: AC is LOUD. Because of the price, this hotel is just makes a 4.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank kevin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel has a nice location that's easy to get to and just off the strip (but you'll have to drive to the strip as the road there is highway-like!).

The room was large and clean. Certainly a good value for the money.

The pool was very cold but the pool area seemed to be in the shade most of the day so it was a perfect spot for lounging on the very comfy pool chairs and reading or taking a nap. There was also a hot tub although I didn't try it out.

There were a few hiccups while we stayed for two days though. The air conditioner in our room would make this pulsating noise every 10 minutes or so for about 10 minutes at a time, which left me with a headache after the first night. I called the next day but the front desk phone rang 40ish times and when someone did finally pick up, they didn't say anything and simply placed the hold music on. After 10 minutes or so of that, I hung up and dealt with the pulsating for the second night.

We also had a problem with the keycard not wanting to open our room door half the time, resulting in my having to go down to the reception desk to get them re-keyed. This happened to someone else in our party who was staying there as well so it wasn't us and none of us were putting the keys by any cell phones.

The pool was also without towels when I arrived in the afternoon and they were not replenished for over an hour. Luckily I had brought down my bath towel.

Lastly, while I appreciated the free breakfast (egg, sausage, muffins, toast, bagels, fruit...no bacon....lol), the room that they put all the food in was way too small to accomodate all of the hotel guests comfortably and it was difficult to walk around, let alone not spill your plate of food. However, there was plenty of seating for breakfast.

Oh - and parking was easy, shady, and free. Can't beat that :)

Overall, I'd consider staying here again if it was considerably cheaper than somewhere on the strip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotti-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Eldar, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tropicana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate our guest's comments and take them seriously. We have addressed the issues of air conditioning, front desk phone calls, keycards and pool towels with the respected departments. It is only from guest as yourself that we are able to address and correct these items. We hope that you will consider our hotel in the future. We are replacing the air conditioners, adding more staff and realized that there was an issue with the key card machine. We are also purchasing more pool towels. Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Staybridge Suites Las Vegas
#26 of 263 in Las Vegas
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tropicana

Address: 4975 Dean Martin Dr, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#28 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#55 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £86 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tropicana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Entertainment Capital of the world! The heart of the Las Vegas Strip is just 1/4 mile from our fabulous Las Vegas hotel! Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel near I-15 is the premier choice for business, group, leisure and international travelers seeking value for their Las Vegas hotel accommodations. This Hilton Family of Brands Hotel is family-friendly hotel and is conveniently located a quarter mile (walking distance) from the excitement of the Las Vegas Strip, and just minutes away from McCarran International Airport. Forget about paying those expensive cab fares, our hotel provides Complimentary Shuttle Service to the airport and the Strip. Call when you arrive and we will come and pick you up. The shuttle runs on the hour from 5:00am to 2:00am. Guests can enjoy all that Las Vegas has to offer right from our hotel including the endless shopping, sports, gaming and live shows – you’ll find something for everyone. Great dining is also a short walk from our Las Vegas hotel. Our classy Las Vegas hotel features 322 deluxe guest rooms, including 136 doubles and 6 spacious suites, and almost 10,000 sq feet of meeting space giving guests the space they need to host a successful Las Vegas Meeting. A complimentary business center, newly renovated fitness center and beautiful pool compliment your experience at this Las Vegas hotel. Guests from all around the world appreciate our prime Las Vegas location, friendly accommodations and rewarding amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Tropicana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas
Hampton Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Tropicana Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing