We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to go on a HOT day”
Review of Mount Charleston

Mount Charleston
Book In Advance
More Info
US$247.99*
and up
Las Vegas Tandem Skydiving
Ranked #20 of 456 things to do in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A quiet retreat from the high energy of Las Vegas, this mountain stands at 11,918 feet and offers numerous outdoor activities such as horseback riding, camping and hiking.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect place to go on a HOT day”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We used to have church service up here and when it's 115 in the valley, there's nothing like heading up to Mt. Charleston from some cooler air and great scenery. Yes, it's about an hr drive to the top from Vegas but definitely worth it. Seeing all the trees and wildlife really brings you back to nature in a place you wouldn't really expect too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank danieltrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    288
    56
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fletcher Canyon Trail”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A trail easy to walk. It brings you into a narrow canyon. Very pretty. Only two places would need you to climb on rocks. The end of the canyon bring you more upsteam into the mountain.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthMan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“11,000 feet This Close to Vegas?”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We took a ride up to Mount Charleston, which is probably 45 minutes or so from Las Vegas. It's true what they say....it felt a good 30 degrees cooler than it was in town. It was a beautiful ride, and gorgeous scenery. We didn't hike because we didn't have the proper footwear, but there are numerous trails available.

We rode through several canyons, enjoying the cool weather and the wonderful scenery. We also rode over to the ski mountain, something I never expected to see in Las Vegas!

I'd recommend this side trip to get away from the awful traffic in town, and just to have a relaxing day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank JRS358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gorgeous views”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A fairly short drive from downtown Vegas. Beautiful scenery, very romantic.

There is a resort up there too, which is fabulous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlsbad ca
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“WOW !! less then an hour from downtown vegas”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

and a world away. the temperature went from 105 in downtown. to about 75 on the mountain. big trees. clean air. hiking paths. skiing ?? :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ndepndant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing