We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed in this property room is very average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Ranked #1 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed in this property room is very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I booked this hotel through Expedia as it was very highly rated and am extremely disappointed, I have stayed at Venetian, bellagio, Wynn and trump and this would rate below all of the others, the lobby is unimpressive. Only p,us reception staff are very friendly and helpfull would not stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on strip are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icamillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,683
    635
    185
    55
    45
See reviews for
762
2,894
268
814
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This was my first stay at a Mandarin Oriental property and found the experience lacking on several factors. Overall, Las Vegas has nice property, but clumsy service everywhere. Perhaps experience with The Peninsula hotels has jaded me.

At check-in, I was the only one in line, but all four desk staff were on the phone and none acknowledged my presence. Finally, and after several minutes, someone rushed over to check me into my room.

My reservation was recorded wrong… but I clearly showed the reservation confirmation from American Express to the confused desk clerk. She promised that she would have someone sort it out ASAP and call me in my room with the resolution. No one ever called.

Before issuing my keys, she made sure to tell me about the ‘exciting’ amenities included in the mandatory resort fee. The fee includes use of the pool (it’s a 5-star hotel, I would surely hope so), coffee, local calls, and internet. This finale of the check-in experience simply served to cheapen the entire experience.

Room was somewhat small, but very nicely presented. Walk in closet is terrific. Technology was great. Bathroom was pretty impressive, though soaps/shampoos/conditioner were from some aromatherapy brand I had never heard of. Mandarin Oriental – use that as an opportunity to impress.

I went down to the pool and asked about the café menu. I was told they stopped serving at 7:30, so I had some time to decide. At 6:45, I went to place my order only to be told the kitchen had been closed for two hours. Bad information and lackluster service again. So, I ordered a $7 beer. It was warm. The cabana across from me was filled with extra/broken garden furniture and fixtures. This is not befitting of a 5-star guest experience. Hide it! Anywhere!

This is a property that could really define a niche for business travelers in Vegas, something the Four Seasons sought to do and did not succeed at. But, with Sheraton-quality staffing and some cheap details, the overall execution is lacking.

Based on this experience, I’ll stay at the Park Hyatt’s and Peninsulas of the world when they’re available. They ‘blow me away’ with their service every time. As for Las Vegas, it seems Wynn’s Encore is set to reclaim my business in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Concorde_Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you must come to Las Vegas and you want a hotel away from the noise and the glitz, the MO is the place to stay. It is well located in the middle of the Strip with an easy walk to all the major casinos and shopping. We had a lovely CityScape room on the 22nd floor that was spacious, comfortable, and quiet. We can't say enough about the staff. From those downstairs who handled the luggage and transportation to the front desk who helped with dinner reservations and our five hour drive to the Grand Canyon. We probably will not be back to LV, but if there is ever an opportunity to stay at another MO, we will.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
135 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Top notch hotel in every respect:
(1) quick and efficient check-in at impressive 23d floor's reception area - forget about queues
(2) well thought through and immaculate room - from technology kit to bedding, bathroom, remote control to operate TV to curtains
(3) great pool area - two lap pools 15-17 m length, on 8th floor and protected from outside, very relaxing
(4) great friendly and attentive staff - tipping them is a pleasure itself
(5) non-smoking in all areas
(6) no casino, one-arms - such a contrast to other properties in the city
(7) close to Strip and all the great shows from MGM's to Caesars'

Highly and unconditionally recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is a gorgeous property that has the nicest employees and wonderful amenities and activities.
The room was very quiet and the bed was sinfully comfortable--I never wanted to get out of it. The bathroom is large with a separate large tub and shower.
The workout room is very nice and they have personal trainers on duty who do free classes throughout the day. I went to a kinetics wall class and since I was the only one who showed up, Mary Jane (love her!!!!), worked with me one on one--imagine having a one hour session with a personal trainer for free. OMG I had sweat rolling down my back--it was a great workout. She convinced me to come back in an hour for her pilates class. That was fantastic too. There was one other student in that class. I got another great workout--my abs were very sore the next day.
After all that exercise I decided to treat myself to lunch by the pool. The pool area is beautiful and pretty big too. The people who work in the pool area are wonderful. I had a delicious beet salad and a BLT.
I needed to have my hair cut and highlighted because I was WAY overdue so I made an appointment with Shannon. She did a great job with my hair. I was nervous to have someone else treat my hair but she did make my hair look pretty. If I lived in Vegas I would want her to do my hair.
There are many casinos near the Mandarin and they were very easy to access so I never felt far removed from the action on the strip.
I went to the Mandarin Bar one evening to have a couple of glasses of champagne and I really enjoyed the service and the view from the 23rd floor.
On my last day I decided to have breakfast. I ordered their version of eggs benedict where the poached eggs were sitting on lump crabmeat rather than english muffins. So good, but very rich, I couldn't eat all of it.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Vegas--the Mandarin spoiled me!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbiflys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel has a quiet air of exlusivness, which in the midst of all the noise and confusion of LVG, is a real plus. We thourougly enjoied our four nights stay. Everything is perfect. Did not find anything to criticize. The Concierge people (Joe, Haley and all the others) were most hepful on several occasion. Efficient fast, clear and precise.
Enzo and margie Pennisi from Rome, Italy

Room Tip: Upon reservation ask for a strip view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enzo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Vegas and stayed at The Mandarin Oriental. Talk about service! We were blown away with the accommodations and attentive service. We were able to get upgraded, breakfast, $100 spa credit and 4 pm checkout by using our platinum card. The ambiance is breathtaking and classy with reception area on the 23rd floor. The pool area was beautiful and secluded. We felt like we were at a beach resort. We had the best of both worlds...quiet romantic escape and casino's/ nightlife a few steps away! Oh did I mention the spa. It is not cheap but, really worth it! Try the mahjong balance treatment. 2hours of bliss. Ask for Jesse. Best of all... No stinky pot pourri smell when you walk in or noisy casino with a mile walk to your room!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosettaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wynn Las Vegas
Wynn Las Vegas
#5 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,938 reviews
ARIA Resort & Casino
#14 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22,989 reviews
The Strip
The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vdara Hotel & Spa
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,337 reviews
The Strip
The Palazzo Resort Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas
Address: 3752 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89158-4382
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#1 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#2 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#4 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas is one of only nine triple Forbes Five-Star hotels in the United States and is the only hotel in Las Vegas with Five-Star recognition for the hotel, Twist by Pierre Gagnaire restaurant and The Spa. A sophisticated sanctuary of modern elegance prominently situated at the entrance of ARIA Resort & Casino, Mandarin Oriental has made its mark as the ultimate urban resort destination in the heart of the Las Vegas Strip. Designed entirely by interior designer Adam D. Tihany and architecture firm Kohn Pedersen Fox, Mandarin Oriental brings to Las Vegas a new standard of style with stunning suites, captivating architectural design, unique restaurant and bar venues, and the legendary hospitality of Mandarin Oriental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Destinology and TravelUp so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing