We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Oasis”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #51 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Real Oasis”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights (2 BR 2 BA unit)and found it to be extremely comfortable. Minor problem with a noisy air conditioner but otherwise the staff was responsive and helpful and the location was near the strip but not on it, ideal to get to things you wanted to see but also to feel "away" from it all.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and had a little noise from the upstairs unit. I would guess the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Such kind words. Thank you very much, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,053
    1,196
    316
    106
    83
See reviews for
1,364
1,303
143
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We own a timeshare through Shell Vacations and we always use this resort at least once a year frequently during New Year's Eve. This place never fails us - it is always clean and things we need are always available. Breakfast in the morning is always good but most times there are too many people hovering in the lounge to get their food- other than that it is always there when we need it!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for being an owner and thank you for the kind words. We are so very excited for the lobby and units renovation starting soon. You are always welcome and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a two bedroom condo for four people, for the week of fourth of July. would not recommend staying there, there is no housekeeping, we had to beg for clean towels, when we could find someone that spoke English. The rooms are filthy especially the rugs ,my socks were black within 5 min. of walking on the rug. The rooms are old and in need of total renovation, furniture old and dirty. The security gates didn't work they put duct tape over the locks so there was no security. at one point the lock fell off as we tried to put in our card The bathrooms were horrible very dirty, we even had electrical outlets that were shorting out and falling off the walls .Would not recommend this condo in its current state they would have to do a total renovation to get us to come back, our friends have stayed there 6 years in a row in the past and could not believe how bad this condo is, we will be looking for a new place to stay sorry Desert Rose

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the review. We are very excited to announce plans for an amazing lobby remodel this year and all units renovation scheduled for later next year. All aspects of our units will be enhanced and updated. Coupled with our location, we are very excited to be the leader in Las Vegas. Thank you again for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

2nd time to Vegas but first time to this hotel. Ideal size to avoid the masses. Extremely clean and tidy inc outside areas. Security great. Pool nice size. Cross road and go through casino at HMM to get you onto strip. Only one thing I would say is it mentions Starbucks in foyer. There is not a, Starbucks much to my great disappointment, what there actually is are two sometimes three coffee urns with Starbucks coffee. Ok if you like espresso black as no milk provided. However the shop does sell bottled frappicinos. All in all great place, great staff and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnnparsonsCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We would love to see you again. Thank you for mentioning that we have a convenience store located in our lobby. Many travelers also mention the size of our suites, I am glad we were able to meet your needs. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here due to a tour leaving from the property. Visited Las Vegas before, I prefer to stay more in the middle of the strip. I must say the property itself is clean and fine to stay at if you are looking for a place to stay away from the everything and you have a car to drive around. The rooms are large and comfortable, it was nice having a kitchen in the room.
This is more of family time share place so if you are looking for a quiet easy going place you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 70sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It was very insightful as to the location. We are tucked right behind the Tropicana Hotel and just a 4 minute walk from the MGM. I know you like being in the middle of the action, but if you do decide to come for a relaxing getaway, please keep us in mind. Until next time, safe travels. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great family location near the Las Vegas strip. We rented the two bedroom unit with kitchenette. Free parking, beautiful large pool, friendly service. Would definitely return. Confortable, clean and quiet location despite being so close to the LV action

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
It sounds as if we hit all of the important points of your perfect vacation. I am glad my staff provided safety, comfort, cleanliness and most importantly Hospitality! We try very hard to make every vacation experience the way you described yours. We are excited to welcome you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Thomas Cook last July & are just home yesterday. I worried reading the reviews left every week whilst wedding planning. We went planning to mention about the breakfast stated by TC at the time & in our paperwk & on the website still but instead met with 'your room is still being cleaned, if you could wait nearby reception'. Just off a plane from Manchester for 10 hr's plus the time spent in the queue through security & waiting on our bags, it was disappointing we couldn't get into the room. 3hrs later when the queue at reception was at its worst we were told to join it again as it was ready now. They also pre-empted the breakfast issue giving us tickets to collect a bag each day near pool & a gift of a 1.5l bottle of wine.
Once inside the room in building 2 top floor, I was pleasantly surprised, all the negativity I had read about for the year - the 'filth, lack of views /amenities / housekeeping / scanty breakfast vouchers for CoCos that some got to compensate' etc but we got a bag each day between 6-9am if you were up, with a blueberry bun, low fat yogurt strawberry or peach, a red delicious apple, a breakfast bar & a sweet. Not awful, nor great but snacks we could make use of as we headed to Walmart on a 24hr pass at $5 which again was handy as you had a full 24hrs to use it, tho it didn't work on the strip, it costs $8 & could be used on all routes by hotel. Caught at Hooters on main road, so convenient + Walmart was excellent, bought too much to carry back on bus tho & had to get a taxi as the choice was unreal & we wanted to try all the new foods plus get your essentials for the kitchen. Had a great big fridge with freezer & a tray we filled downstairs opp lift at the ice machine. A dishwasher & powders, dish washing liquid, teatowels, papertowel roll, all cutlery & pans etc & a basket with popcorn, coffee, sugar sachets & a sachet to make lemonade etc.. The lift worked perfectly, yes just one, but never had a big wait, also never had time share so much as mentioned to us. Yes the store at reception was like a tuck shop it also had a paper you could collect for free daily. We used the laundry twice while there having bought a pack of 5 tabs at Walmart & it was spot on with a great a/c unit inside to cool us while waiting as driers don't lock, obviously.
The a/c in bedroom and sink area is wick but we left the door between living room & bedroom open. The cable TV was excellent with great HBO films on all day & an interesting crime channel & the cartoon network.. It was very hot over the last week esp, weather program said it was a heatwave at 44c, even at night it didn't drop much, woke each morn in a puddle from melting in bedroom & never needed to lay under sheets. Housekeeping came twice a week Mon & Fri but just changed towels & took rubbish. The one time we were in when they came I asked for bits n bobs & tipped the maid, eh voila. The next time they came we got replenished with toiletries & lots of towels.
The first night I washed my hair & couldn't find a hairdryer so went down to reception (tho I should have dialled housekeeping on quick call, I didn't know) within mins a guy came to the door with 1 (later found it below sink in vanity unit so returned other 1). When the bedroom door handle came off, we reported to reception & was fixed before we had returned. Excellent.
Concierge, Daniette was so sweet & helpful & enthusiastic explaining the bus system, Tix for Tonite & things we could do, lovely woman. Pool was dead on with lots of free loungers, chairs & some tables with parosals it was just too hot so only went one time for an hour before lunch but being fair from Ireland I felt ill the rest of the day with nausea & a headache & the other, so you need to be careful, walking in it was my limit. You are behind Hooters on the south of the strip with a short walk through Hooters carpark to the main road (and everything said before about the smells taken in there & the mystery 'stream' running along pavement is true & won't be missed), across to MGM & before you know it you have reached the M&M's store (fantastic), all hotels have slots etc inside but each have other fab shows, exhibitions, attractions to offer & some like the Luxor & Tropicana had an amazing perfume smell pumping through the vents welcoming you in (beautiful).
Back to Desert Rose : overall, ignoring the wait to check in, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & would recommend you come here, a haven from the casino hotels like MGM whose lobby looked like an airport vwithvthe queues of folk with their luggage & they had nothing extra to bring folk into their hotel nor ways of trying to extract extra money from it's customers. It wasn't luxurious but I wasn't expecting it to be & appreciated the amenities we did have at this hotel.
We can't find fault with the Desert Rose. But if forced, there wasn't a kettle if you drank tea or instant coffee. We would be interested to see how their improvements pan out in future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank siddy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Congratulations on your nuptials. We are happy that we exceeded your expectations of our resort. I am glad you mentioned all of the items that are sometimes overlooked in other reviews. As you alluded to, the renovations will really enhance future visits. We are hopeful we will see you again.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#17 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#9 of 263 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Property: Desert Rose Resort
Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing