We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional on every level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #1 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exceptional on every level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I doubt I have ever experience such brilliant service than that received at the MO. It's the service that stands out, from the valet attendent to the room service the MO has to have one of the most rigorous recruitment and training programs around. It wasn't just the service that impresses. The room, a Strip View Suite was superb. Totally modern, clean, and still new it has absolutely everything you could ever want and the in-room technology is great.

The pool area was also very nice, they have private cabanas available with Tv/PS3 etc. we ate one morning in the bistro for breakfast and the food was very good, unfortunately we did not get to experience Twist.

Room Tip: Strip view is great to see the lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiggyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,737
    642
    189
    56
    45
See reviews for
770
2,926
272
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We just stayed a few days in a city view suite at the Mandarin. The hotel has the best location on the strip (great views from the 23rd floor bar and lobby), close to everything but yet is quiet and peaceful.
Hotel has 2 pools and a nice lunch terrace; pools area wasn't very busy during our stay which was great. We initially hesitated between 2 suites : one which was bigger with a city view and another which was smaller but with a strip view. We visited both and found that the bigger one was much nicer, view was still very nice and was much more spacious. We had breakfast and dinner at MOzen which was great, specially for dinner (menu with big variety). Service was great from beginning to end (assisted us with efficiency for restaurants, shows, and car reservations).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine_1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I will concur with the majority of the past reviews of the Mandarin Oriental in Las Vegas. The hotel is stunning, the location amazing, and the rooms are some of the best in Vegas. The mixed portion of this review stems from two different incidents during our recent stay.
The first was when a dog...yes a dog...woke my wife and I up in the middle of the night. Apparently the guest next door decided to take a stroll sometime in the middle of the night without his pooch, who then began to bark and whine. I understand that some hotels might allow pet, but this is the Mandarin Oriental, not a kennel.
Secondly, I must concur with the reviewer from Bangkok (NickBkk) who complained about the housekeeping. The first night, our room was not serviced until 5:45pm. When I inquired about the timeliness of housekeeping, I was told that all rooms are to be serviced by 4pm each day, so ours must have been an oversight. Unfortunately, our housekeeping experience was similar to NickBkk, in that only the lotion was replaced in the bathroom, and no notepads were replaced.
My wife also experienced some difficulties with her order at breakfast, but we were given credit for the improper order. Also agree that the 6-8am complimentary coffee with the 'resort fee' is a bit silly. Recommend the hotel offer coffee throughout the day for those paying the fee...it's just a cup of coffee, but the gesture would go a long way.

All in all, it was a decent stay, but I think there are some areas that need polishing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tonsomiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandarin O, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for valuable feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the deficiencies in service during your recent stay. We can offer no excuses for your disappointing experience, and I hope that you will reach out to my office to further discuss your recent experience. I may be contacted at molas-gm@mohg.com

Once again thank you for taking the time to provided us with your feedback. As we can only continue to improve with the help and guidance of our valued guests.

Sincerely,



Susanne Hatje
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed here once in late March and then again in early April of this year, making it my third visit to this hotel in total.

In late March I booked a City Corner Suite for three nights and was upgraded to a Strip Suite upon arrival - which was simply awesome with an amazing view, loads of space, quiet, comfortable and the best bed I've ever used in Vegas. Blackout electric drapes you can program to open at certain times, great tub, fab shower ... Couldn't ask for more.

When I came back in April I had only booked the standard room and quite honestly this was a mistake. I had a room on the 9th floor overlooking the pool and it wasn't a patch on the previous two rooms here, although it was for one night only. However I did get a 4pm checkout which is very useful!

Don't listen to those who say that City Center is too far away from everything. It's my choice of location whenever I am in town these days; ten minutes walk south gets you to MGM, NYNY etc. Five minutes to Aria and some great restaurants, 10 minutes to Bellagio and some great bars like Lily's.

I will stay at MO Vegas every time I visit for the foreseeable future.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank youaremessedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas is located inside the CityCenter complex in the heart of the Las Vegas strip. The CityCenter contains a very high-end shopping center, several hotels, and is very easily walkable to the Bellagio, Paris, and Caesar's Palace. There is definitely something for everyone within a short walk. The Mandarin itself is a non-gaming hotel ... there's no casino within the hotel, but if you are so inclined, you can walk to the Aria hotel next door for a very nice gambling experience.

The Mandarin design is best described as Asian sleek-modern. The primary surfaces are all dark granite with very low ambient lighting ... making the public spaces generally very dark. Unfortunately, the whole hotel has a bit of a museum / mausoleum feel to it, compelling guests and staff to speak in very hushed tones. The hotel is very nicely done, but it is not what I would call comfortable or welcoming. Ultimately, it is down to a matter of taste. The Mandarin is 5-Star luxury through and through, with a very specific aesthetic that will appeal to some, but not to others.

The service is also very consistent with the luxury expectations of the Mandarin Oriental chain. Every request is handled promptly and completely, and it's conisistent across the board. But just like the physical aesthetic, the staff too were sterile ... did everything to perfection, but not necessarily in a friendly way, nor did I ever feel like expectations were exceeded with surprise touches. Don't get me wrong, it's still great service. But when a hotel is competing at this range, the Mandarin can perform better. I had the opportunity to stay at the Four Seasons LV during this trip as well, and they consistenly managed to exceed service expectations.

The hotel has two lap pools, two jacuzzi's and a round kids pool, all on the 8th floor. Thankfully, it's not overrun with loud drunk people like at some big pool-party hotels, so it's a great place to relax, enjoy the sun and maybe have a quiet umbrella drink. When I was there, it was quite windy, so the pool was cold. I'm assuming that it's heated, but it definitely wasn't warm enough to swim.

My strip view room was very nice with furnishings consistent with the overall aesthetic. When I first walked into the room, the lights turned on, the curtains opened electronically, and Asian themed mood music turned on. Very Dramatic! The room layout is fairly standard with the exception of a large hallway that's hidden away that serves as a dressing area and houses floor to ceiling closets. The room has a ton of storage.

The room is contolled entirely by electronics -- either using the TV and remote or from a bedside touch screen. This includes lighting, air conditioning, the curtains, the TV and radio ... everything. Turning on lights should not require thinking. It's reminiscent of modern luxury cars with LCD screens replacing old-fashined switches. Cool to a point, but ends up impeding basic tasks.

Then there's the bathroom. Standard features such as separate tub and shower stall, double sinks, and a separate toilet / water closet. The bathtub is the highlight of the entire room. Very deep, with very very hot water, and it fills and drains very quickly. It is in my opinion the best bathtub I've seen in the U.S. The ultimate luxury in the middle of a desert. On the downside, all of the bathroom walls are made of translucent glass ... even the door to the water closet. So in reality, you can see into the toilet from the living area. There simply is no privacy, so you better be very comfortable with the person with whom you are sharing your room.

While we are on the topic of hard to use ... a few other annoyances.
- You need to ride two elevators to get to your room. One to the lobby and a second to go to your room floor.
- The card key is not the standard one you insert, but rather the "touch card" access keys like those on new office buildings. What makes it hard is that it is a bit slow to respond, and you have to look for a tiny green light to see if it read correctly. Annoying.

Finally, the Mandarin Oriental Las Vegas was the #1 family hotel on TripAdvisor when I was researching hotels. I would not categorize the MO as a family / kids hotel. There's no casino and the staff are all very accomodating to children, so on the surface, a great choice with kids. But the hotel isn't designed or operated with kids in mind. From the museum atmosphere, to the fact that there are no changing tables in any public bathroom, it's not a great choice for younger kids. But before you leap to the conclusion that Vegas hotels aren't for kids, see my review of the Four Seasons Las Vegas from this same trip.

In summary, the MOLV is a true luxury hotel that lives up to expectations. You will not be disappointed if you are fortunate enough to stay here. But be aware that the design and the usability is not for everyone. For me, I would consider the MO again just for it's mid-strip location and it's precise service, and live with its shortcomings.

Room Tip: The strip view rooms facing Las Vegas Boulevard north is partially blocked by the Cosmopolitan hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoodleRank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
322 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The issue at hand is who you are relative to the unique demographic that frequents Las Vegas.Specifically,how you view hotels here will depend on your expectations from experience elsewhere and you view of the city. We travel for business and leisure globally and extensively,our "default" hotel choices are Four Seasons and Mandarin.When considering hotels in Las Vegas,if you think of LV as an exciting,fun,sophisticated place to visit you can stay at any of the hotels/casinos on the strip.If you see LV as a tacky,somewhat vulgar "adult amusement park" that exploits a largely ignorant and therefore impressionable group of visitors then the ONLY place for you is the Mandarin.While it may not be as good as some MOs ,it is much closer to them than the Four Seasons is to other FSs.Prices are higher than elsewhere but given it's "oasis"qualities as well as amenities ,well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a premier room if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetiesPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This Gem is private, serene, calming, something rarely found in Las Vegas. It's exclusively feeling is a welcome from the crowds found here. The calmness found here makes you want to stay tucked away and not leave. If coming to Vegas, stay here, you will leave relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,349 reviews
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23,214 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,476 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only eight triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Destinology, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing