We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Desert
Ranked #27 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had originally requested a high floor in tower three due to reviews i had read but when we arrived we were told we could have a room there as requested but we were early for check in as it was not ready. The receptionist then proceeded to tell us the amenities in each tower and suggested tower one (above reception) on the 6th floor as that was available straight away. We took this room and have a view of the pool and we had no noise problems apart from the first night where we heard a leaf blower being used near the pool.

The hotel was in a great location as you were just off the strip meaning it was quiet but only a 10 minute walk to the strip or the local convenience store.

The free shuttle bus to Harrahs was invaluable and saved us so much money on taxi, the drivers were really polite and informative.

The 2 bedroom suite was fantastic and had lots of spare pillows and a great big master bedroom/ensuite. The second bedroom had twin beds and there was also a double pull out sofa bed.

The 2 times we had a problem with the safe a member of staff attended within 10mins to fix. Also the carpets were cleaned weekly and hotel kept clean. Great pizzas on site and free pool towels. Would definitely recommend

The only negative I could find as a Brit was the lack of electric kettle for my tea! Bring a travel kettle as I had to heat hot water in a coffee perculator.

Also I would like to say that we never had anyone try and sell us a time share, I had been quite wary of this from reviews I had read, but we were given our welcome packs without having to attend meetings.

I will definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Vegas.

Room Tip: Tower 3 is away from the main pools and has a private adults only pool that you can use as well as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank starkers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate the time you took to provide us with feedback on your stay along with enjoying our cafe and pools. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have nothing bad to say about the room or anything in it. It was first class, first rate all the way. However, I do have some comments about the staff. (1) I talked to 3 different people on the phone, none of whom could/would connect my Wyndham Rewards number to our room for the stay. (2) The gift shop only sells maps of Southern California--not of Nevada, Arizona, and Utah--and I needed maps of Nevada, Arizona, and Utah. (3) The free breakfast is only for people who watch a 90 minute time share ownership presentation. (4) I needed to talk to the concierge but he was busy carrying on a conversation with a fellow employee, both of which were treating me like I was invisible.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you David for your review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate your concerns about our associates and assure you that we will address this promptly. We strive to provide you with all that you need and hope to have the opportunity to provide that to you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Wyndham Grand Desert is a very nice retreat that is about a mile from the strip which is great... and not so great. While it removes you from the hubbub and noise of the strip which is great when you are ready to retire for the day, or lay out by the pool... it is not so great when you want the convenience of walking downstairs and hitting the casino. When you come to the Wyndham, just come knowing that you will have to balance accessibility of the strip with the enjoyment of a getaway. The pools are beautiful and they keep the facilities very clean. I was a bit put off when I hadn't even unloaded my luggage and was hit up for a timeshare offer. They were definitely pushy and followed up with phone calls to my room first thing the next two mornings. That was NOT my intention of this trip and was not appreciated. Throughout the week, you would see many groups and "suits" walking around trying to sell timeshares. Beyond that, though, you were pretty much on your own. One thing I did not realize was that a week's stay in a 2-bedroom presidential suite did not include any housekeeping service. We were on our own for cleaning our own towels and wash cloths. Beds were never made up. You could pay $75 if you wanted them to come and tend to your room, but for the week, you have to do your own laundry if you want clean towels. All in all... it was a good experience. Probably won't rush back, but it is preferential for what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Grand Desert. We appreciate your detailed review and we assure you that we will address your concerns about sales being pushy. Again we want to thank you for your thoughts and concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If you are planning a short stay close to the strip but want to have quiet night, this is the place for you. Big room, Easy parking,comes with kitchenette (1 bed room suite comes with kitchenette, 1 bed room deluxe comes with full kitchen and jetted tub)

The staff were excellent which makes the stay very enjoyable.

Although this is timeshare property, compare to the other timeshare in Las Vegas area, the room is a lot smaller and the guests are not the typical people who are staying like a week. If you compare to the area hotels, this is a great choice. But if you are looking for more long term stay with more timeshare feel, I don't think this place fit that category.
Other timeshare place MGM Signature, Elara or Trump will be way better option.
Another thing is 10am check-out seems earlier than the other hotels..
I don't think I will be back but this is a good alternative property compare to other hotels for sure.

Room Tip: ask for room not facing the airport - the noise from the airport can get too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Grand Desert Resort. We were very pleased to hear that our associates helped to make your staff even more enjoyable. We strive to provide our guests with human kindness. We appreciate your thoughts concerning the resort and thank you again for taking the time to respond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a top of the line resort. It is very clean and well kept. There is probably not a bad room anywhere in the complex. The best part is the shuttle van that take you to and from the strip and the drivers are great! The other thing that was good for us was that you are not to close to the strips constant noise and light but close enough to enjoy them if you want. Only problem if you want to enjoy the pool you have to be there early like 7:00 am to get a chair or even a spot on the grass. The Oasis Cafe has very good food and reasonable prices for a quick meal or snack. The personnel are prompt and efficient. Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Inside rooms view the pool area, outside view the lights of Vegas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We would like to take this opportunity to say Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert. We greatly appreciate sharing with us your perception of the resort along with our cafe and associates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here this April for one week. Great facility for couples & families. Has complete amenities including full kitchen & jacuzzi tub insuite. The grounds & property is well taken care of, tidy and clean. Onsite pools include 1 Adult & 2 family pools with Hot tubs. They have 2 computer stations & Arcade for the kids, plus a small store for necessities. We took the Bus shuttle to town several times. Their Vans are clean and efficient. They go to one station- Harrahs & do not try to do it all, so the transport is simple, but effective. Security was present, but not obvious. I liked the double feature- had to use your room key to operate the elevator.
Overall I had no complaints about our stay. We will remember this facility and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Not sure if your can ask in booking, but Building II is the main building. Building i & III re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pocoAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review of the Grand Desert Resort. We are so pleased that your time with us in April met your expectations. Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham Grand Desert the first week of April and really enjoyed our stay. Our family had a timeshare condo with two bedrooms for two weeks. There were four of us stayting the first week and five the second week. Our condo was very spacious with plenty of relaxing room. Everyone enjoyed the spa in the master bedroom. The kitchen was well equipped for our meals when we decided to not go out to eat. There is a shuttle that takes you to Harrah's which is nice since you can walk to some other casinos from there. We rented a car which I would suggest. It was nice to be able to get away from the strip and visit some of the other location attractions without much fuss. My son and I did a mountain biking tour of Red Rock Canyon which was amazing. My mom/dad, brother and his kids drove to the Grand Canyon which was only 2.5 hours away. They said it was breathtaking.

The pools were very nice although they were closed when we first arrived due to windy conditions. But we were able to use the pool the remainder of the time with no problem. They have towels for their guests at the "towel hut". There is only one location at the family pool area.

The exercise room had more than enough equipment to get nice workout in from the use of their cardio machines, to free weights, exercise balls and weight machines. Perfect for a morning workout before heading out for the day.

Their cafe is good but kind of on the expensive side. We ordered a large pizza one night for $17.

The staff as nice and helpful, especially the shuttle drivers who were very friendly!

The only small thing I noticed was that their towels in the bathroom were kind of on the small side. But that's me just being picky.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pools which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABSPORTSFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara_Dejohn, Manager at Wyndham Grand Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We wanted to take a moment to say thank you for your review in Trip Advisor. We welcome all comments and strive to make your vacation time enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,398 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#18 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,385 reviews
Polo Towers Suites
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Hilton Grand Vacations at the Flamingo
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,744 reviews
Signature at MGM Grand
#11 of 263 in Las Vegas
12,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Desert

Address: 265 E. Harmon Avenue, Las Vegas, NV 89169-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#44 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#48 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: £76 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Desert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 787
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! Wyndham Grand Desert offers spectacular one- and two-bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, dining rooms, large bedrooms with plenty of closet and storage space, living rooms with pull-out sofas; some suites offer a spa tub in the master bedroom. The perfect vacation home - away from home - for a weekend trip or an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Grand Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Hotel Las Vegas
Grand Desert Las Vegas
Wyndham Las Vegas
Grand Desert Resort Las Vegas
Fairfield Resort Las Vegas
Las Vegas Wyndham
Fairfield Las Vegas Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing