We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Good Price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Came here for three nights and had the two bedroom unit. Be sure to clarify if you want a queen in the second bedroom or two twins. We needed two twins which caused a slight problem at check-in. The location is very convenient as it is next door to Hooters and across the street from the MGM. Also a word of warning about taking taxi's from the airport. It should cost $15-20 max. Someone in our party got ripped off for $35 for a ride from the airport.

First room we were given was on the ground floor on the west side with a view of the parking lot and barbed wire. It was also definitely a party room since it still reeked of who know what. We were relocated to the third floor on the Duke Ellington side which was much better. The rooms were clean. The furniture was very old but comfortable. They were starting to replace tube tv's with flat screens. Everything in the unit worked fine.

The lobby was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is security personnel walking or biking around at night. They do have breakfast 6-9 on weekdays and 7-10 on weekends. The breakfast changes daily. Nothing special but in a pinch wasn't bad. We didn't participate in the happy hour on Thursday.

I would come back here for a regular visit. If it was something really special, I would probably go to the hotels. Overall not a bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scootercus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,031
    1,174
    310
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,340
1,289
143
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed in Desert Rose in September 2011 - it was great fun. The perfect place for a girls weekend - we were close enough to walk to the strip but far enough away to relax by the pool during the day. We found the self-service kitchen as a great opportunity to prep and make our own food. The barbeques in the pool area allowed us to have our burgers outside with some wine.
I would recommend these suites to people who want to be away from the strip but not too far from the action.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolleston
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have stayed many times in the quiet haven, away from the frantic clamour of the Strip. We return because we are never disappointed with the quality, the warm welcome, or the ease and convenience of staying there.
The small apartments are comfortable, well- equipped and serviced daily, the friendly staff make guest feel most welcome, and an excellent concierge team do all they can to enable guests to make the most of their stay.
We really appreciate the included breakfast, and do not mind the disposable plates etc, as that must help to keep costs down. The Mon-Thursday Happy Hour is pleasant , but not worth rushing back for unless desperate for a free glass of bland wine or a beer, though it is nice to socialise with other guests.
The pool is wonderful and as it is heated to a comfortable temperature, it is possible to swim even in cooler months,There are plenty of sun-lounge chairs , but many are in the shade. Next to the pool area is a great barbecue area, useful for families and groups.
We find being able to park right outside an added bonus, making it so easy to bring in luggage, or shopping, and in our case, the golf bags, as Las Vegas offers such a wide variety of courses to play.
An added boon is the recently improved internet service, with free wi-fi on offer.

Room Tip: Rooms along Reno Avenue are affected by traffic noise. All others are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Spent 6 nights here recently. This is a great option if you want to avoid staying on the strip and want more than just a hotel room. The staff were very friendly and informative. Breakfast provided daily although it was very basic. Each night there was complimentary wine and beer from 5-7. The pool area was great. Other than some obnoxiously loud Russians it was a fine resort.

Room Tip: Building 3 or 4 on top floor offer good view of the strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thumper114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this resort and would definitely stay here again! I stayed in a one bedroom w/ a king size bed that had more than enough space for one person. The quality was great for the price with the location being about two miles from UNLV's Thomas and Mack Center and not a long walk at all from The Strip. I loved the fact that I was able to stay at a hotel very close to The Strip w/o being on The Strip and paying The Strip hotel prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DoogieHowser4858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The Desert Rose Resort is very comfortable and the staff is helpful and friendly. It was a great place to return to to relax and re-charge before going out into the jungle of the Las Vegas strip! The rooms are spacious and the kitchens well equipped. On the first night I asked the desk clerk where the closest store was to buy coffee filters she said not to worry and minutes later a package of filters was delivered to my room! The pool looked great though it was too chilly to swim - kids were enjoying it though. The resort is at the south end of the strip, beside Hooters and the Tropicana and across from the MGM Grand, so it's a bit of a walk to get right into the thick of things, but not too taxing. The breakfasts are ok - some days were better than others, but they are free which was appreciated. I'd highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Stayed in a one bedroom unit for Fri/Sat night, peak nights in Vegas at peak prices. The room was bought during a sale that had it half of a Strip room at a mid level property. The room was great, clean and had a well stocked kitchen with all the needed supplies. Few Vegas visitors would cook an actual meal, the fridge is more for beer/water and leftovers but its nice to have the option to cook. Hooters casino is a 2 minute walk and you can be at the Tropicana or MGM grand in 10 minutes. The hotel had a lot of families there for sports tournaments/dance competitions, etc. Some complain on reviews about breakfast.....it's free and simple, and did I mention free? Eggo style waffles and sausage links one morning, biscuits/eggs with country gravy on the side the next. There is always coffee/juice/milk, yogurt and breads as well. It gets you to lunch, which is the important thing. I can see why this simple property is among the highest in Vegas rating-wise, its a great value and has a lot to offer if you aren't obsessed with staying on the 50th floor of the newest mega casino

Room Tip: I asked for a recently renovated room, I've stayed at timeshares and if older sometimes you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#42 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing