We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day out with Tim & Brian”

McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: McGhie's Ski, Bike and Board specializes in personalized, private road and mountain bike tours. We provide a unique experience for individuals, small groups and large corporate events. Tours include pick up and drop off at your hotel, professional guide, bicycle rental, water and basic energy food. We do not believe in a "one size fits all" tour and work hard to make your ride the highlight of your Las Vegas vacation. We are now offering hiking tours of the Red Rock National Conservation Area with the same attention to detail for our guests. It is just you and your guide who is 100% focused on providing the best experience for YOU-not you and 6 strangers. Our goal is always to make your time with McGhie's the highlight of your Las Vegas experience.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Day out with Tim & Brian”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly recommended - we were a party of 7 guys of mixed abilities.

Tim picked us up from our hotel - 30 minutes later bikes and kit were issued and we then spent 2.5 hours up and down the trails.

The instruction and guiding was excellent - two very experienced and fun loving guys who knew the area like the back of their hands.

It was reasonably challenging and very hot - but we were given loads of water and electrolyte and the route was tailored constantly according to the conditions and our fitness. I would have no hesitation in recommending both guides and also Amy, from McGhie's who arranged the trip.

After the ride we were dropped off afterwards at the hotel - total trip time about 4 hours.

Thank you McGhie's!



Helpful?
1 Thank 477timr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for the great review, Tim! We appreciate you spreading the word on our ability to handle groups of mixed levels of fitness and skill! As soon as a private group hits 5 riders, we automatically provide a second guide for the ride. Your safety and satisfaction is our #1 priority and you have seen how we can expand the experience for everyone by giving each rider exactly the type of ride they want!
I appreciate your excellent communication prior to the ride and look forward to hosting you or any of your other riders in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT RIDE .... KEPT THE MAP .... THANKS CHRIS”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have been to Vegas many times and this is one of the best adventures we have had. Everything just fell into place. Two of us had never mountain biked. The other is keen but slightly wacked. We organised it all in a few hours at a bar. We drove to the shop for 8am hoping for a guided tour. We met Chris and he explained that his 12 year old guide was in school so we would have to brave, the Indian Burial Grounds, cactus, rattlers, scorpions and Viagra all by our selves. By chance, Amy wondered in, off duty guide, and held our hands for the first little bit. Amy could smell Canadian rugby guys in the valley and within a breath we were left to eat her dust. We recommend thoroughly to check Chris, Amy and the team out. It is well worth the adventure. Well done guys, great setup with a and beautiful back drop.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank carlg51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Oh my gosh, I am still embarrassed by our day on the trails! It is so rare that I go out to ride on my own and I definitely was not in "tour guide mode" in getting you guys safely out of town and to the meat of our awesome trail system. I appreciate the great review as ours was an unofficial tour. Chris is fantastic and always will put a smile on anyone's face!
When you return to Vegas, please let me know and we will provide a proper tour for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply terrific”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I am long overdue writing this. I visited Vegas in 2/2014. I had Bobby as my guide, and he put together the perfect bike tour. You can make your tour as challenging as you want, and the views are spectacular, almost surreal. The other rave reviews are spot on - this is one of the coolest things I have done in Vegas.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanRVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks for the review, Dan! It is never too late to follow up on your experience with us and we appreciate your help in keeping our #1 ranking.
The "private" part of our tours is something folks do not always fully grasp when they are booking a bike ride with us. It is always about creating the best ride possible for each guest. We do not herd you into a group of riders who may or may not be of equal fitness or skill levels. The goal is to always have our guests return home with the thought, "that was the best thing I have ever done in Vegas!"
Thank you so much for making us a part of your Las Vegas experience and we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Perfect conference antidote!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Bobby is the best! I wanted to do something different after being at a conference in Vegas all week and needed some fresh air...so with some trepidation I signed myself up for the Mountain Bike Tour (I usually ride a road bike) but this was awesome. Bobby, my tour guide, knows the trails so well and explains everything so clearly that you soon stop feeling nervous. I ended up pushing myself a bit and going on a longer ride than I would have thought I could do but there was no pressure from Bobby to do anything particular - it can be as easy or difficult as you like. Really, really enjoyable and the views are just something else. It takes a while to acclimatise to the air (I live at sea level!) but once you get used to it, you can start to enjoy things. Also, a big thanks to Amy at McGhies for the great comms and to the shop (sorry can't remember the name) for switching brakes over for a UK rider... that really helped. All I can say is that they are a great bunch of people and it was really worthwhile and it certainly helped make the most of a work trip. Thanks to all at McGhies!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your great review, Paul. We do inform all of our UK and Aussie/NZ guests that in the US we do utilize the right lever for the rear brake! Our upgraded bikes are not able to be changed to "moto" style, but our very good basic rentals (included in the tour price).
Our biggest strength is the ability of our tour guides to assess rider ability and then help riders improve on their skills. We take a lot of pride in knowing that when our guests return home to ride their trails (or try them out for the first time) that they will be safer after their experience with us.
We hope your business brings you back to Las Vegas in the near future so we can take you out on the trails again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Intense, but fun”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We hadn't decided on whether we wanted to do a road bike or mountain bike tour. It seemed decided when we showed up that we had signed up for a mountain biking tour. My friend was a newbie and I was pretty rusty, in terms of mountain biking. My friend hadn't been on a bike in awhile, and was pretty nervous, but Bobby, our guide, was very patient with her and helped to teach her. I had only done simple mountain biking before on easy trails, and while the trails we went on near McGhie's were classified as Beginner, they seemed challenging to me. I think overall Amy, the owner, and Bobby did well to deal with our situation, but we might've had an easier time doing a road bike tour. I can see more seasoned mountain bikers having a great time with their tours. In any case, Bobby was a lot of fun and had some great stories, and Amy was very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegasbike, Manager at McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much for the honest and thorough review. Your important points about the mountain biking will definitely help future guests to determine the type of ride they wish to do. Because our trails are just that-not dirt roads-they do present a far greater challenge than a lot of folks expect. Bobby said that you did a fantastic job conquering the terrain, but we certainly understand that it can be difficult to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery when you are intimidated by the rocky, sandy trails.
We pride ourselves in making each outing the perfect one for every guest. Even though you gave us a high rating, we will look at your trip and discuss how we could have better handled/recognized your discomfort and other options we might have been able to implement.
On a side note, the tour company is owned by McGhie's Ski, Bike and Board. Amy is a worker bee who has taken pride and ownership in the job we do, as have all of the guides!
Again, your review was very valuable and we will take it to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours also viewed

 

Been to McGhie's Guided Bicycle and Hiking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing