We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our trip to Vegas - absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evolution Expedition

Evolution Expedition
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: During your holiday, be sure to place kayaking and hiking on your list of things to do while in Las Vegas – you'll be glad you did. We are an outdoor adventure, site seeing tour company, specializing in guided Kayak, Hiking and wake board tours on Lake Mead and below the Hoover Dam on the Colorado River. When hiking through deep canyons or kayaking on the Colorado River to geothermal hot springs, look for diverse wildlife that could include Desert Big Horn Sheep, Coyotes, Ring-tailed Cats and Kit Foxes. Bird lovers, we have Osprey, Bald Eagles and Falcons. Being a migratory route for water fowl there are several different species that change with the seasons. Being outdoor enthusiast and passionate for our environment, our kayak Las Vegas tours is more than just taking people kayaking on the Colorado River. We are creating memories that will last a lifetime. Our guides are CPR and Wilderness First Aid certified. We are professionally trained and have extensive knowledge of kayaking and hiking in the back country. We offer complimentary pick-up/drop-off to your hotel via our spacious and comfortable Transit vans. Our professional drivers have safety in mind as they transport you to and from your adventure. To experience one of the finest Las Vegas kayaking tours available, contact Evolution Expeditions. Be sure to bring your camera along to capture the beauty of nature that awaits you.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Turtleford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip to Vegas - absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This was a fun, fantastic break from The Strip. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to get outdoors for the day. It offered a little bit of everything - a hike, a dip in the hot springs, and some time on the water - all of it well organized. The scenery was fantastic, the guiding was great, and we had fun. The lunch and snacks were great. Not having kayaked before, I was a little hesitant, but there was no need. It was easy enough to catch onto and I felt we were in good hands. I also liked that the price quoted was what we paid (with gratuity optional of course), but we weren't charged extra for pick up and drop off, lunch, snacks, water, photos, etc. And we were never rushed to keep moving but rather encouraged to enjoy our time out there. Well done guys! Loved it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlsonaroadtrip, Manager at Evolution Expedition, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
We have to say "thank you Linda" we are the ones who had the best time hanging out with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    29
    5
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Escape to the River!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

After several days on the Las Vegas strip, we escaped the bright lights for the quiet serenity of the Colorado River. Our tour guide from Evolution Expeditions was, from the first instruction to the last goodbye, first class. Everything was well executed and professional. We highly recommend checking them out of you are looking for some adventure off the Strip!

Helpful?
3 Thank PSARBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlsonaroadtrip, Owner at Evolution Expedition, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
:) Your the best! We love taking folks like you out and having a great time in the outdoors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
1 review
“This was the highlight of our vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We were nervous to take a kayak trip in December but it was amazing. Going in the hot springs was one of the best parts and the canyons were beautiful. It was so much fun! We will recommend it to anyone who is going to Las Vegas.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlsonaroadtrip, Manager at Evolution Expedition, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
The winter time is a great time to kayak below the Hoover Dam, with all the natural hot springs to soak in, it's a lot warmer than you think. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day for complete newbie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Awesome day trip away from the strip. Experience the beautiful Colorado river without being surrounded by tourists. Our 12 mile paddle trip included a visit to a hot steam cave, two hot spring pools and a short hike to a bluff overlooking the river. Water and snacks were available and our group stopped for a nice packed lunch. I brought a cheap waterproof digital camera which worked great for this trip.

I have never been in a Kayak in my life. And yes - I fell in the water trying to get in the first time. (-: The staff were extremely helpful and I was able to get things figured out very quickly. The Kayaks have a rudder you can control to keep yourself going straight. The water was very calm and slow moving so be prepared to paddle the entire trip.

Thanks again for a wonderful trip!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlsonaroadtrip, Manager at Evolution Expedition, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
I think that's what I love about kayaking, your not crowded by people while your on our tours. I hope we didn't laugh when you fell in :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Day on the Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was a terrific experience, a wonderful way to get away from the Strip. Putting in at the Hoover Dam affords views of the Dam and the new bridge from a unique vantage point. The natural sauna and the hot springs were amazing and just shear pleasure to soak in. The scenery is amazing. Mike the guide was very knowledgable and personable, the equipment was solid, lunch tasty, water and snacks all taken care of. Overall, can not recommend this trip highly enough. One word of caution - you need to be in at least decent physical condition to take this trip - paddling the 11.5 miles depending on the conditions can be a pretty good workout, and there's a little bit of scrambling over rocks, etc. to get to the hot springs.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girlsonaroadtrip, Owner at Evolution Expedition, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Launching from the base of the Hoover Dam you do have a vantage point that not a lot of people get to see, Thanks for sharing your day with us. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evolution Expedition also viewed

 

Been to Evolution Expedition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing