We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Impression are mistaken !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #52 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“First Impression are mistaken !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

This was our second trip to Vegas, to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary (We'd got married in the Little White Chapel in 2009). We checked Tripadvisor and in 7th spot was the Desert Rose, with many glowing reviews, and it was cheap - always a good reason.
We finally arrived (29 hour delay in Philadelphia due to delays and fog) to be greeted by a very helpful young lady. She informed us our booking had been cancelled by Expedia as we hadn't turned up. "Not to worry", she said and with a few deft clicks of her keyboard and with a sincere and warming smile she handed us our key.
We set off out and along the corridor. This was our first impression, which was soon completely obliterated. Those passages are starting to need a very light touch up, which a lick of paint and the the repair / replacement of some of the edges of the carpet would resolve (and I'm being very very picky here). We also passed a couple of the other residents and I must admit I pre-judged them (using the TV stereo-typing of certain cultures) and we wondered what sort of establishment we'd booked ourselves into.
These fears were quoshed once we'd walked into our room. It was spotlessly clean, very well appointed with everything from a free safe through to a huge fridge, cooker, dishwasher, and even the essentials of a toaster, microwave, coffee maker (with free coffee bags, sugar & creamer), even a bottle opener. The bed in out one bed suite was what us Brits call a Super King Size (6 foot across), and was very comfy with as many or as little a number of pillows as you'd like. There was even a big TV in the bedroom with HBO & other well known channel on it. The bathroom had everything you needed, including shampoo and conditioner. In the lounge was a big l-shaped settee, which was big enough to sleep on by itself, but very quickly and easily converted into a pull out metal action bed. There was all the bedding, including more pillows in a big cupboard / wardrobe in the lounge area. Finally there was a dining table with 4 chairs around it, that was a mere dumping ground for us.
To say we were pleased was an understatement.
Next morning we woke early for the breakfast. There's a choice of 4 cereals, plus a granola and yoghurt, 2 choices of milk, 3 choices of fruit juice, you can even have a soft drink if you so desire. There is white and wholemeal bread, 3 catering sized toasters, margarines and a nice choice in jams (or jelly's as the Americans call them). You get scrambled eggs and either some superb skinless lincolnshire-type sausages or bacon as well. Finally, you can get genuine Starbucks coffee - which is available any time of the day.
Hint - get there early as it does get packed, although if the weather's nice there is additional seating outside, and on one morning the very popular (and rightly so) sausages disappeared within an hour and due to the unfortunate timing of their next delivery, they had no more left. That was my only very very slight complaint about the breakfast.
Best of all, you can load everything up on the polystyrene plates and take it back to your room.
4 evenings a week there is a managers special this included free beer and wine and nibbles. We only managed to see this one evening and the nibbles consisted of dips and vegetables, etc. We were on our way out for a steak and didn't want to spoil our appetite.
Outside is a pool (we didn't check to see if it was heated but never heard anyone scream when they got in.) The loungers are very sturdy and comfortable, as my wife fell asleep on them. There are even 2 huge gas barbeques out there for anyone to use.
The location is very good. Out the front and turn right and you'll head straight to the Luxor and adjacent Mandalay Bay or Excalibur Hotels in a matter of minutes. Turn left and you walk across the back of Hooters. As you get to main road you can go across to get to the MGM Monorail, left to the junction of the Tropicana, MGM, New York hotels, or right takes you a few steps to Coco's Restaurant & Bakery (I'll do a review of this later).
Hint, if you're gonna use the buses catch one here on Tropicana and get a day ticket for $5. If you get one on the strip it's $7.
And finally to the staff. I have never met as friendly, courteous and helpful a group of staff outside of a top 5 star hotel. The overall chain owns the Hyatt group and that sort of quality shines through in everything.
So, the big questions.
Out of a score of 10, what would I give it? - 9.9 (and that's being as picky as a picky thing that's very very picky !!!)
Would I recommend this to a friend? Since I returned over a week ago this has been done quite a few times already.
Book it, and get great quality at a cheap price in Vegas.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phil0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,039
    1,187
    312
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,353
1,296
143
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

3 of us stayed at this place at a 1 bedroom suite. Said in short - great location within walking distance to strip (we walked, twice), wonderful hard working staff, beautiful suite.

I've started writing a loooooooong review, listing how much I loved so many different things at this place. But all the previous reviews say it all. Our special thanks goes to super attentive stuff who called back every single time to verify that our requests was met above our expectations. We dealt with many persons, but special thanks goes to (sorry, forgot the name) Australian repair man and a excellent front desk assistant Sharisse.

Oh, and have I mentioned that we just loved this place? :D

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StefiSlovakia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here for 7 days in mid November and it was amazing value for the price. Staff were courteous and the suite itself was superb. Complete with kitchen, balcony, spacious bedroom and all of the gadgets you could need for a comfortable stay (including 2 40" televisions). Takes 5 minutes to get onto the Strip if you cut through Hooters car park and walk across the Tropicana bridgeway. Would recommend this to anyone at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Located south of the strip and just a block away from MGM this hidden gem is well worth concidering for a stay in vegas. We stayed 10 nights and enjoyed the laid back, relaxed tranquil (no slot machines!) atmosphere that srrounds this hotel. Rooms are spacious, well equiped and air conditioned. Beds are massive. Breakfast is rather early 6am to 9pm, but theres plenty for everyone, basic breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast etc and cereals for starters). Free beer & wine 5pm to 7pm which gets guests together, sometimes they play bingo etc. Nice size pool, with adequate sunbathing facilites, also has a gymnasium which is well worth the visit. This hotel tends to attract the elder guests, but there were plenty of young couples there when we were there in early November 2011. We used Hooters casino which is just a short 5 minute walk from Desert Rose, here you can pick up a bud for $1.50. Hotel staff are very friendly, and will make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Try and get a room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Recently our family stayed at The Desert Rose for vacation. It is a nice change from a casino hotel where you have to walk through smoky gambling areas to get to your room. Located just behind Hooters Casino, it's a short walk to plenty of nearby attractions and the monorail stop at MGM. All rooms are either 1 or 2 bedroom with a full kitchen. We went down the street to Von's supermarket (we drove…it’s way too far to walk) and bought food for lunches and dinners rather than eat out every day. Hot breakfasts are free each morning, which is nice (eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, etc). They have free parking and a Happy Hour Mon.-Thurs (free drinks!). Service was great; the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms looked new and the property was very clean. The only thing negative we experienced was that our bedroom wall faced the outside walk and people walking by with noisy shoes or rolling suitcases could be heard very easily. This is an excellent value and when we return to Vegas we'll definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CircleCityMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

There are three important requirements that my wife has when we choose a place to stay, no matter where we visit. First, a comfortable bed, second, open windows for fresh air, and third and most important, no noise, especially at bed time. If any of these aren't met, I will hear about it for sure and life will be miserable. But when they are met, I hear nothing but compliments and I'm a happy guy. Take note men, please your partner and you reap rewards. This is where we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Las Vegas. No question. We've stayed in many hotels on the strip and downtown many times before, but for convenience, comfort and relaxation, and free Starbucks coffee in the morning for my addiction, this place can't be beat. There are major hotels and casinos that you can easily walk to like the Tropicana, MGM, New York New York, Excalibur and Hooters to do your gambling and to see a top-rated show. Then when you've had enough of the noisy, crowded, smoke-filled casinos (don't get me wrong, I like the excitement and fun there), you can leave it all behind and casually stroll back to your oasis in whatever condition you may be (no DUI to worry about) to rest and re-energize for the next day, starting with a free breakfast. I can keep going with all the positive stuff but you get the idea. Thank you Desert Rose for removing any apprehensions about coming to Vegas. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lihue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The Desert Rose Resort is an oasis of comfort and calm located a few minutes walk away from the the strip. This hotel provides an excellent base from which to explore the Las Vegas area, whether you will be spending the majority of your time on the strip or away from it. The suites at the Desert Rose are the most well equipped suites that I have ever stayed in. The kitchen is fully equipped with a full sized fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher. Heck, it even has a garburator! The kitchen cupboards are equally well equipped from the full service place settings for six people to the paper towels that always come in handy. The suite also comes equipped with a good sized programmable safe. The comfortable bed and immaculate bed linens ensure a good night’s sleep so that you are well rested for the day ahead.

The entire hotel is very well maintained, including the pool area. Although the weather was coolish during our visit, we were still able to use the pool since the water temperature was a very balmy 80 degrees fahrenheit. The free breakfast was more than adequate and consisted of hot scrambled eggs, bacon, or sausage and toast. Various cereals were also provided along with one type of fresh fruit.

We were very pleased with our stay at the Desert Rose Resort. There is room for improvement however. The carpets, although clean, need to be replaced since they are stained and worn in some places. The same is true for the sofas in the suites. Everything else however, appears to be brand new. I highly recommend this resort and would definitely stay here again. It provides excellent value for money and despite the two shortcomings that I mentionned, it is well worth a five star rating.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ani79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#7 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing