We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good alternative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Desert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #30 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you are planning a short stay close to the strip but want to have quiet night, this is the place for you. Big room, Easy parking,comes with kitchenette (1 bed room suite comes with kitchenette, 1 bed room deluxe comes with full kitchen and jetted tub)

The staff were excellent which makes the stay very enjoyable.

Although this is timeshare property, compare to the other timeshare in Las Vegas area, the room is a lot smaller and the guests are not the typical people who are staying like a week. If you compare to the area hotels, this is a great choice. But if you are looking for more long term stay with more timeshare feel, I don't think this place fit that category.
Other timeshare place MGM Signature, Elara or Trump will be way better option.
Another thing is 10am check-out seems earlier than the other hotels..
I don't think I will be back but this is a good alternative property compare to other hotels for sure.

Room Tip: ask for room not facing the airport - the noise from the airport can get too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Grand Desert Resort. We were very pleased to hear that our associates helped to make your staff even more enjoyable. We strive to provide our guests with human kindness. We appreciate your thoughts concerning the resort and thank you again for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,029
    713
    181
    70
    48
See reviews for
701
564
37
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a top of the line resort. It is very clean and well kept. There is probably not a bad room anywhere in the complex. The best part is the shuttle van that take you to and from the strip and the drivers are great! The other thing that was good for us was that you are not to close to the strips constant noise and light but close enough to enjoy them if you want. Only problem if you want to enjoy the pool you have to be there early like 7:00 am to get a chair or even a spot on the grass. The Oasis Cafe has very good food and reasonable prices for a quick meal or snack. The personnel are prompt and efficient. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Inside rooms view the pool area, outside view the lights of Vegas
See more room tips
Green Features: All of the properties now have this which we appreciate. We like Green.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deenapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to say Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We greatly appreciate sharing with us your perception of the resort along with our cafe and associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Coquitlam-BC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here this April for one week. Great facility for couples & families. Has complete amenities including full kitchen & jacuzzi tub insuite. The grounds & property is well taken care of, tidy and clean. Onsite pools include 1 Adult & 2 family pools with Hot tubs. They have 2 computer stations & Arcade for the kids, plus a small store for necessities. We took the Bus shuttle to town several times. Their Vans are clean and efficient. They go to one station- Harrahs & do not try to do it all, so the transport is simple, but effective. Security was present, but not obvious. I liked the double feature- had to use your room key to operate the elevator.
Overall I had no complaints about our stay. We will remember this facility and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Not sure if your can ask in booking, but Building II is the main building. Building i & III re...
See more room tips
Green Features: Provided cleaning or maid services as optional, so we did our own and kept the suite clean.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocoAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert Resort. We are so pleased that your time with us in April met your expectations. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert the first week of April and really enjoyed our stay. Our family had a timeshare condo with two bedrooms for two weeks. There were four of us stayting the first week and five the second week. Our condo was very spacious with plenty of relaxing room. Everyone enjoyed the spa in the master bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped for our meals when we decided to not go out to eat. There is a shuttle that takes you to Harrah's which is nice since you can walk to some other casinos from there. We rented a car which I would suggest. It was nice to be able to get away from the strip and visit some of the other location attractions without much fuss. My son and I did a mountain biking tour of Red Rock Canyon which was amazing. My mom/dad, brother and his kids drove to the Grand Canyon which was only 2.5 hours away. They said it was breathtaking.

The pools were very nice although they were closed when we first arrived due to windy conditions. But we were able to use the pool the remainder of the time with no problem. They have towels for their guests at the "towel hut". There is only one location at the family pool area.

The exercise room had more than enough equipment to get nice workout in from the use of their cardio machines, to free weights, exercise balls and weight machines. Perfect for a morning workout before heading out for the day.

Their cafe is good but kind of on the expensive side. We ordered a large pizza one night for $17.

The staff as nice and helpful, especially the shuttle drivers who were very friendly!

The only small thing I noticed was that their towels in the bathroom were kind of on the small side. But that's me just being picky.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pools which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABSPORTSFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We wanted to take a moment to say thank you for your review in Trip Advisor. We welcome all comments and strive to make your vacation time enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

After a bit of travelling through the states, we welcomed the extra rooms of the apartments, with them immaculately clean and very well furnished. The resort staff are very friendly - special mention for Ira the concierge who saved our helicopter flight with Maverick after they failed to pick us up from the right place. The area is fine, no concerns over safety, we walked back from the strip area at 11.30pm one night with no problems at all. The only thing that stops this being a 5 star review is that the pools seemed fairly grubby, not sure if this is because they are shallow, but in the afternoon/evening there was detritus at the bottom and my son was quickly out, and he would normally be in for a couple of hours no problem. Shuttle buses were very good to Harrahs as well. Would recommend for those looking to self cater.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We want to thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to know you had a great time at our resort. I have mentioned the pool concerns to our activity manager. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My mother is a Wyndham owner and have stayed at many different Wyndham properties. In true fashion, The Grand Desert did not disappoint. There were a few small things that could have been better, but ultimately it was a lovely place to stay. We got in late, check-in was pretty smooth....but with all the pre-registering that is done, I am always amazed how long the front-desk people are clicking, typing away before we're done lol. We stayed in Tower 1, and were left to haul our suitcases all the way over, through a parking garage? at 12:30 am....would have been nice to have assistance with that. Bed in our room was pretty firm - I ended up sleeping on the couch.

The unit was very nice. We had a 1 bedroom overlooking the beautiful pool area. We could see MGM a bit, but other than that, no Strip View. Better than an airport view though :) We wished there was a balcony or at least a window we could open to tell what the weather was like. Only complaint about our room was that the overhead light in the bedroom didn't work. We love the washer/dryer....nice to wash up our clothes on the last day and head home with clean clothes.

This was my 3rd trip to Vegas, and 1st time staying off the Strip. I was a bit nervous about this, but the shuttle that runs every 20 mins made it pretty easy to get back and forth. All the shuttle drivers were very nice.

What boggled me about this, however, was WHERE the shuttle dropped us off - in the back of Harrah's,where it always smelled absolutely RANCID!! Another guest mentioned it was methane gas coming up from the sewers?? EEW. The Sunday night we were there, we got stuck waiting for nearly an hour for a shuttle to go back to the hotel. Let me tell you....sitting in that smell for that long? I nearly lost my dinner. I just couldn't believe with all the VIP treatment Wyndham offers it's guests and owners, that THIS Is where they decided to have their people wait for the shuttle.

The weather was a bit cooler during our visit (4/3-4/7) - so we only did 1 pool day on Sunday. The pool area is beautiful, comfy lounge chairs. We did go down pretty early (8am) to save spots as they filled up fast, and there aren't very many. Also, the sun starts by shining on the kids pool (til about Noon), then finally makes its way to the adult pool.

I must say, I've never see so many Wyndham sales people in one resort....EVER. They were EVERYWHERE. We did not meet with one as our trip was only 4 days, and they never bothered us to. Overall, great job Wyndham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
332 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Recently visited here and enjoyed the proximity to the strip. Close enough to walk but enough distance to ease some of the guilt for overindulging on the food.

Was pleased they no longer seem to insist you attend an "update" meeting. This time they graciously accepted our - no, thanks. It was also nice to receive the complimentary Starbuck's and muffin on check out.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SrGrammyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#8 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Desert Rose Resort
#51 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#11 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Property: Wyndham Grand Desert
Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing