We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place close to the strip.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #52 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice place close to the strip.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Booked 4 nights here based on previous TA reviews. Check-in was prompt and staff were friendly and helpful. Room was a 2 bedroom unit and suited us perfectly. Unit included a kitchenette but we didn't use it since we we 'out on the town' at most meal times.
A breakfast was served beginning at 6:00am, and consisted of the usual 'continental' items (cereals, pasteries, breads, juice, etc.), but also included assorted 'hot' items (sausage, bacon, ham, eggs, french toast, etc.) with the menu varying each day.
Overall, this location was exactly what we were looking for. It was a little less expensive than prices we found for hotels 'on the strip'. It doesn't have a casino or any slots so the atmosphere is quieter than casino-type hotels. You can easily walk about 5 min. to the strip, or 10 min. to the closest monorail station. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room, if available. The top floor units are quiter since you don't have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,032
    1,177
    310
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,341
1,290
143
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Went with a group of 5 during EDC festival in Vegas and booked a 2bdrm suite. Super clean, a bit retro look, but honestly we thought it was a huge space and was very close to the strip that for the price we paid for it was a great deal.

Each bedroom had lots of space, its own tv, closet, and the master bedroom had its private ensuite while another bathroom was for the other room. The kitchen has everything including dishwasher and garburator and plenty of dishes, pots, glassware and yes, lots of shot glasses.

Breakfast, was simple and warm, ham or sausage, eggs everyday, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, starbucks coffee, tea, juice, pop.

The pool isn't Vegas sized, but it was never busy so if felt like it was our own private pool and went when the whole hotel was booked out too. It has a wade pool for kids and a hot tub. Also has two large bbq that anyone that choice to cook their own burgers can use.

Walmart is a 10-15min cab ride, do it! food and booze is much cheaper, thus worth the distance.

Walking to the strip, its 3min walk to hooters, 5min walk to MGM, 10mins to Luxor, Excalibur and NY NY. Very close.

Housekeeping and the front desk is very nice, they greet all the time and keep everything fresh and clean. They were also very quick bring up additional towels or dish soap, etc.

Its the perfect place to rest, away from all the Vegas hype.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor (3rd floor, building #1) always quiet. If you have six people for the 2 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

My friend and I stayed here the weekend of 6/1 thru 6/3/12.
The room was ok.
But the breakfast was lacking quite a bit and wasn't worth going to.
The choices of food was; 2 kinds of dry cereal, coffee, juices, bananas & oranges,eggo waffles,sausage links.
That's not much of a breakfast buffet .
Not to mention the eating area was very small and crowded.
Did like having a full kitchen in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKIE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We just spent a weekend here at a convention. It is located just off the strip, within a block of the MGM Grand. Conveniently located to the monorail and reasonably priced. The service was great and rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkmatise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney NSW Australia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a full kitchen, there is also a laundry which you can use on site. Having a fridge is always a bonus in such a warm climate. The facilities are excellent and include a nice pool area. The breakfast is free, although we didn't have it. We purchased lovely fresh strawberries, raspberries and blueberries along with yoghurt and museli and enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning in our room.
These rooms are excellent value, they are very clean. We found it not too far to walk to the strip, you can however get the monorail from the MGM if you don't fancy walking. This is the second time we have stayed here and would definiitely stay here again if we return to Las Vegas.
This trip we also stayed at the Venetian, and I preferred the Desert Rose over the Venetian, it was just as comfortable, not as opulent, but much better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hokeypokeysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed one night here prior to a 5-day river rafting trip in the Grand Canyon and was pleasantly surprised. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice -- big, clean, and comfy. Great location -- just a quick walk to the strip. Would definitely recommend this place to stay in Vegas away from the madness (but not too far away:)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

It was our first stay here and I think the Desert Rose deserves the mostly high praise it has gotten! I chose it because of the non-smoking and non-gaming aspect and was really pleased with that. We really appreciated the condo style lodging as well as the fitness room, pool and breakfast! The concierge was extremely friendly and helpful! It was nice to walk over to the strip and experience all the casino frenzy and then come back to our quiet hotel. It's not too far to Mandalay Bay and we had a fantastic dinner over there at Burger Bar.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#41 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,357 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing