We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location if you don't want to be downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect location if you don't want to be downtown”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed at the JW Marriot Sept 2-9 to get married out in Red Rock Canyon. Even though we did not use thier Wedding coordinator and ended up handling it all ourselves, the hotel staff was AMAZING! I am a Platinum Rewards member and have every spread of experience at Marriotts. This place, although a tad older, was STUNNING. We were upgraded automtically, without even asking, to a 2 room suite with a HUGE patio overlooking a waterfall. The concierge was extremely helpful and room service was always timely and well done. Before the wedding we were given all access to the resorts waterfalls, landscaping, etc to take some breathtaking photos.
As previously noted by other travellers, the rooms ARE HUGE by Vegas standards. The location is PERFECT for wanting to experience Vegas a day, maybe two, but still enjoy the restful portions of being on vacation. The location is great for families that don't want to subject their kids to the "glitter" of downtown, although might be a bit stuffy for younger crowd looking to be in the thick of things.
The pool was great, waitstaff and towel attendants were polite and helpful. The drinks and food at the pool was a bit over-priced.
The casino was not all that, but we arent big gamblers.
The highlight of our trip was after our wedding, (mind you, NOT arranged by Marriott) we were told we had reservations at Spiedini Ristorante for our entire party, if we wanted to dine there. There were 8 of us total and we did not return from REd Rock until almost 8pm, but they made it work for us. They set us up at a private outdoor table overlooking a pool and waterfalls. The manager and wait staff were OUT OF THIS WORLD, comped several aspects of the meal and a bottle of champagne. The food WAS 5 STAR and I am very picky when it comes to italian food.
Overall, a terrifc experience at an outstanding location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandAFailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    566
    245
    93
    42
See reviews for
438
551
66
501
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We reserved the standard room at a good rate, and we were very happy with our stay. The hotel accomodated our requests, and we LOVED the pool area. Tons of chairs, a great waterfall, and lots of sun and shady spots. It's pretty far from the strip (20-25 minute cab ride) but we were OK with that. I would recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or for families. It's not "spring break" wild, but more mature and pretty.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have stayed at JW Marriott LV twice in the past (3) years.

The first trip was during March Madness 2007 with a group of friends from NC. We were there to watch NCAA B-Ball and play golf. The second trip was this past December fro quick work trip.

The hotel rooms are very nice and are on the large size; have stayed at JW in Orlando & DC; neither of those hotels had standard rooms like LV. The resort has a good gym and spa; in fact the spa is one of the nicer ones I’ve seen. The grounds are very nice and kept immaculate.

There is one factor about the hotel which can be a positive and/or negative depending on your opinion of Casinos. The Hotel leases out casino space and there is a small to midsize casino in the center of the property (you don’t have to go thru it but it is close to shopping; restaurants; spa and it is in the walkway between 2 tours. The con is that there is a casino with the noises (bells & whistles); the pro is that restaurants and drinks are much more affordable than most JW Marriott’s.

The only regret is that I haven’t been able to get my wife out to JW LV; but maybe sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnytraveler1
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I have stayed at this hotel before, only because my client has a corporate account here. I have never thought is lived up to the Marriott name, but my last trip was my last stay in this over priced motor inn. It started at check in, where my reservation was not shown as prepaid and then continued with them attempting to charging me a rate that was almost double our corporate rate. The front desk staff was snooty and apparently thought they were working at the Ritz. In the middle of my four day stay, I was locked out of my room and told I had checked out that afternoon. It was an embarrassing situation that was played out in front of a lobby full of guests. In addition, there restaurants are mediocre at best and their casino looks like something you would find in a downscale local neighborhood. I will never stay in this hotel again and am doing everything in my power to ensure my company closes their account here and moves to a hotel that appreciates customers. Do not waste your money or time here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funnytraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Off the strip yet, you can see it from the balcony. Luxurious rooms, spa bath, serene setting and landscape. Tthe perfect place for a honeymoon!

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HelenS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Stayed here for four nights as part of a conference. A real mixed bag but ultimately turned off by excessive charges that are a result of hotel shortcomings. Here's the quick rundown.

Pros
- HUGE rooms by Vegas standards. Some of the furniture could use a touch-up but the bed and pillows were top notch and the rain-style shower head was a plus.
- Quiet. Almost felt like I was staying in a private apartment building. Very low-key and subtle.

Cons
- Insanely geriatric, retiree locals who come for the casino and cheap food give the place a creepy vibe. Nothing like having to see motorized wheelchairs, chain smokers, and oxygen tanks in a hotel.
- Casino is on the small side and has limited variety.
- Location is at least 20 minutes from the strip.
- Wireless dead zone. Almost everyone in our group complained about the poor mobile reception both in the rooms and common areas.
- Daily charges for internet

The last two Cons really stuck me and had me angry at departure. It is pretty insane to charge anyone for internet access anymore and to charge obscene rates for phone usage. If LaQuinta can offer Internet for free, a property advertising itself as high-end can certainly do it too. Because of the poor mobile reception I was forced to use the landline and was charged an INSANE $200+ for four phone calls that averaged 10 minutes each. That's not a typo -- $200+. Unacceptable. The front desk said there was nothing they could do about the charges or my complaint about being forced to use their landlines. In a rush to get to the airport, I couldn't argue the point further but will certainly take it up with the property via email once I return home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
906 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

I have stayed at JW Marriotts all over the world-Lima, Rio, Hong Kong, Singapore to name a few and this one doesn't EVEN come close. You could choke to death in the casino because of all the smoke. I walked in, looked around and was out in ten minutes or less and absolutely wreaked of cigarette smoke-to the point that I went to the room and immediately took a shower.

As far as the rooms are concerned, they are dull and unexciting. They upgraded me to a suite and it was the ugliest thing I've ever seen. The furniture was scratched, the carpeting was stained and one of the lamps didn't even work! This is definitely the dog of JW Marriotts. Book it only if you can get a good price!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#56 of 263 in Las Vegas
950 reviews
Las Vegas Marriott
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,163 reviews
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#67 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa
Address: 221 N Rampart Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89145-5722 (Formerly JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf)
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Summerlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#18 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#21 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#33 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa, with its discreet elegance, to set a new standard for luxury in Las Vegas. Only 20 minutes from the Las Vegas Strip, situated on 50 acres of lush garden landscape, this resort offers an impressive range of premium amenities and outstanding service. Relax in spacious guest rooms, which were just renovated, before indulging in one of 10 restaurants. Take a refreshing swim in the expansive outdoor pool with cascading waterfalls, pamper at Spa Aquae, or enjoy the excitement of Rampart Casino. In addition, our prime hotel location places you steps TPC Las Vegas, Red Rock Canyon and downtown Summerlin with great shopping and dining. Visit the JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa for a unique Las Vegas experience. The swimming pool is closed seasonally from October 29, 2017 - March 2, 2018. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa & Golf Hotel Las Vegas
Jw Marriott Las Vegas Resort, Spa And Golf
Las Vegas Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing