We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey sushi in a cafeteria-like setting with poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Barmasa

Barmasa
Reserve with OpenTable
Barmasa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,190 of 4,794 Restaurants in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Napa, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pricey sushi in a cafeteria-like setting with poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

When I'm paying top dollar for food, I'd like the atmosphere and the service to be top notch. The room is cavernous with what seemed to be exposed unfinished concrete. It looked more like a moderns college dining hall than a fine restaurant. This was surprising considering how striking and chic the entrance is.

The sushi I had was, for the most part, excellent. But the atmosphere and the service terribly detracted from the experience. The waiter constantly disappeared and the place was not busy. For the first time in recent memory, I left a tip of less than 15% and I'm usually a 20% guy. The waiter was just horrible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    85
    63
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level Contributor
231 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Superb quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The room is still a bit weird but I understand they are going to refurb it soon. The fish preparations are top notch, and the menu flows very well. Let the waiter or sommelier work the menu for you just speak up about the money you want to spend and what you like. Don't miss the Osetra Caviar with Toast points….I want to go back for another round. You can trust the very hard working TJ sommelier to provide the perfect wines during your visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ask2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vegas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious, yet very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The sushi here is very good, yet there are many places on the strip that are just as good and way cheaper. Sushi here is literally up to three times more expensive than other high end places.
This is an experience, yet a very expensive one that, no question, is way overpriced. Sadly, it is not worth the cost as it is very good, yet it is not the best sushi I have ever had (which was 3 times cheaper than this!)
Be prepared to spend at least $100.00 per person if going for a full meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank avrmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Vegas anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

this place blew me away, excellent.. great service and food... if you like Sushi as i do and my wife hates it we both enjoyed the food selection and service was great...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pbruno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The food was generally very good and the service and ambience were outstanding! In particular, the sommelier was the best we've seen. We had the set meal (very good but not memorable), and supplemented it with the grilled octopus and the grilled wagyu beef, both very memorable. Our group consisted of three women, an aunt and two nieces, with smallish appetites. A big eater might have left a little hungry (or had to order more food - which would have been fun!) but it was perfect for us. We split three beers (going from lighter to darker/hoppier) during the meal, which were selected by the sommelier. To finish the meal, we split the grapefruit granita and the chocolate-sesame seed-cocoa bean ice cream, together with a very nice sake which we had hot. Just a great experience. By the way, the meal was expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barmasa also viewed

Las Vegas, NV
Las Vegas, NV
 

Been to Barmasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing