We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Red Rock Tour.”

GyPSy Guide Las Vegas
Ranked #147 of 235 Tours in Las Vegas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you plan to explore the amazing sightseeing around Las Vegas, turn your car or rental car into a tour guide. We have designed driving tours to Hoover Dam, Grand Canyon West Rim and the Skywalk and to Red Rock Canyon. GyPSy Guide is a small device that you rent, plug into the car stereo and it automatically plays commentary on the best things to see and do as they come into view. Or you can now download app versions of the tours for iPhone/iPad. A team of professional tour guides has filled GyPSy Guide with stories, facts, tips and advice to make sure you don’t miss any of the best attractions and sightseeing. The audio is recorded by real people and plays as you drive, just like listening to the radio. Rent a GyPSy Guide to be your tour guide for your driving tour. It’s easy and fun. You will learn things about Las Vegas you won’t hear anywhere else.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Red Rock Tour.”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Terry called from the lobby at 7:50 am with our Gypsy Guide kit. He gave us a quick instruction course and answered all our questions. It was simple to set up. There was a lot of static on the radio until we got out of the area of the airport, but then the voice became clearer. The old west town on the route seemed kind of silly, but we really enjoyed the freedom of driving our own vehicle.What a great idea ! If we didn't already book a guided tour to the Hoover Dam, we would have preferred using the Gypsy Guide. The guide voice is non intrusive but interesting. Terry gave us the option of letting him just pick it up in the morning in our lobby, or calling him when we got back, which we did. He came by in 45 minutes and that was it. Great !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GotaGo2Da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Great option for the freestyle explorer!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We did the Hoover Dam Red Rock Canyon and it was a great way to learn all about the history of both locations without having to do the bus tour with a crowd of people. We learned so much about the history and the guide starts the moment you start and is full of useful information all the way through. This was a great way for us to explore as we typically like to see and do things on our own time and not with a scheduled group. This was also a much cheaper option than tickets for a bus tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An AMAZING Grand Canyon experience!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Thank you Gypsy Guide for providing an amazing experience at the Grand Canyon skywalk! It was so informational and the view was spectacular. I will definitely book through you guys again for my future excursions! :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Italian222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA, USA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Would be great if it worked”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had previously used a GyPSy on Maui and Oahu and we loved them so we looked forward to trying them out in Las Vegas. We picked the unit up from the Tropicana concierge (in Maui and Oahu they came out to the car and made sure it worked for us) and put it in the car ourselves. From the start we had problems. First the volume was so low that we could barely hear it even though it was directly connected to the car's stereo. We got used to that.

There are two tours on this GyPSy. One goes to the Hoover Dam and the Grand Canyon and the other the Red Rocks area. Both include the Strip and downtown as part of the tour (at the end of both) and I was really looking forward to this part of the tour. But just as we were leaving the Red Rocks National Park, the GyPSy stopped working. Completely. We called the support number and they ran us through a bunch of stuff to try and get it working again but no dice (Vegas joke there). We had to find our way back to downtown and they have told us they are sending us a refund in the mail. If I don't have it by next week, I will challenge the credit card I gave them when the invoice comes.

Two things really ticked us off. One was that at no time did they offer to give us a new unit. It was always just an offer to refund us. They didn't seem to understand that not only would we be out the money but the day was basically lost. And when we returned it to the concierge at the Tropicana, the person at the concierge desk said, "Oh, another one gone bad. I'm not surprised. I'll throw it in with the rest of the units that need repair. No wonder they didn't offer us another unit. They probably didn't think it would work.

I am not saying don't rent one of these. I am just saying, beware.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krystalcollc, Owner at GyPSy Guide Las Vegas, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We at GyPSy Guide are sorry this client didn't have the experience that we normally deliver. We were happy to issue a refund because we want all of our clients to have the excellent experience that hundreds of others enjoy every year.

The GyPSy Guide unit is a computer/GPS and everyone knows computers sometimes don't behave in the manner that they should. We are also glad the client called to let us know about the problem and we tried to fix it on the road which usually gets thing back on track, however, in this case the problem was a bit more complex. Due to the location of the client along the tour route it was impossible to offer a replacement unit or deliver a replacement in a time effective manner, so a full refund was issued and mailed.

The Concierge Desk at the Tropicana is not staffed by GyPSy Guide people, and we feel badly the representative there was less than professional. We will be addressing that issue further with the company that does operate the desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best device for driving your own car tour”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Loved that we could use this in the rental car and and it gives you when and where to turn which exit to use. Also has history of what is going on or has gone on where you are going. Gives you options to stop and see things on the way to and fron your destination. If you choose not to stop it readjusts and if there is a stop that is highly reccommended it will tell you. We rented for one day which is a 24 hour use from time of pick up. We picked up at 9:00am and had time to see Hoover Dam and Red Rock Canyon. You can use this device for about $55.00. Way less than if you purchased tour bus tickets for your family for both and you go at your own pace.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canadiangal_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GyPSy Guide Las Vegas also viewed

 

Been to GyPSy Guide Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing