We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay.”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #44 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another good stay.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Third time to the DR and another good stay (6th to 18th April) Fantastic weather! The DR has lost a bit of its sparkle as it has taken away its breakfast and its managers reception, this is reflected in its rankings drop, was No 9 best hotel in Vegas last year now No28! but still a good place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the strip. Love the pool area as it is pool party free, not the biggest pool but very very clean. Will be back in April next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for visiting us again. We are very excited to begin the lobby renovation and the refurbishment of all of our rooms. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,096
    1,210
    324
    110
    83
See reviews for
1,390
1,317
143
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Fl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were a little apprehensive about the resort because a few people had given it poor reviews. We found everything to be great. The staff could not have been nicer and everything in our unit appeared new,clean,and in good working order. The location was very convenient .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucindaCocoaFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased to announce a full lobby renovation later this year. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for 9 days when my boyfriend and I went to Vegas in May.

Our room was perfect, and stocked with everything we could possibly need. It was more of an apartment/condo then a hotel room, which was excellent.

Our balcony overlooked the center area of the complex, so we didn't have a great view, but it was still nice to sit out there, and relax.

Desert Rose is not located on the strip, and is about a five minute walk to the MGM grand. At night, we would often see prostitutes walking up and down the street, and hanging around the Hooter Hotel. Didn't bother me too much though, cuz they didn't bother us.

The only complaint I have is that one day when housekeeping came, they threw out some papers we had left on the kitchen counter beside the sink! We still don't know what was thrown out, but we're guessing it was nothing important. I went to the front desk to let them know that the person cleaning our room on that day threw out some of our stuff, and the receptionist apologized for it.

Also, a couple of times the toilet and/or shower was not cleaned, which is not a big deal, but when you ask to have your room cleaned, the bathroom should be cleaned, bed should be made, floor vacuumed, etc.

We always kept our passports, and any other important things in the safe that is in the room.

Overall, I would recommend Desert Rose Resort if you want a large apartment style room that is rather inexpensive, and close to the strip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kloup91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay.I am glad your room was well appointed. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this resort for a week for the last 4-5 years; we really liked this place, until this year. Yes, they used to have breakfast; when I booked this place in Aug. for our March stay, they still had free breakfast. I was not notified that they discontinued it, even upon checking in. I happen to see a small notice on the desk, after mentioning this, the check in person gave a total of 2 coupons for the breakfast special($ 4.99 value per coupon) at a nearby restaurant.
We checked in around 4:00PM, upon arriving at our room , we found that we had no wash clothes or kitchen towels. I called the front desk and was told someone would bring them over shortly. Called again at 6:15PM and they stated that they ran out of wash clothes ( my husband and I travel a lot , this is the first time I have encountered a hotel or resort with a linen shortasge). We used toweels for our showers and went out for the evening. The next morning they were still not delivered; they finally arrived at 9:20AM. In the past we have alwaysbeen able to print out our boarding passes at a computer by the office; the computer was there but whad an out of order sign on it from the time we checked in to the time we checked out.
The overall appearance, cleanliness and friendliness was not the same as in past years.
I was very dissappointed; we really did like this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank final4fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with cleanliness and towel issues. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our properties and you did not receive this. Please rest assured I will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Thank you for making us aware. We are very excited for the complete lobby and unit renovation starting this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed at Desert Rose for the last 7 years, we have always found it in good order and very clean, i commented last year that things are starting to look worn but any issues with housekeeping were delt with straight away. we are staying there for 14 nights in july and looking forward to it. but please listen Desert Rose dont drop your standards and fall behind as there is a lot of choice in vegas and once your hard core support leave you wont get them back so update.

Room Tip: rooms on the back are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for coming back year after year. We are very excited to start the rennovations for the entire property, starting with the lobby. We are sure you will be pleased with the upgrades that are planned. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our first time in vegas and we could not have plcked a better hotel to stay in, the staff, location, and the fact you were five hundred yards from the hustle and bustle of the strip.
We went with thomas cook and after reading some of the reviews we did have some concerns about the state of the hotel,but we need not have worried as the week flew by without a hitch the only time we had a problem in the room it was fixed in less time than it took me to get coffee from reception.
The reps from thomas cook phil and russ were first class so make sure you go to the welcome meeting they will save you time and money and if you do need to see them they are at the reception at the luxor.
We did a few trips booked through the reps,the first one to the grand canyon, helicopter ride down ln to the canyon then on to a boat and back in the helicopter to the top of the canyon a bus trip round the indian reservation to eagle point, you can go on the sky walk for $35 each but you are not allowed to take any pictures you have to buy them for $30 each.
It was a long day but very enjoyable due to the tour guide we had who was called greg he is a mine of information.
Our next night out was to the rat pack at the rio brilliant night if you like the music do not miss, we booked this with thomas cook you get the vip ticket to the buffet whitch gets you past the que very quickly as the que can get very long as it did on the night we went.
we went to the early show and it was happy hour in the restaurant bar but you cannot take your drinks in with you to the show so dont make the mistake we did and have to drink very quickly.
Shared a table at the front with a couple who had only paid $40 less than us just for the show.
Last trip was to hollywood was a very long day as you have to leave 6am and you are not back before 8.30pm, santa monica very very nice wished we could have stayed longer but had to move on to hollywood witch was a real let down for me as I expected a bit more glamour but got shabby
And tacky.
All in all had a fabulous time and will definitely go back one day but won't do any trips just see vegas.

Room Tip: Room 2216 close to reception nice view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My family stayed for three nights in April 2014. Very close to the strip without strip prices. Got a cracking price online which worked out at only £55 per night for a two bedroomed apartment with lounge! Three flat screen tv's, one in lounge area and one in each bedroom!! Absolute bargain! The hotel was a little dated, but very clean and great service from the front desk and concierge. They do not do breakfasts, but there is 24 hour free tea and coffee in the lounge area, and Coco's diner is only 2 minutes walk and do a great $4.99 special with bacon, eggs, potatoes, pancakes and juice/coffee which is fab! Small but well maintained pool area. Hooters hotel next door can be a little noisy while outside, but this didn't bleed into our room.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to any savvy minded people who are looking for a good quality versus value balance.

Room Tip: Go for a 1 or two bed apartment if possible, far more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ggibson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Your kind words reflect all that we strive for. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,408 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#30 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,160 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#15 of 262 in Las Vegas
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,266 reviews
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing