We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Way to Stay in Vegas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #29 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Way to Stay in Vegas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A coworker of mine recommended this hotel to me the last trip I made to Vegas in April of this year. I have never stayed off the strip so I was a little reluctant but the price was right and the location was within walking distance from the casinos so I went ahead and tried it out. I am headed back to Vegas in a couple of weeks and I am booked in this hotel again. I loved it! It is very different than staying in the casinos which can be good or bad depending on your preferences. I normally love to stay in the casinos just for convenience but staying at the Wyndham gave a me new outlook on my trips here.

First, there is a full kitchen and laundry room in the rooms so that is a huge perk! We were able to each a couple of meals in and have cocktails before even heading out. Also, the hotel offers a limo to guests free of charge, you just pay gratuity to the driver. That was wonderful! The pool area is amazing. Very tropical and well kept. Lastly and probably my favorite attribute was the fact that it is QUIET. I like to party at the casinos and then come back to a quiet place to sleep and this hotel definitely provided that for me.

I recommend this hotel to all my friends when they are headed to Sin City.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    723
    182
    71
    50
See reviews for
715
575
39
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent 4 days before a long road trip and four days on the return. Each stay was excellent. Easy to register and the suites were both exceptional. In Bella Torre we had a view of the Strip which was beautiful at night. Full kitchen allowed us to have coffee and breakfast before we we out for the day. The pools were nice and we spent time at each. We were there for the "wine down Wednesday" where a jazz duo played and we had wine available for an hour by the pool. Our server, Megan was delightful. We are Wyndham owners and have found the properties to be very good. Only concern is the high pressure sales attempt at each and every turn!

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were quiet and very nice.
See more room tips
Green Features: Each floor has a trash room and recycle bin! We did use the washer/dryer. Nice to have.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The location was great, especially since the shuttle stopped by each of the towers every 15/20 minutes or so. We stayed in Tower 3, and after asking for a Vegas strip view, our wish was granted. We only had 1 mishap with a shuttle driver who did not stop at our tower, but the security guard went around to the back and stopped it for us, even though it was not the regular stop. The driver muttered and grumbled the entire way to Harrah's about it. He was known from that moment forward as Mr. Grumbly. Check in was great. We arrived at 10am so our room was not ready, but they kindly stored our luggage until our return later thst afternoon. They tried to get us to attend the "information session" but we politely turned it down and were not bothered by them again. Wifi works ok, but you have to input the password everytime, but a good connection. Staff was nice, pools were great, and the Oasis Cafe served a very reasonable and good sized breakfast. All in all, it was great! We will return sometime in the future. All the convenience of the strip without all the crowds! 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNCGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great rooms, great shuttle service! We got two units, 1 one bedroom and the other a 2 bedroom.
Both units were very nice. Our two bedroom unit was not readily available at 4 pm but were called
About 1 hour after. No big deal since the one bedroom was available.

Resort has scooters available for rent so that was very convenient. Also they do have a shuttle with a ramp. Overall, great experience, no problems. Walking distance (nearly a mile to both) to strip and to Hard Rock Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mibarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert. It is a big place but the staff is friendly and makes you feel welcome. We, however, do not like the high pressure that the time share staff puts on you to make a sale. We have all the points we need and do not like that they take up our time when we are trying to enjoy our vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that either overlooks the pool or the strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golferkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We originally tried to get two rooms but ended up selecting a single room with a lock off unit. This was a great deal as our teen age niece was able to have her own amenities - having her own bathroom was a plus.
The rooms were clean and very spacious. The kitchen had all of the amenities you would want including a blender and toaster. Having a washer and dryer in the unit was another plus - although we didn't plan on needing to do any laundry, we ended up doing a few loads while we were there and was able to come home with a suitcase of clean clothes! Definitely a plus since we had to go back to work the next morning and didn't want to have to do laundry after a long drive home.
We made use of the free shuttle to Harrah's and was able to navigate the rest of the strip by walking and the free trams between the larger hotels. Overall, we had a great experience staying here.

Room Tip: If you need more than one room, I would ask for a lock off unit - more space and two bathrooms is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I know it is Vegas, and not really suitable for children, so we decided to stay at the Wyndham because they make a point of family friendly. The pool was decent, but always in the shade because of its location in the middle of the tall towers. The activities center was ok; ping pong, pool, and games. And that is it! The staff, unlike the other resorts we have stayed at, could care less about the activities. Maybe just the off season, but the only friendly staff was the timeshare reps (and one really nice front desk staff.) And once you said no to the timeshare rep, you can forget them being nice too.

The units are nice, very spacious, with modern appliances. We had constant problems with dishwasher, electrical outlets, and garbage disposal. They attended to the issues promptly, only to find that they still didn't work. We made at least one call a day (and 4 on one day) to try to get things to work. Our final morning we used all the towels in the bathroom to mop up the spill of water from the dishwasher (after it had been fixed twice.)
We used the shuttle to get to Harrahs and to the Rio for gambling. Stopped using it when the driver was texting and driving.

Vegas is not kid friendly, and this resort fits in well with Vegas. Good place to use as a central location for gambling, traveling, and eating. I wish the unit hadn't been so troublesome, but I also wish they people had resolved the issues. My final note: We have attended some timeshare presentations, and we chose to attend this one as Wyndham now owns RCI. The presentation was by far the worst I have ever seen, so over the top, I actually laughed out loud (when I wasn't supposed to.) Our rep continually put down weeks ownership, reminding us that we would never be able to get into a place like this one (we traded for two units with no problem.) Not good when Wyndham is putting down RCI.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rovingambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you had to spend even a minute of your time addressing maintenance issues in your unit during vacation. We also apologize for the issues you encountered with our staff. We know while on vacation it is important to be treated well and it is a time for relaxation. We are glad you hear you enjoyed your trip overall. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,048 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Polo Towers Suites
#30 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#52 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing