We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but would be better on The Strip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palms Casino Resort
Ranked #71 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We got a great deal for our room, though when we checked in our room looked nothing like the newer, renovated rooms advertised in the deal we purchased. The room was still nice - large, clean and comfortable.

Staff were not very engaged - when we arrived we weren't even sure where check in was. That said, when we arrived at our room and our toilet and wifi didn't work they were quick to respond and by the time we got back to our room after lunch the issues were resolved.

The casino is very small compared to pretty much every other place we visited so it did not seem too busy. The buffet was pretty good considering how cheap it was. The pool area was nice but half of it was closed despite it being pretty busy.

The shuttle service always left on time (every half hour between 11am and 8pm) but the hours it operated are restrictive so you do end up relying on cabs, especially if the walk to the Forum Shops drop off is no where near where you are. The shuttle itself isn't that large so you do need to be there early so to guarantee a seat. We weren't there during a particularly busy time so I can't imagine what it's like in peak season.

Overall, because we got a pretty good deal on two of our four night stay, it was a good stay - but if you are going to Vegas to see Vegas and experience The Strip rather than just what The Palms has to offer I would recommend staying on The Strip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cblee_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 3,346 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed at the Palms while on vacation in Las Vegas, 5/9-13/2014. They turned off the water on 5/11/2014 and DID NOT inform the guests prior to work being performed on the equipment. Therefore, on 5/12/2014 we awoken to NO HOT WATER!!! After contacting housekeeping a building engineer arrived at our room, checked the water (let it run for 10 minutes) just as we'd done, and informed us that they had performed worked on the equipment the day prior which resulted in the water being shut off. He departed our room to go on the roof to check for something and returned 2 hours later stating that the water should be hot then. After informing the desk manager upon check, we received a $100 bill credit. THIS WAS NOT SATISFACTORY due to us having been unable to shower until 5:30 in the evening. We missed an event we had purchased tickets to attend and therefore lost out on that money. After returning home and completing a "guest survey" we have NOT received a response from the Palms as of today!! Even the Red Roof Inn notifies guests prior to work being performed on their equipment. I'd think twice about staying at the Palms when visiting Vegas again.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms in the Ivory Tower are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SP554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

So we booked our room through the Palms website and got a really good deal. For certain rooms 24 hr checkout is available but you have to book through the Palms (i.e. we checked in @ 830 pm and didn't have to check out until 830pm the next night!) Of course you have to remind them. The room was nice and clean. However, this place is off the strip and we did not see a lot of people in the casino area (small casino area and not lively). If you don't have a car then a taxi or shuttle is needed to access this place. They have a shuttle that only runs till 8pm. If you don't have transportation They have a decent food court and a movie theater. The pool is nice also with good food.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RoomRaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Palms Hotel and Casino is very nice and up to date, we choose a renovated room. And I’m glad we went down that route, the style and decor of the room is what really lured me in to getting it. I do like that we didn’t have to deal with the strip noise and chaos, so that was a plus for me. However, a negative for me was the limited amount of gambling tables for the guest to use. Also, I felt the customer service was not the best when it came to booking. We actually booked through the hotel website and confirmed we wanted a high floor room. However, when we arrived to the hotel they had us on the 6th floor even though we requested higher at the time of booking and during a phone call to make sure our reservation was all set to go. This is the only thing I think the hotel really dropped the ball on. Also, I'm pretty sure I got a contact high from all the smoke in the hallway on our floor.

Room Tip: Make sure you to make it clear to them when you want a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked a discounted rate online through the Palms website. Got a very good price for one night and the lady on the phone told me that with a discounted rate you do not get a 24 hour check out. I thought I would since I booked through the Palms. When we arrived a week ago the front desk agent gave us a corner premier room with a great view and told us we could definitely have the 24 hour check out. That made my night since we arrived so late at night after traveling. I wish we stayed longer. The rooms were very modern and clean. Great view with the corner room. Everyone in the elevators were full of energy and very friendly.

Room Tip: The premier corner rooms are updated and have a great view of the strip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieL1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Id definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was great. The hotel was clean. Everything from room service to the cabana rental at the pool to the clubs we were taken care of. Its not too far from the strip. Great location

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jz517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stay here many times before and each time gets better. The pool was awesome along with the great service we experienced throught. Ditch Fridays at the pool is a must. We will be back in 3 months

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
0.3 mi away
Palms Place Hotel and Spa
Palms Place Hotel and Spa
#78 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,444 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel
#69 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
Gold Coast Hotel and Casino
#76 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,730 reviews
1.6 mi away
Signature at MGM Grand
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Platinum Hotel and Spa
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Casino Resort

Address: 4321 West Flamingo Road, Las Vegas, NV 89103-3903 (Formerly The Palms Casino Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#30 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#31 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#51 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#57 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £60 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palms Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 702
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Casino Resort, heralded as one of Las Vegas' most sought-after destinations, is an all-encompassing, one-stop experience. Opened in 2001, the boutique property boasts three distinct towers and a diverse mix of bars and restaurants across a 95,000-square-foot casino. Palms is in the midst of a property-wide renovation, having renovated its Ivory Tower guestrooms, the redesigned Race and Sports Book, the iconic N9NE Steakhouse and suave Ghostbar, named “Best Lounge” by Nightclub & Bar Magazine in 2014. Other amenities include the popular Fantasy Suites, such as the Hardwood Suite, the only hotel room in the world with its own basketball court, and the Pearl Concert Theater, Las Vegas’ leading concert venue; Nove Italiano; the Michelin-starred Alize; Lao Sze Chuan, an authentic Chinese cuisine restaurant by renowned Chicago chef Tony Hu; Cafe 6, a contemporary take on American comfort food classics; the world’s largest Hooters; Drift Spa & Hammam; Brenden Theatres, a 14-theatre Cineplex; three swimming pool environments, and more than 60,000 square-feet of meeting space. Palms Casino Resort is located just west of the center of the Las Vegas Strip off I-15 on Flamingo Road and offers free shuttle service to The Strip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palms Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Las Vegas
The Palms Las Vegas
Palms Las Vegas
Playboy Hotel Las Vegas
Palms Hotel Las Vegas
Palms Casino Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing