We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cheesy”

Buccaneer Bay at Treasure Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the pirates of the Caribbean battle the crew of the HMS Britannia in this raucous performance.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very cheesy”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The story line is horrible and hard to follow. But, the special effects were nice. If you like half naked women, that helps too even though it doesn't help the confusing story line. The singing and dancing is pretty awful. But, hey, it is free. It gets extremely packed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    34
    27
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laughable”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I understand that it's free, so really what am I complaining about? But oh my god, this was the cheesiest thing I have ever watched. It's embarrassing. The lip synching is so off, the dancing is pathetic, almost a little sad watching the girls move half heartedly. I laughed A LOT. It's very sexual as well, I think the last song says something like come get it in?? So totally inappropriate for kids, at least those that are old enough to pick up on stuff like that.

Don't bother waiting for it, if you happen to be passing by and want a good laugh, go right ahead. But you'll get stuck in the crowd after and it's very painful to maneuver through.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank passengerseat137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nether Whitacre, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
279 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“It's Cheesy! and it's free”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The show is called 'The Sirens of TI'

This show is pretty cheesy, but it's free so you can't complain too much.

I still don't get the storyline for it, but from what i gathered it's a pirate ship of women v a pirate ship of men. How that came to be i have no idea.

The special effects are pretty cool though with canons, water, and fire.

The show does get very very crowded though and it is hard to get a good viewing spot unless you turn up at least 30mins before the show starts.

When the show does end the whole mass of people seem to all walk the same way and descend onto the mirage volcano, so you might not want to see that at the same time because you're unlikely to get a good viewing spot with all the people that had just headed the same way as you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandamedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Free Show”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This show is free, and draws in a big crowd. There are good effects and it is entertaining. Although it is not really meant for kids, so beware if you have children who may ask questions!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Soto, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

First of all, we brought our kids. Definitely not family friendly. I thought it was and didn't research it, my mistake. My 10 year old daughter was so embarrassed.
Despite that, I still wouldnt see it again. Sure it's free and iconic, which is nice, but it's so trashy and cheesy that it's not worth my time. The crowd is huge. We got there 40 minutes early for the 7:00 Saturday show and the front row spots were already taken. Then after the show started we were packed in tight! So if you go, get there really early and be prepared to stand around and wait for the crowd to disperse for a while afterwards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 70toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buccaneer Bay at Treasure Island also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing